We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Food and Hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Chambellan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Chambellan
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food and Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at this lovely quiet hotel for two nights while cycling around the region. The rooms were clean and a good size with ensuite. Being late September the weather was coolish however we were able to enjoy drinks in the lush courtyard after a day's riding.
The staff were very helpful and friendly. The restaurant was excellent with great food and service at very reasonable prices. Although the hotel was quiet at that time of the year the restaurant was busy both nights.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AJW52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    39
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
17
44
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Visited with a party of 7. We sat down in the calm courtyard garden. Complimentary nibbles arrived immediately after a very friendly welcome. Good English spoken at the restaurant. Six menus variations to choose from (3 more duck-oriented, regional menus, 3 more 'general French' menus). Moderate pricing (the mid range 3 course menu was 24 Euros, and the four course menu 28 Euros). My gesier salad was very nice. Main dishes were predictably confit de canard (with an excellent pommes sarladais and cepes) and duck breast. The deserts were extraordinary (red fruit in a monbazillac jelly for me, selection of differently flavoured creme brulee for my wife). Very flexible menu, flexible staff. Great quality. Only drawback - it took 3 hours for three courses....just too long........

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sol500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Tx
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

Family run bed and breakfast that was what you would expect in a very small village Staff was helpfull with directions and sightseeing info. Room was basic but comfortable, in an old building that could use some upgrading. Our room was on the first floor with no elevator. There is a restaurant and bar. We did not have the breakfast, but the evening meal was better than average.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JC72Houston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

Attending a wedding nearby, the bride booked this hotel for us. We stayed a total of four nights and as a two star hotel, I thought it would be the most basic of hotels. I expected limited decor and a shared bathroom. How wrong was I? Very

This is a beautiful hotel, reasonably priced in a beautiful location. It is like a series of connecting houses with a lovely courtyard in the middle. The people running the hotel are very welcoming but not invasive.

The route to the room was unusual. We were led through what had been decorated as an old fashioned child's bedroom. The room was lovely. Basic but well thought out. The door opening up onto a small veranda overlooking the courtyard. And a separate bathroom! I was stunned by what we got for what we paid - it was great!

Breakfast was extra - basic French fare but very nice.

The village is lovely but the real gem is that ten minutes walk from the hotel is a lovely lake area. Canoes, swimmers, walkers, readers and sunbathers all made use of this beautiful site.

Any downpoints? For us, there were three. Firstly, the hotel is located across the road from a church and the bells do ring a couple of times a day. You get used to it! Secondly, we stayed during August and this hotel was scorching with no air conditioning or fans. It was unbearable at times. And thirdly, heat attracts bugs and there seemed to be nothing in place to control these unwelcome visitors. There were lots of wasps around the place, particularly at breakfast.

Would we stay again? Absolutely but not when it was so hot. This hotel is a 3 star at the very least.,

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MGMcShane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed one night. We had a warm welcome and the rooms were basic but clean and quiet. Breakfast was simple - home-made preserves but cheese was in small pre-packed portions. The evening meal was a highlight with 3 of us enjoying excellent duck. This is a quiet location in a small pleasant village.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Naishcombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2010

We stayed in the Chambellan this summer for 2 nights with our two girls who are 5 & 3. Having previously used the B&B for friends for our wedding at a local chateau the year before. Its a lovely place, the owners were very accomodating especially with the children. I wish we spoke french better so we could have chatted to them properly as they remembered us from the year before. The apartment was perfect, basic but with 2 seperate bedrooms, hallway and bathroom. V clean and reasonably priced. The restaurant, which produced a lovely meal for 40 people the night before the wedding last year, did not fail to disappoint this time. Great food, good kids menu and very family orientated. The garden has a trampoline and swing for the kids, and a short walk away is the river and beach. All in all a lovely place to stay and we hope to go back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ellam42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perevilain
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2009

This is a real find - a lovely quiet spot off the beaten track (yet easy to find) and excellent value for money. The restaurant is excellent and has a good range of price options. Rooms are quaint - originally 70's have been cleverly converted with nice artistic touches. Spotlessly clean, nice bar helpful staff and 10 minutes walk from the Dordogone where you can swim in the river.
A really good place for a first night's stop if touring from Bergerac or as a centre to explore from.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coux-et-Bigaroque
2.6 mi away
Le Manoir De Bellerive
Le Manoir De Bellerive
#1 of 1 in Le Buisson-de-Cadouin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
7.1 mi away
Chateau de Monrecour
Chateau de Monrecour
#1 of 1 in Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
7.7 mi away
Le Vieux Logis
Le Vieux Logis
#1 of 1 in Tremolat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Barrage
Hotel Restaurant Le Barrage
#1 of 1 in Mauzac-et-Grand-Castang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
8.2 mi away
Domaine de la Rhonie
Domaine de la Rhonie
#1 of 2 in Meyrals
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
1.6 mi away
Auberge de la Petite-Reine
Auberge de la Petite-Reine
#1 of 1 in Siorac-en-Perigord
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chambellan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chambellan

Property: Le Chambellan
Address: 1 Place de l Eglise, 24220 Coux-et-Bigaroque, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Coux-et-Bigaroque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Coux-et-Bigaroque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Chambellan 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Le Chambellan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing