We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lived Up to Its Name”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beynac-et-Cazenac
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Petit Versailles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Great B&B! Clearly the best lodging value of our three week trip throughout France. Spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated and a lovely location in a very interesting part of France. Breakfasts were excellent. Owners were great and even though their English was not a lot better than our French we managed fine. Two minor complaints: WiFi signal did not reach our room, but nicely appointed study just down the hall worked fine; and the turn into the driveway was so sharp that it required a three point turn each time we came home in our downsized rental car. All in all, I'd return in a moment and I recommend it highly.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank GypsyOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
There are newer reviews for Le Petit Versailles
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 139 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2014

We were very happy to have chosen this B&B. It is in a beautiful setting in a gorgeous part of France. The rooms we had were nice and breakfast was really good! The hosts were kind enough to store our cheese and wine in their frig for our picnic lunches.( My fault for forgetting to take it the last day!) I only wish we had arranged to stay longer than we did! The Dordogne has so much to see, we could have spent a week here. And having laundry done while out sight-seeing was worth it's weight in gold. Loved it!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank triplenickel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We have stayed at Le Petit Versailles on 3 seperate occasions. Jean-Claud and Francoise are perfect hosts, friendly, helpfull and outgoing. The bedrooms are tastefully decorated, large, and clean. Breakfast is plentiful with homemade jams, cake, fresh breads etc. Located near Dordogne
River, we have never stayed in such well presented accommodation for 70 Euros.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rpaharriss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed 9 nights with Francoise and Jean-Claude in their lovely house in Baynac. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again for the wonderful breakfasts and comfortable rooms and the sweet hosts. This is a perfect location if you are in the Dordogne Valley, looking to see castles, prehistory cave painting, gardens, medieval towns, beautiful river pastoral scenes, etc.

Room Tip: We ask for the room with access to the balcony and was glad we did.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank attagirl1490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

The hosts were friendly and organized, the rooms beautiful, spacious, and immaculate, and the breakfast thoughtful and generous. Access to Beynac and Sarlat was easy (by car). The hosts offered to do our laundry, which was an immense help. The cost was more than fair. I would recommend this B&B to anybody staying in Beynac.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a view of a lovely valley. One room has doors that open onto a terrace, which is les...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkFuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Beautiful setting near the charming village of Beynac - Jean-Claude and Francoise seem like old acquaintances and provide great hospitality - Francoise takes great pride in her breakfast preparations which are delicious - the rooms are tastefully decorated and very comfortable

Room Tip: choose one of the rooms which overlook the valley
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trifik1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We recently made our third trip to stay with Jean-Claude and Francoise at their beautiful B&B at Beynac. That fact alone may be the best review I can give you. We've always been impressed with the comfort, cleanliness, and beauty of this small (five-room) B&B, but what really sells it is the hospitality of its owners. You could not ask for more friendly, welcoming hosts. They speak some English (especially Jean-Claude), but their broad smiles when you arrive don't need translation. Any time we are in the area, you can bet that we will be trying to book here again.

Le Petit Versailles is a little hard to find. The turn by the Hotel Bonnet is easy to miss. Even if you see it, the turn itself is difficult -- a very sharp turn onto a narrow road that is barely wide enough for two vehicles. Their website lists the GPS coordinates. That's a better method for finding this than trying to use their street address. Once you get there, they have excellent, secure parking.

I'm not sure what their prices will be in 2014, but this is one of the best deals in the area (cash only) especially since it includes breakfast. Breakfast, by the way, is reason enough to stay at Le Petit Versailles. Forget about the usual croissant or baguette. Francoise serves a big, elegant breakfast. Jean-Claude squeezes the orange juice.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OtherMountainDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beynac-et-Cazenac
1.4 mi away
Chateau de Monrecour
Chateau de Monrecour
#1 of 1 in Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#2 of 2 in Beynac-et-Cazenac
173 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel L'Oustal de Vezac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pontet
Hotel Pontet
#1 of 2 in Beynac-et-Cazenac
127 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#7 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
659 reviews
8.5 mi away
Le Relais des Cinq Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Petit Versailles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Petit Versailles

Address: Route du Chateau, 24220 Beynac-et-Cazenac, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Beynac-et-Cazenac
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Beynac-et-Cazenac
Price Range: $60 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Petit Versailles is a charming house in Périgourdine style. Its 5 rooms are decorated in very refined and elegant taste. We can accomodate two people with private bath or shower and toilet . On request we can provide an additional single bed for a third person. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Petit Versailles Hotel Beynac
Le Petit Versailles Beynac-Et-Cazenac, France - Dordogne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing