We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
TUI SENSIMAR Los Gigantes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2009

We decided on a Christmas get a way- a late decision with many of the special deals gone. Three days prior to us booking, I found the hotel on Thomson gold couples- it was an absolute bargain with all the trimmings for new year included!
The hotel is in a prime location in Los Gigantes- with a lovely harbour and safe environment ( Quite quiet if you want a party rave- but saying that some of the small bars had excellent entertainment over the festive period) Better than the hotel- although the group on New years eve were very good.The town square celebrations on new years eve were an enjoyable experience.
Hotel accommodation- we stayed in the standard rooms- which were more a three star accommodation( beds rather firm and needed re-newing). Food- was very good with lots of choices. If you are staying for one week- book the silver service restaurant- very soon as there are only 20 places- for each sitting and, very few people dined at 6.30.
Pool area and patio, very pleasnt with comfortable sun longers and unbrellas. Still the same sun bed ritual- for those who get up at the crack of dawn and position their towels-in prime spots!
We enjoyed the week of sun and relaxation, and would return for a week, in the winter- 80c!
Good hotel- friendly staff and location.
Down side- the euro> pound exchange!

Stayed: December 2008
2  Thank sungodtenerife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,426)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,133 - 2,139 of 2,426 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2008

We returned yesterday from a weeks stay at Los Gigantes Hotel to celebrate my birthday and avoid the run up to xmas. Since our last stay the rooms have been updated, food as normal in hotel was fantastic.

We had a sea view this time which enabled us to watch the sun set and take advantage of the late afternoon sun. The rooms were cleaned daily with fresh towels. Staff were friendly on all occasions and we would like to express our thanks when one of our party was taken ill on the evening of my 40th and rushed to hospital - the staff were fantastic offering any help they were able to from contacting the hospital for updates to taking food to the room upon discharge from hospital.

The weather was not the best we have had in previous years in December at Tenerife but we had a great holiday. We had a relaxing time, yes entertainment not the best but lots of other places to go if you want, we walked over to next resort to see 'old dogs, new tricks', in Route 66 (if you wondered where they went too - used to play at TJ's just outside hotel) also had a couple of good evenings in Highland Paddy Bar. Also had a lovely meal in Khrisners Indian restaurant.

The usual towel reserving safari was quite tame (probably down to the weather).

The resort seems to be getting quite pricey most of the stuff for sale in the surrounding area is cheaper at home at the moment - had to go next resorts for the better deals on the basics ie alcohol and fags etc.

Overall the staff make this hotel if you want peace and quiet it is the place to go and helps if you can avoid the rudeness of some guests that think because they are old rule the place esspecially when they need to feed .

Good place to do nothing much ;-)

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jay40Hampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2008

The saving grace was the food , although the second week it became boring . The Staff were very helpful and the room was clean and tidy . Entertainment , what there was of it apart from 2 acts left a lot do be desired ( Reps entertainment was Terrible )
People leaving towels on beds at 8 am mornings running around like Ants , then not using them until late afternoons how SAD .
Brochure advertised wifi but did not say it cost over £4 and hour greedy hotel management
Hotel over 30 years old and needs an overall
A disappointing experence for the cost

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobbieDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2008

My wife and I went to Los Gigantes hotel mid November 08. We had previously stayed there for a short visit about two years ago and 'marked' this location up for a future stay. We are in our mid fifties but felt that despite the more elderly clientele, the hotel has many virtues and something for most people who want good food, clean communal areas, excellent rooms (front and back), polite staff and in our experience, polite clintele.
Some of the daytime activites are not for everyone but we had a giggle listening to it from a distance on the excellent outside bar /restuarant with fantastic views across to La Gomera.
The hotel is very well located within Los Gigantes 'town' which is also very well kept and by far a step above most other locations on the same coastline. The location is hilly but ideal for a small walk after the evening meal.
The only downside for us within hotel being that both pools are rather cold and the tendency for the English holiday clients to queue up in the morning to be let through the doors at 08.00am to reserve the sun beds. The latter did no bother us but some strange ritual the perpetuates week after week.
Overall the hotel is excellent, with the managers being very visible, greeting you at most meal times and when you arrive and depart after your stay. The icing on the cake was the no extra charge five course 'a la carte meal to which you are entitled once for every week of stay, with waitered service. Always a smile from both young and the more mature waiters. They enjoyed the odd joke with us Brits!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tequila56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2008

We've now been to the Los Gigantes Hotel 4 times during the past 8 years, accompanied by my brother and sister-in-law who have been at least twice as many times. In a lot of ways it's hard to beat, especially as a 2nd/3rd holiday of the year as we go into the winter months. We had excellent weather (5th-12th November), the sea views are spectacular, the staff are very friendly and efficient and hardly change year by year - the manager has been there over 40 years, the head chef 36 years, and the restaurant manager can't be far behind. The rooms are spacious, air conditioned, clean, and have satellite TV - so my wife could watch Strictly Come Dancing every night, for example (just when I thought we were getting away from it), and the shower and toilet work properly (poor bathrooms are a big minus for me!). Generally the hotel is clean and well-decorated, and we've never seen a cockroach (as reported in another review). The main pool is large and maybe because it's a seawater pool it's not that busy. It's also very cold, which probably puts some people off, but we find it very refreshing. There are loads of sunbeds, so there's plenty of availability, although as this hotel has a very high customer repeat rate, some people seem to think they have squatters rights. The main pool faces the ocean, opposite the island of La Gomera, which provides a superb background to wonderful blood-red sunsets, and it's flanked by a bar/lunchtime restaurant, and overlooked by a terrace, so it's very pleasant to sit and watch the sun go down, or watch the sun shining on the sea over a cocktail or three. The second pool is at the back of the hotel. It has fresh water and is a suntrap, and whilst still relatively quiet an access road runs behind it so you exchange the sound of waves for the occasional car, van, or truck.

All good stuff really, but there are a few downsides. Firstly, the food, whilst plentiful in quantity and choice, is pretty disappointing. The breakfast bacon is consistently undercooked (is it only the Americans who know how to make crisp bacon?), the croquet potatoes are stodgy and abolutely tasteless, and the sausages are also underdone. Expect similar disappointments at dinner. You certainly won't starve, but Gordon Ramsey and Raymond LeBlanc can sleep soundly. The dining room is big, and at busy times can be noisy, but the service is good, and the restaurant manager - who escorts guests to a table - is always very welcoming. The second downside is the 3rd rate Thomson evening entertainment. There were four or five entertainment reps there on this visit, and although they tried hard, none of them would make X-Factor's first round! Also, they have the dubious privilege of trying to encourage guests to play games at regular intervals during the day. Most people go to lie in the sun and read a book, so this constant encouragement - at times it sounds plaintive - to get involved in crap activities, is reminiscent of old Butlins Holiday Camp TV footage. Thomson - we don't need it. Employ fewer reps and spend the savings on better entertainment, then maybe we'll stay in the hotel after dinner instead of going elsewhere to spend our Euros. Finally, as other reviewers have said, a high percentage of older people regularly return here. I don't think of myself as ageist, especially as I'm heading that way too, and it's far better than the alternative, but anyone under 40 is going to think they're visiting a nursing home. Expect to see 70's fashion faux-pas in abundance - shirts tucked into tight short shorts which sprout thin legs clad in tennis socks are a prime example. Bjorn Borg and Jimmy Connors have a lot to answer for!

On the other hand, older people are value and quality conscious, and the Los Gigantes Hotel (generally) provides both.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank AWC1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2008

Just returned from a week in this hotel and it's one of the best we've visited, ideal for couples. Several other reviews mentioned the food and we weren't disappointed. You won't go hungry here. The hotel is geared up for Brits - 99 per cent of the guests are English, and the cooked breakfasts include omelette, poached, scrambled and fried eggs along with plenty of fresh fruit, there is even porridge. The only thing that was disappointing was the coffee, bitter, strong and always pretty lukewarm. We stayed the first week of Nov 08 and the hotel was pretty full, most guests are over 60, and as a result, the place is quiet, no lager louts, ideal for a peaceful relaxing break. We had a room on the 5th floor , spacious and clean, although the decor could do with updating. The shower is over the bath and the shower curtain sticks to your body when you wash. The hotel provides a clothes horse for drying washing, a nice touch, also you can have clean beach towels every day, in return for a small returnable deposit. The balcony was huge too with a wonderful sea view. There is some noise from the building site below where a new gym is being erected, the builders started before 8am some mornings which was a bit irritating but not enough to spoil our holiday. The waiters too, could do with a course at charm school, we found most of them surly and unhelpful although the reception staff and hotel management were welcoming and friendly - the manager personally greeted us on arrival. The evening entertainment we thought was brilliant, far better than we'd experienced in other hotels. Cocktails in the hotel were half the price of the bar round the corner too! The entertainment team were very professional and enthusiastic but the same cannot be said for the Thomson reps who seemed uninterested in providing information and were abrupt and quite aggressive with customers. The two of them clearly didn't enjoy their jobs and we felt they really let the hotel down.That is the first time we have ever encountered unhelpful reps.

We spend a lot of our time around the pool area which is clean and pleasant but the water is freezing, be warned. Don't bother with the beach, it's tiny, not very pretty and in a neglected part of the town. Highly recommended is the patisserie up the hill from the hotel, cakes to die for. Resort is small but very picturesque. Forget the expensive Thomson trip, take a boat trip round the coast to see the dolphins for 15 euros, - stacks of them swim around the cliffs near the harbour - but it's quite hard to get a close up shot of them on your camera.

The worst thing about our holiday was the weather ! Most days were warm but cloudy. The longest we had sun was half a day, so we didn't get much of a tan. On the first three days there were also hurricane force winds -quite scary. However, some people we met there had been staying at the hotel for the last 12 years at the same time of year and they said this was one of the worst ever!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dottie_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2008

Just returned from the Hotel Los Gigantes a 4 Star Thomson Gold Hotel (no kids). We booked through Thomson about 2 months before, having stayed in a number of their Gold hotels on previous occasions. We flew from Newcastle and I must say that the flight was on time, comfortable and (I'm a 6ft 3in tall person) reasonable leg room. On arrival at Tenerife South the Thomson Rep pointed us to a Spanish mini bus driver who took us to the hotel, about 45 min drive. Reception at the Hotel was good and somebody took our cases to our room (on the 3rd floor) while we checked in. If you want to use you're room safe you have to pay! (we didn't as we tend to lock any valuables out of sight in the cases). Also, you get your beach towels from Reception for a 5 euro deposit which you get back on return. The towels can be changed at Reception as often as you like during the stay.
Now I've read past reviews on the Hotel before we went and for once I am going to agree with alot of the negative comments. This Hotel is in a great/stunning location with a lovelly little village/town and harbour all within easy walking and we had a great holiday while staying there, but the hotel or Thomson really needs to tackle certain things as it falls below the advertised 4 star hotel standard because of these.
I was expecting to be in a hotel with all old folk but on the week we went it was pretty well mixed.
Firstly the room. Do book a sea view room! It's worth the extra. We had a room on the 3rd floor and the views across the sea from the balcony were brilliant. You get the sun on the balcony from about 1.30pm onwards and see great sunsets. The room is of good size but (I thought) lacked enough draw space for clothes. There is no coffee/tea making facilities in the room which in my opinion is not up to 4 Star standard (after all you get this facility even in Travelodge rooms these days!). The aircon is what it say's "a con" , When we arrived at 10.00pm the room temperature according to the room stat was 30 degrees! I turned the aircon on full and 4 hours later it had made hardly no difference! So each night we slept with the balcony doors wide open and listened to the sea (very nice, but if you didn't have a sea view window you would get all the noise from the street and bars below!). May be it was only our room with poor aircon, who knows! When closed the balcony doors did not lock and rattled at every puff of a breeze. There is a great sized frig in the room which is good for stocking up on drinks from the local supermarket, but we found the frig rather noisy even though it was in a cabinet. The beds were comfortable and large and the bathroom was fine, apart from the stupid diddy little individual sachets of shower gel and shampoo (you need at least 2 of each per person and they are difficult to tear open with wet hands). The room was always kept clean and tidy by the chambermaids.
As we arrived late on a Friday we were told that a cold salad had been placed in the frig for us as the Dining room shut at 9.30. This was a selection of cold meats and cheeses with salad. Nice as it was it did however count as one of your 7 evening meals included in the price of your holiday as there was no meal for us on the following Friday even though our flight was not taking off until 9.50pm.
The Dining Room. We did not (thank god) experience any "kissy kissy" on entering the dining room (a comment past trip adviser's have said took place). However, there is a sign at the entrance which asks guests to wait to be seated. This is fine, if they were consistant. Some evenings (and at breakfast) we waited and were shown swiftly to a table, othertimes we waited and waited and noboby seemed interested so in the end we went in and found our own table! The waiters always seemed rushed and not very cheerful. Also they only seemed interested in selling you drinks. When on a couple of evenings we only ordered water the waiter seemed to go off in a grump and returned ages later with the water. I also found booking drinks to the room when in the dining room went down like a lead balloon (maybe it messed up the waiter's tips!)
The food for most of the time was fine, I could always find something I liked. Not the best food selection or quality I've experienced at Gold hotels, but also not the worst. Like other comments I've read, there is a lack of fresh vegetables on offer, but an abundance of fresh local fruit. The worst evening meal I thought was on Sunday when there seemed to be less staff on duty and the food in the servery seemed mainly to have been prepared sometime earlier and of less choice. The best was on Thursday's Theme Night and I must say everything was extremely good and the choice was excellent.
At breakfast the freshly cooked to order omlettes were lovelly and the eggs are also fried to order, although at peak times the queue did cause a bit of a wait.
Why have 4 different types of sausages on offer at breakfast and only two labels telling you what they were? Also the labels were nowhere near the appropriate sausages! (food labelling was not good in general at both breakfast and dinner). Why have only flat plates at the cereal servery? Guest's were going all over the dining room trying to find cereal bowls. This caused a great deal of conjestion and could be overcome by a little bit of thought and planning.
The active facilities at the Hotel. The two pools are great. There is the larger salt water pool which attracts most people and has the absolutely stupid rush every early morning to book sunbeds with towels even before dawn had cracked and it was still dark! I even over heard one mature couple in the afternoon discussing who's turn it was to get up early the next morning to book their favourite sunbeds which they had had for the past 3 years running (sad)! The second much smaller and in my opinion nicer fresh water pool (in the garden area), didn't seem to have this problem and there seemed to always be spare sunbeds available throughout the day.
There's a full size snooker table on the first floor, a card room and a room showing football matches (when on) although the selection of tv stations available in the room was good (including all British main channels and Sky Sports), which makes a pleasent change from some hotels where this is not available or you've got to pay extra.
There was still building work being carried out on the new Spa (why build a Spa -please sort the aircon out first!), which could be distruptive in the day time if you had a room at the south end of the building or on some of the sunbed patios at that end.
Entertainment. I have read a lot of mixed comments about the entertainment in the hotel but we didn't stay around much to see, so it would not be fair to comment. There are however a number of bars within walking distance which all have reasonable entertainment available for the cost of a drink. The Bar Sangria does great tasting lunchtime snacks and I think the best tasting Sangria on the Island.
The Thomson Rep's - what Rep's? Where were they? Only saw them once at the welcome meeting which consisted mainly of trying to sell you over priced Thomson trips (my tip - look locally for a similar trip before booking a Thomson trip, you usually find it will be at least half the price!). We wanted to go to the Los Christianos Sunday market (not the best market I've ever been too), the Rep's said go on their trip for 19 euro's each as the local buses on a Sunday were not very frequent and unreliable! We found the buses to be very reliable indeed and on a Sunday went every 30 minute each way for just over 3 euro's each (each way) (the buses go more frequently in the week and the bus stop is only a few minutes walk from the hotel - to the right as you go out of the hotel). If you buy a pre-paid bus card (the rep's should tell you this but they don't) you get at least a 3rd off the bus fare! Just go to a Newpaper shop and ask for a bus card (12 euro's max on the cards or 30 euro's max if you get the card from the bus station), when you get on a bus just show the driver your card, tell him where you are going and put the card in the machine on the bus and it will reduce the amount on your card accordingly. If at the end you haven't got enough money on the card you can top up with cash or use another card, so you don't loose out. The bus service in Tenerife is a great way to get about and see the island really cheaply. Try going from Los Gigantes to Pueto Cruise (I know it not spelt right!), the ride in an experience! and the views are fantastic (especially on the return journey) - not for the faint hearted though especially in the back seat of the bus!
Also try the Flipper Uno 3hr whales and dolphin trip bookable from near the harbour and the 2hr trip on the smaller speed boat - both very good.
Anyway, even though I have been rather negative with my comments on the hotel I would still recommend going here (especially if you don't want kids in your hotel!) as it is a lovelly location in a lovelly little resort and overall the hotel is very good in many ways (just fix the above issues - please). We will return again soon!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cumbrianman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Acantilado de los Gigantes
0.3 mi away
Royal Sun Resort
Royal Sun Resort
#1 of 3 in Los Gigantes
1,288 reviews
2.8 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
15.9 mi away
Spring Arona Gran Hotel
Spring Arona Gran Hotel
#4 of 13 in Los Cristianos
3,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes
Be Live Family Costa los Gigante...
#3 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
5,318 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ona El Marques
Ona El Marques
#1 of 3 in Santiago del Teide
326 reviews
1.3 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI SENSIMAR Los Gigantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI SENSIMAR Los Gigantes

Address: Calle Flor de Pascua, 8, 38683 Acantilado de los Gigantes, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Acantilado de los Gigantes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Acantilado de los Gigantes
Price Range: $69 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — TUI SENSIMAR Los Gigantes 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your TUI SENSIMAR Los Gigantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Gigantes Acantilado De
Los Gigantes Hotel Tenerife
Hotel Los Gigantes Tenerife
TUI SENSIMAR Los Gigantes Tenerife, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing