We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal place for a seaside seafood lunch”
Review of Les Viviers

Les Viviers
Ranked #25 of 74 Restaurants in Gujan-Mestras
Price range: $17 - $58
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: In the heart of the Larros harbour, on the banks of the Arcachon bay, "Les Viviers " provides a unique and surprising setting for seminars, weddings, family events, dinners.. its terrace on the water is a haven of peace. This restaurant only uses in-season and fresh products by its kitchen staff.
Reviewed August 6, 2018

We escaped the heat of Bordeaux with a train ride to the Arcachon Basin. Be warned. This place isn't in Arcachon itself. Gujan Mestras is two stops earlier, probably about four or five miles east. Develop your appetite with a stroll past the oyster fishermen's huts (most of which offer tastings) then return to family run Les Viviers. Sit on a platform overlooking the water, enjoy the relaxed, friendly service, and plan your meal. There is an extensive a la carte. A few dishes for meat eaters, virtually nothing for vegetarians. There are a few set menus. And of course there are plates of oysters and crustacea, plus a wide range of platters of mixed fruits de mer. What seaside France is all about.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank TomJohnston52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 269 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2018

We didn't expect much, and it was the case. To long, not good,
For the price you can go anywhere else for better quality.
Never again !!!

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sylvie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2017 via mobile

We came here for lunch with a small tour group, so we didn't expect much. We were pleasantly surprised with both the quality and abundance of the food. We started with a large plate of oysters, shrimp whelks and other shellfish which was enough that I thought it was our main meal. It it was followed by a great sea bass with ratatouille. Dessert was an apple tart that my wife said was one of the best she ever had. Service was friendly and efficient too. Gets a thumbs up from me.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank MisterValencia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2017

Great location and amazing atmosphere. Love the view and the interior design of the restaurant. The food and wine are great!

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jackesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2016 via mobile

Beautiful setting on the lake - worth booking a window seat. Friendly staff and fair prices but service a little slow which meant by the time they got to us our meals could have been warmer. To be fair it was fully booked on Bastille day and when you're watching the sun set and are used to Parisien service none of this matters!

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank watsonbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Viviers also viewed

Gujan-Mestras, Gironde
 
Gujan-Mestras, Gironde
Gujan-Mestras, Gironde
 
Gujan-Mestras, Gironde
Gujan-Mestras, Gironde
 

Been to Les Viviers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing