We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All that glitters is not gold......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chateau Isabeau de Naujan
Roussent, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“All that glitters is not gold......”
Reviewed October 9, 2011

This place looks amazing when you first pull up, although we were a bit stressed as it was difficult to find, satnav didn't recognise the place! We stayed outside the main building in a suite, their best room.It had no tea&coffee facillities,no complimentary water, no tissues, no full length mirror,2 lights out in the bathroom, no plug in the sink as pop up broken so my wedding ring fell straight down the waste! Luckily my husband retrived it! It is very remote so we had booked dinner at their restaurant and wanted to have a few glasses of red wine,naturally, so didn't want to drive. At about 1800 we had a phone call from reception to say the chef had, had an accident and dinner was not available! The owner reluctantly agreed to take us to a nearby village for dinner, not our choice and not to our taste. All very disappointing as it was my husbands birthday. We complained on our departure about the above and were given the French shrug and 10 euros off the bill!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    12
    6
    2
    9
See reviews for
9
25
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
73 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

I only stayed one night but found this place charming. True the location, in the middle of vineyards and overlooking a panoramic scene is one of its greatest assetS. It was also 32 degrees centigrade on the night in question. The rooms are nicely fitted with modern bathrooms, although quite small, but that is to be expected given this must once have been a working farmhouse, I guess. Ask for a room on the valley side. Staff were pleasant. Very little English is spoken so have your phrase book ready for the menu if you don't speak French!

Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripper064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

My wife and I spent 10 days here for our honeymoon in October 2010, so things may have changed since.

To be short - very beautiful place and nice staff, though it must be pointed out that since this was out of season, we were the only guests for 7 out of 10 days...

It's far from the best standard we've experienced, despite having the suite. Room was clean, beds were OK, furniture had a cheap feel to it. With so many great antiquities available in France, the least they could do was to spend some money on that instead of going to IKEA and pick up some "rustique" looking awfulness.

As a foodie, the kitchen turned out to be very disappointing. Traditional French cuisine can be amazing, but this wasn't. The meat and sauces were decent, but something you could easily cook yourself at home.

But what was the biggest disappointment was the fact that *every single main course* was served with the same cooked-to-death carrot, so bland and mushy you could puree it with your knife. Accompanied by a few soggy pieces of zucchini.

The only dish we really enjoyed was the foie gras starter, which was rather excellent.

Furthermore, the room had no fridge, nor a bottle opener. Rather odd considering the location at the heart of Bordeaux...

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SverreBech-Sjothun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2011

If you are hooked on France, like tranquillity, beautiful scenery and excellent food check it out. Salvo the chef combines considerable culinary talent and imagination and the dinner that I enjoyed last week was wonderful. Although I did not stay at the hotel on this occasion I am sure that the accommodation would be every bit as good as the food. The owners, Hanane, Frédéric and Feinn, are kind and hospitable too.
Avril Jackson, West Wickham, Kent, England.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JacksonWestWickham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2010

We only used the restaurant for a special family dinner, but it was a wonderful night. We were warmly welcomed and well fed with great food and fantastic wine. Service was a little slow initially, but that's because the one man appears to be maitre d', waiter, sommelier and general manager. However it was delivered with a smile and warmth, so all was forgiven, we relaxed and had a lovely meal enjoyed by all. (The location itself is of course simply beautiful.)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mpuddick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davetm
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2008

The hotel is more of a tired B&B (broken furniture, no manned reception desk, no bar, no room service etc.) but at an expensive hotel price. It is not worth the money.

Sadly the rooms were very tired, and the lack of service and basic facilities left us very disappointed, we would not go back.

If you're looking to stay in a Chateau this is not the place for you.

We tried to complain about the room (there was a cracked table, mould in the shower, a missig light) but there was no one on reception. The restaurant staff tried to help but were unable. Even though we had opted for a refurbished room it was still very poor.

Our booking confirmation stated that braodband was provided free but when we asked for this they insisted that their policy had changed and it was now circa 10 euors a day. After 15 minutes they finally gave it to us at no cost but they were very agressive in the process.

We asked for a reduction in the rate but they then threatened to call the police if we didn't pay in full even though they didn't provide the facillities that you would expect from a hotel.

Avoid at all costs. There are some fantastic small B&B's at half the price. If you want the true chateau experience then it's worth paying the extra but don't go for this as you will be disappointed.

  • Disliked — Rude and agressive staff
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saint-Vincent-de-Pertignas hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Vincent-de-Pertignas
8.6 mi away
Chateau Grand Barrail
Chateau Grand Barrail
#2 of 7 in Saint-Emilion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Manoir de Marie lou
1.4 mi away
Chateau de Courtebotte
Chateau de Courtebotte
#1 of 3 in Saint-Jean-de-Blaignac
5.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Domaine de Mercade
Domaine de Mercade
#1 of 5 in Rauzan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
1.4 mi away
Chateau Villotte
Chateau Villotte
#2 of 5 in Rauzan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coup 2 Foudres
Coup 2 Foudres
#2 of 3 in Saint-Jean-de-Blaignac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Isabeau de Naujan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Isabeau de Naujan

Property: Chateau Isabeau de Naujan
Address: Domaine de Naujan, 33420 Saint-Vincent-de-Pertignas, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Saint-Vincent-de-Pertignas
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Vincent-de-Pertignas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Isabeau de Naujan 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Chateau Isabeau de Naujan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing