We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb lunch”
Review of L'Escalumade

L'Escalumade
Ranked #15 of 75 Restaurants in Gujan-Mestras
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $39
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed August 2, 2017 via mobile

We had lunch today at this restaurant and were very satisfied. First of all, very friendly and attentive service, both to the adults as to the children. The food was good, the highlight being an impressive seafood platter.
To finish it off, the terrace (especially the first floor) offers nice views on the Arcachon Bassin.
We would recommend this to anyone looking for seafood but also a menu that can offer something beyond.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank 620olivierd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escalumade, Responsable relations clients at L'Escalumade, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2017
Google Translation

Merci beaucoup Olivier D pour votre excellent avis!

Au plaisir de vous revoir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (601)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 602 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2017

I had dinner at the restaurant a few weeks ago with 3 of my family. We arrived too early but the staff invited us in and provided us with drinks at an excellent table whilst they had their own dinner. The food was absolutely delicious and the setting amazing - right beside the water. Well worth a visit.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lizconsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escalumade, Responsable relations clients at L'Escalumade, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2017
Google Translation

Bonjour Lizconsultant

Merci beaucoup pour votre excellent avis!

Passez une belle journée

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2017

This is a beautiful restaurant overlooking the water with a good range of French food, specialising in local seafood. The owner and chef is helpful, explains the meals and is very proud of his establishment.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank davidgrieveau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escalumade, Responsable relations clients at L'Escalumade, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2017
Google Translation

Bonjour davidgrieveau

Merci beaucoup pour votre très bon avis!

Passez une belle journée

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2017

A friend of ours who lives nearby took us there, but she hadn't had lunch there for quite a while, and apologized afterwards for taking us. Expensive; nice names on the menu for mediocre food; service seemingly friendly, but impatient and eager to make you order more (wine, coffee, dessert). We left thinking we'd rather stay home and cook our own lunch.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Karola47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escalumade, Responsable relations clients at L'Escalumade, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2017
Google Translation

Bonjour
Nous prenons note de vos remarques.
Cordialement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2017

Excellent food - a litte pricey but worth every penny. Lovely setting overlooking the sea inlet at Port de Larros. We had the best fish and steak there as we watched the sun set.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank judiandgareth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escalumade, Responsable relations clients at L'Escalumade, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2017

Hello judiandgareth.

Thank you for your great review of our restaurant.

It will be a pleasure to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Escalumade also viewed

Gujan-Mestras, Gironde
 
Gujan-Mestras, Gironde
Gujan-Mestras, Gironde
 
Gujan-Mestras, Gironde
Gujan-Mestras, Gironde
 

Been to L'Escalumade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing