We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cathy d'”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Maison de Maitre
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cathy d'”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

They don't call this the Tuscany of France. La Maison was a wonderful place to spend time in - so different for a couple from Australia. The accommodation was excellent and if you didn't want to organise dinner Juliet made the most delicious meals. We wanted to do so much in the area but when we arrived our plans went out the window and we just stayed by the pool, went for walks in the beautiful country side or visited a very quaint market in the medieval village not far away. It was a very relaxing and enjoyable time for us. The only thing that was disappointing was when we had to leave! Thank you Juliet and Deane for making our trip so special.

Room Tip: The rooms are all in the converted barn. Our room was the Coco room and had a little area where we c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We came here with our 12 month old daughter. It was perfect to get away and relax. There is a lot of equipment for children to use and play with round the pool and a large garden to run around with great views.
The local town is not as picturesce as I'd hoped but if you go to some of the medieval towns they are beautiful.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveSplinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The minute we arrived I knew we were in for a special week. Every last detail had been thought of, and the location and setting was incredible.
We spent a week with our 1 year old and parents in law at La Maison de Maitre, and I can honestly say that everything about it completely surpassed my expectations of what a holiday could be with a rowdy 1 year old. Juliet was incredibly accommodating and friendly, and
we didn't have to pack heavily as all the baby equipment you could possibly need was provided, and excellently organised.
The gite itself was beautifully decorated and everything was designed to the highest standard.
We treated ourselves to dinner and breakfast the day we arrived so as to save the hassle of shopping and the food was excellent. I have already started drafting plans for next years trip and my only hope is that we can organise our lives well enough to make the reservation before the whole sumer season gets booked up.
Highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amelia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arundel, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We have 3 young children aged 7,5 and nearly 2. We spent a long time deciding on where to go on holiday and I would highly recommend La Maison de Maitre. Juliet and Deane are very welcoming and obviously work very hard to provide everyone with a luxurious holiday. We stayed in Lartigue suite and it was beautifully decorated and very well equipped. The children were happy to stay at the Gite for most of our stay and loved the pool. Which was very well equipped with all the inflatables any child could wish for. They all slept unitl between 8-9am every morning which was incredible as we came away feeling totally revived! We had dinner prepared for us on our first evening which was a real treat and delicious. I hadn't anticipated that they would serve us and clear everything up which was a real bonus. I would recommend this to anyone wanting a break from cooking one evening. 2 things that were also of great benefit was the constant supply of cold water in the games room by the pool and a change of towels half way through the week. We will definitely be going back in the future and Juliet and Deane really do a wonderful job of creating a beautiful holiday location. You have to see the views yourself to appreciate just how stunning they are!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2012

La Maison de Maitre is a really beautiul place. We had a very relaxing holiday just spending time around the pool and in the grounds. Juliet and Deane have thought of everything that a family would need and really go the extra mile. The toy room by the pool is a brilliant thing to have as a break from being in the sun and the bottled water available there is much appreciated! The welcome hamper is a really lovely touch, especially as it contains home made organic plum jam from the garden. We also sampled Juliet's delicious homemade plum and chocolate ice creams! La Maison de Maitre really feels like a luxury holiday whilst catering for a family's needs. Coco Suite is decorated in a beautiful and stylish way and feels spacious. As for the views, they are breathtaking. We didn't want to leave and will definitely be returning soon!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liz b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2012

My family have just returned from an excellent week at La Maison de Maitre. The accommodation is comfortable and crucially as we have a young daughter, includes all the mod cons (washing machine, dishwasher, lots of lots of baby stuff, all the kitchen utensils you could need and Sky). Also, despite it's very quiet location it's only about five minutes drive to a large supermarket.

The couple who run the gite work very hard to keep the grounds in top condition, which gives you a feeling of being very well looked after. Despite this, you barely notice they're there (they live on site), which is great.

We also enjoyed the on-site meal one evening which was delicious and great value.

The one gripe we had was there were some open stairs in our suite (Vionnet) our daughter was determined to try and climb. There is no way we could see to fence them off, so we just had to keep our eyes peeled. If you have a child of crawling age, worth bearing in mind.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

My cousin and his Bride chose to have their wedding reception at the Maison de Maitre and boy what a venue it is!!! The Hostess and her husband were gracious and welcoming to the clans that descended on this beautiful hillside house. The house and all its outlying accommodation were immaculately decorated and furnished. Classy and tasteful in an understated way. As a photographer I could this would make a superb venue for any kind of reception surrounded by sunflower fields, vineyards and plum orchards. The outdoor pool at the front of the house is surrounded by a perfumed necklace of Lavender, humming with the sound of honey bees at this time of the year. In grounds is a pond inhabited by a a large family of frogs protected by flowering lillies. Ther are also some towering mature trees offering much needed shade in the strong afternoon sun. The atmosphere there is tranquil, restful and, like a good French wine, something you just can't get enough of. Very highly recommended

Room Tip: All the rooms are tastefully and in some ways quite grandly decorated but in an understated way
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vdubbman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Maison de Maitre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison de Maitre

Property: La Maison de Maitre
Address: 47110 Sainte-Livrade-sur-Lot, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Lot-et-Garonne > Sainte-Livrade-sur-Lot
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Sainte-Livrade-sur-Lot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury self-catering accommodation offering a unique blend of home comforts with 'Boutique Hotel' luxuries. 3 beautifully decorated suites full of French charm: 'Lartigue' sleeps 6 in 3 bedrooms, 'Vionnet' sleeps 5 in 2 bedrooms, 'Coco' sleeps 2 (plus cots). Available separately or together. Perfect for groups, families and couples alike. Set in 8 acre grounds of an elegant country house, the 12x6m heated pool overlooks a stunning valley of golden wheat + sunflower fields. There is an indoor games room with table tennis, table football + a playroom with toys + games for kids of all ages. A great base for enjoying the local vineyards, picturesque villages + chateaux of the Lot + Garonne and close enough to explore the sites of the Dordogne too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Maison de Maitre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing