We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfectly Charming” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Petite Tonnelle

La Petite Tonnelle
Price range: $21 - $45
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Perfectly Charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

My wife and I were on an excursion with Treyn Holidays that stopped for a 75 minutes lunch break in Beynac et Cazenac. We had little time to find a restaurant, passed several, turned up the Vers Le Chateau and found La Petite Tonnelle. What a delight! A sheltered outside terrace led to a cosy interior with comfortable furnishings. Many of the tables were already reserved but we were fortunate enough to be shown to a table for two by the very friendly Patronne. She was most attentive and understood our need for prompt service.

We both decided to order the Cèpe Mushroom Omelette with salad. The best light, fluffy omelette packed with mushrooms - delicious, and served with a wonderful, crisp green salad with light vinaigrette dressing and a bowl of fresh, crunchy bread.

If you are in the area do take the time to seek out La Petite Tonnelle. The menu has much to offer and I only wish we had had more time to sample other dishes. The restaurant is clearly a favourite with locals so do book if you have the opportunity.

Our meal here was one of the best experiences of a great holiday and I cannot recommend La Petite Tonnelle highly enough.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike4627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    384
    284
    79
    37
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
2 reviews
“Simple, excellent, and typically French”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Food was fresh and local, carefully prepared and creatively presented. Service was attentive and wait staff seemed genuinely interested in ensuring the best experience possible. Altogether a wonderful meal.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
245 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Excellent Regional French cuisine and warm service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Excellent regional french cuisine, excellent service, atmosphere is very good. Lamb special was delicious. Serves most of the day verses the strict French hours. While they have a menu in English, this is not a restaurant made only for tourists. Locals love it too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lajolla1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“best in beynac”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed in a rental just up the street from this wonderful restaurant. it was so good we had 3 diners here during our week's stay. The restaurant is on a cute street in Beynac and has both indoor and outdoor dining. we thought the terrace or the downstairs dining room were the nicest. The food was excellent. I couldn't disagree more with the previous reviewer- i had the lamb twice and loved it. the couscous with this dish was perfect. My wife and daughter also loved their meals. (Living in the NYC area We have high standards when it comes to eating out.) We felt it was a great value for the excellent quality of the food and the ambiance. The owners and their staff were very nice and appropriately attentive. They were also very tolerant of my very bad French. If you are in the Beynac area, you should not miss this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jonst1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Once good but over rated now”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We have eaten in this restaurant many times over several years. However, on the last 3 visits to this restaurant the food has become somewhat bizarre. The chef seems to be trying too hard, but lacks the skills and is just mixing ingredients that should never be on the same plate. Things that really do not go together such as Thai influenced lime & ginger stuffed fish with French creamy dauphinois and Indian/North African curried vegetable/couscous all aranged in an arty manner! The service is good but the owner needs to learn when to leave the customers alone. We won't be going back again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabienne S, Propriétaire at La Petite Tonnelle, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Madam, I've just read your comments about my restaurant and I'm quite surprise about them. We are cooking exactly as we used to do for many years now and the products are the same and even better for some of them. We do not change our receipes.
I'm sorry that during your last three visits you do not mentionned that you find something different in the meal.......You wrote that the boss is too disturbing when you eat but I think we are just taking care about the customers asking if eveything is fine. And if you don't like you should told him. We are always trying to satisfy as best as we could. Maybe you do not appreciate our fusion way of cook and I regret but be sure that we love what we do and sorry not to satisfy anymore. Regards.
Fabienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Petite Tonnelle also viewed

Beynac-et-Cazenac, Dordogne
Beynac-et-Cazenac, Dordogne
 
Beynac-et-Cazenac, Dordogne
Cenac-et-Saint-Julien, Dordogne
 
La Roque-Gageac, Dordogne
Beynac-et-Cazenac, Dordogne
 

Been to La Petite Tonnelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing