We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home Sweet Stone Cottage, Home!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of La Petite Maison

Picturesque Petite Maison in the village of Beynac
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Picturesque Petite Maison in the village of Beynac
The comfortable living area separates the bedrooms Sleep in a fairy tale setting: Napoléan bedroom with period four post bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Picturesque Petite Maison in the village of Beynac
The comfortable living area separates the bedrooms
Sleep in a fairy tale setting: Napoléan bedroom with period four post bed
Spectacular Beynac village with its charming houses and 12th Century Chateau
Relax in the comfy sitting room
Newly finished Louis XV Bedroom bathed in local honey-colored stone
Ensuite bath to Louis XV bedroom with exposed rock formation
Ensuite bath in the upstairs Napoléan bedroom
Les fleurs sur la terrasse
Get a birds-eye view of Beynac in a hot air balloon
Fully Equipped Kitchen makes eating in easy and stress-free
View from upstairs window
Symbol of Beynac, one of many architectural details of the house
Nearby biking path for an unforgettable experience
La Petite Maison is situated on the footpath leading to the Beynac Chateau
Entrance to La Petite Maison from the cobbled lane welcomes you home each night
Shop like a local on Market day in nearby St. Cyprien
Louis XV bedroom with its honey-colored limestone walls and antique furnishings
Gated terrace just outside the kitchen window
View of Beynac from Castelnaud
Rows of medieval and Renaissance houses line the cobbled lanes of Beynac.
Spend a lazy day canoeing down the Dordogne River. The views are breathtaking!
Hot air ballooning is a memorable and unforgettable splurge
Candle-lit evening at nearby Marqueyssac gardens with great views of Beynac
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Beynac-et-Cazenac, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Verukah
Dallas, TX
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Home Sweet Stone Cottage, Home!”
Reviewed May 21, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We booked this place with a couple of friends and were absolutely delighted in every way. We are very experienced travels and unanimously proclaimed this a place to which we would love to return. La Petite Maison was beautifully put it out with everything we could've needed for our stay. We really enjoyed shopping the open air markets and bringing home fresh food to cook in the well-stocked kitchen, sometimes eating on the lovely stone terrace. We could not have felt more at home and would highly recommend this place, except for the fact that we want to come back without having to compete with other enthusiastic prospective guests!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stan2020
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Loved loved loved Beynac”
Reviewed February 18, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

The Dordogne is a beautiful area of France, dotted with some of the most beautiful of the Most Beautiful Villages of France, and Beynac ranks well among them. La Petite Maison is a walk from everything in the town, including the river, and importantly the castle (although one needs to be ready for a steep ascent - this castle was located here for defensive purposes and was built to keep people out! (Richard the Lion-Heart used to be the land-lord here - an instant winner for an old lover of Robin Hood!)
La Petite Maison was roomy, furnished with style and charm, and had all necessary amenities. It was lovely to come back to in the evening after seeing another half dozen of the spectacular neighbouring villages and chateaux. There is a very reasonable restaurant at the bottom of the path, but there are other places to go in the near vicinity (Sarlat being one of the more well known). For those not on backpacker budgets I would highly recommend a meal at Le Vieux Logis in Tremolat - a delightful restaurant (and lodgings) with a Michelin star and a simply gorgeous setting.
La Petite Maison would have been a lovely rental anywhere, but Beynac was such a charming village, this was certainly a highlight of our trip.
One caution: due to the steep hill, not necessarily perfect for someone with difficulties walking.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Cosy house with great facilities in a great location!
Liked least: Can't really say there was anything we didn't like - happy to be invited back any time.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy N
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Superb”
Reviewed January 13, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

La Petite Maison oozes with charm. We stayed a week in January and cannot fault anything. We were well looked after by Sarissa & Martine and nothing was any trouble for them. The house is toasty warm and the fire effective and atmospheric. The kitchen is well equipped & the beds a dream.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary M
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful House, Gorgeous Village. So Perfect!”
Reviewed June 14, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The photos of La Petite Maison drew us in and we booked our week immediately. Having now stayed at La Petite Maison and lived in Beynac for a week our love has expanded! We could live in Beynac! It has such a cosy, homely feeling. And La Petite Maison was the icing on the cake! A home full of history and character plus all the comforts! It has been the highlight week of our 2.5mths in Europe. We feel very fortunate to have had the opportunity to stay in such a beautiful property in such a gorgeous village!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRUTHANDO...
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Medieval Paradise”
Reviewed January 17, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful village with a beautiful, comfortable house with all amenities needed and more. In mint condition, reasonably priced. Small but enough space for 4-5. It has everything is hard to find on this kind of rentals: good beds, linens and towels, great water pressure and always hot water! Kitchen utensils and knifes for the chef in you, even baking pads! Every single american amenities!

Owner and management are very kind and gave a lot of info of surrounding area.

Surrounding villages are beautiful as well, a lot to see and do in the area. Deeply recommend this rental, it is awesome! Hope to be back someday!

Don't think it over! Rent it, before someone gets your dates!!!You will have a memorable stay!

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison M
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Cottage in Perfect Village!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

La Petite Maison is a fantastic rental home, and Beynac is one of the prettiest places I've ever visited - and I'm a very picky person when it comes to accommodation/vacations. The house itself has a lot of character and even features on postcards of Beynac! Bedrooms/bathrooms lovely, very clean, and kitchen and living areas just great too. There's a small outdoor terrace area which is great to relax on with a glass of wine, and I particularly enjoyed greeting passers-by on their way to the Chateau up the hill - I could just tell they were so jealous of us (a few even said so). If only we were the owners instead of holiday guests!

Sarissa, who met us with the keys was really helpful, and Martine, the housekeeper and all round miracle, is just a fantastic character and we loved meeting her every day - she is always somewhere around the village and so friendly.

Beynac is a beautiful village, small, but still with plenty of restaurants, small shops and Post Office, situated on the river and with its very own Chateau, which is really atmospheric. There are lots of other places to visit around - particularly liked Sarlat - although mostly I loved just being around Beynac itself.

Our trip to France then moved on to the Loire Valley, which I enjoyed, and then to Paris, which I do love as a city, but I have to admit, throughout that time and now, I still wished I was back in Beynac at La Petite Maison! As you can tell, I love the place and we hope to return sometime soon, thoroughly recommended - thank you Vincent!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole house and village - and Martine, the heart and soul of the village, who is housekeeper to La Petite Maison.
Liked least: I loved everything about Beynac and La Petite Maison. We visited Cahors, which we didn't much like as a place, but must-do to see the medieval bridge there, Pont Valentre
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David J
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A very special experience”
Reviewed June 18, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We returned to Australia yesterday after a most enjoyable 7 weeks away.
Of the many wonderful places we either stayed at or visited during our trip the week at Le Petit Maison in Beynac was outstanding.

From the moment we arrived in Beynac we were made to feel welcome and at home.
Sarissa was friendly and efficient. Martine said hello the first night and we saw her on several occasions during the week.Although she doesn’t speak English and we don’t speech French we had a number of enjoyable conversations mainly with the use of sign language on both sides. My wife had missed a step in Bordeaux and jarred her neck and shoulder. The pain became worse by the time we arrived in Beynac and she visited Dr. Migniot who quickly assessed her problem and prescribed tablets and an arm brace to assist her. In addition the pharmacist was also most helpful.

Your welcome basket was also appreciated.

We left our comments in the visitors book and would strongly recommend people to visit Beynac and stay at La Petit Maison.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The opportunity of staying in a medieval building 500 years old
Liked least: No criticisms
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing