We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Despite concerns turned out ok”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sensimar Los Gigantes
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Despite concerns turned out ok”
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

We were a bit concerned with some very poor reviews before we travelled, but our holiday turned out fine as we were looking for a restful break. Try and get a seaside room as the noise coming from a couple of the bars down below continued until midnight. Hotel was bright and airy and the staff were very good, obviously recognising returning guests and greeting them accordingly. I was very concerned about the number of people who did not use the hand gel at the elevators and entrances to the restaurant. On one occasion another guest made a comment to my wife when she used the tongs to load bread into the toaster....... He did not seem to realise it was people like him that were causing the spreading of novo virus germs. There seemed to be a lot of guests who were there for weeks at a time and who had been coming to the hotel for several years, but we enjoyed our time there as a one off visit.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Jimcrawley55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    895
    839
    311
    114
    86
See reviews for
101
1,856
44
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (978)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Lovely village setting and staff very helpful. At the buffet breakfast and dinner a large and varied menu. However, the loud, moronic music from a local bar disturbs any chance of sleep or sitting on the balcony.This applies to the village side and not to the sea view rooms. Room 110 seemed to be the best as far as I could ascertain.

Room Tip: Rooms on the sea view side are the only ones to book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 944cariad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knockholt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Just returned from 3 weeks holiday. Ideal location if you are looking to just sit back and relax and enjoy the warm sun, local hospitality, and warm welcome. We will definitely be returning next Jan/Feb and look forward to renewing old acquaintences.

Room Tip: Defintely go for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 170LindaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We have been going to this hotel for over 20 years. We started this holiday sitting on the plane at Gatwick for 5 hours waiting to take off because of the weather The reviews since the refurbishment are very varied. It has lost its individual Spanish feel and is like any other hotel but I am glad they have retained the lovely wooden staircase and stairs.. That said it needed a major overhaul and is very open plan light and airy if that is what you like. It is said that 4million euros have been spent on the overhaul and you still HAVE TO CLIMB INTO THE BATH AND BE HUGGED BY A SHOWER CURTAIN TO HAVE A SHOWER. THAT IS NOT 4 STAR They are mainly older people at this hotel and a walk in shower is a must as accidents have and will happen. The use of glass has been overdone and they have given themselves a massive cleaning problem.I was told it was to give a cruise ship feeling.The balcony walls have gone and are now glass. It was very hot while we were there (last 2 weeks of January) 27c in the room and 35c on the balcony in the afternoon. In the past years we have enjoyed sitting on the balcony late afternoon watching the magnificent sunsets over La Gomera. It was too hot for this but this could be because of the glass fronted balconies. We felt the hotel had cut down on cleaning staff and our room was cleaned in the afternoon by a maid very much in a hurry. The entertainment was very loud but excellent with some very good tribute acts Elton John(had his own red piano and looked and sounded like Elton John) Elvis The BeeGees and Il Divo were particularly good. The resident Duo , Midnight Affair were OK and worked hard to please as did the reps.The restaurant was a bit like a canteen and very noisy. That said it was bright and clean. The food was good particularly the carvery,the grilled meat and fish and the salads.The Al A Carte is a nice touch but no choice of food was a disappointment. Thomas who shows you to your table is lovely but maybe it is time for him to stop kissing the ladies and shaking hands with the men in the interest of hygiene. The very lovely Joanne Love and son Paul will make you very welcome at TJs bar in the hotel entrance and have good late entertainment. Baz will get you swaying and tapping your feet. Domingues is also very good and Paddys Bar has five screens to show all the football. The glass stairs to the pool with no hand rail are an accident waiting to happen but you do not have to use these as the lifts now go down to the pool area. The pool area is beautiful with plenty of sun beds and the pool bar is OK.. The staff were friendly and helpful and the manager Snr De La Rosa who has been there many years is very much hands on. The very good news is that we did not see any sign of the Norovirus while we were there. Plenty of antiseptic hand sprays are spread around the hotel but it seemed that only 50% of guests used them. Tongs are supplied but guests still picked up food with their fingers. I even saw someone dip her finger in the ice cream. We cannot blame the hotel for guests being ill. Will we go back? . You bet be will. We have made friends with many lovely people who have been going many years. This is a fantastic location in a small harbour village. The square with the church and bars is beautiful.Wonderful to get wall to wall sunshine in winter.We had a sea view room on the 8th floor. Not good if you don"t like heights.

Room Tip: If you like beautiful sunsets and the sound of the sea then sea view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank jandj1933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

We recently returned from 10 days at Hotel Los Gigantes. This was our second visit to the area but our first to this hotel. Last year we stayed at the Barcelo Santiago and if we were going to compare the two then, with the exception of location, the Barcelo wins hands down. There were good points about Hotel LG including the large bright comfortable bedroom and the very pleasant outdoor dining terrace but regrettably the rest of the hotel did not quite make the grade and personally was not our cup of tea. Actually "cup of tea" adequately sums up the hotel. Whilst we are English and enjoy the company of fellow Brits we do not actually want to spend our holiday in a place so "British" that we may just as well have gone to Eastbourne. This is one advantage of the Barcelo where there are many British guests, a good few returning, but also other nationalities, varying ages, including Spanish, French, Italian, German and Polish to give a lovely cosmopolitan feel and also ensuring the food choices and flavours were so much more interesting and tasty! The food at LG was plentiful with good choice but too be honest quite bland. At the Barcelo, and indeed at other Spanish hotels we have stayed, there has always been so much more on offer such as various local dishes each day including local cheeses, salamis, and paellas most nights and not just as a special treat. It seemed that any spice or flavours had deliberately been extracted to meet what the hotel obviously thinks is pandering to the "British taste buds". If you are going to put on a curry then please put some curry in it! A personal view of course. We also did not like the restaurant managers daily ritual of fawning over the female guests and insisting on shaking hands with the men. Whilst the many returning guests clearly loved this it just seemed to us so contrived and to be frank rather slimy. Also very few guests availed themselves of the hand gels at the restaurant entrance and with all the kissing going on this just seemed a fail safe way of ensuring the spread of germs and the dreaded noro virus. Whilst there we heard of a few people who had succumbed to this unpleasant virus and I myself spent 2 days suffering with a severe upset stomach and cramps. We have holidayed in Spain many times and never had any illness before so it does make you wonder. We hadn't seen the hotel before its refurb and initially were impressed and wowed by the bright contemporary design which did give spectacular views particularly from the public areas and our seaview room. However, it just doesn't really work. When on holiday we like to sit at a nice hotel bar before dinner but at LG this just wasn't possible. Rows of strange uncomfortable seats lined up for mediocre after dinner entertainment was all that was available and whilst there is a bar it is basically a drinks station for the hardworking waiters to service the guests. There is a terrace and a large lounge with big comfortable sofas but again it doesn't really tick the right boxes... we love contemporary but this place needs colour!! We gave up on this quite early on and enjoyed very pleasent pre and post dinner drinks and coffee at TJ's Bar just outside the hotel. We can't recommend TJ's highly enough! Well done Paul for running your bar so well, great music, great service and great coffee! Back at the LG there is also a strange floor between the main floors and the reception level that with the exceptional of a snooker table doesn't actually seem to serve any purpose. This really doesn't help with the general ambience of the place. The two pool areas are ok. Again this is where the Barcelo wins hands down. It's pools are so much more attractive and the pool bar positively lovely. The Hotel LG pool bar just doesn't work, it's grey and uninspiring although we did love the hanging chairs which were very relaxing! Despite these we found that after 2-3 days we needed to get away and find what we considered to be more eclectic company in more attractive surroundings. We settled on the Oasis public Lido 5 mins walk away which with a pool, lawns, sunbeds, a restaurant, bar, and very welcoming staff was a beautiful place to relax and enjoy the magnificent scenery. Yes we paid 4Euros each per day but well worth it to escape!! Indeed the village of Los Gigantes is a lovely lovely place and somewhere we will definitely be returning to in the future for some lovely winter sunshine which we experienced throughout our stay. However this will not be at the Hotel LG. To be honest if the owners (Stll) don't liven things up they are going to find that once the ageing demographic (to put it politely) of its British guests "move on" they will be left high and dry.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
13 Thank rosIv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We returned to the Los Gigantes after a wonderful week in 2012. The refurbishment has certainly changed the feel of the hotel; it is much more modern and bright; the old decoration was looking very dark and tired so a thumbs up for these changes.
The staff have remained in place; Thomas still runs the restaurant with a smile and a kiss, the reception staff are friendly and helpful and the bar staff work their socks off in the evening to ensure you are never short of a drink.
The main pool area has been re-worked and looks much more modern with an infinity pool and glass walls to make the lost of the views across the sea. A warning here though - the sunbed reservation run still happens every morning at 8 am so if you have a favorite area best to get up early!! We actually prefer the freshwater pool area which is much quieter and where there is certainly no issue getting a bed - beware the pool there though; it's freezing!
The re-worked bar area is pleasant but the music did seem a bit on the loud side. Evening entertainment was very good and the entertainment team worked their socks off to ensure everyone had a good time.
The hotel does tend to attract an elderly clientele and as such is pretty much dead after 11 pm. There are bars nearby which will offer a bit of life after this time but it is a quiet resort in general.
All in all this is a great hotel for a quiet, fuss free break from the cold, dark British winter.

Room Tip: Sea view is extra but it is quieter and has sun on the balcony all afternoon through to the spectacu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Stewart_Diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed here to celebrate New Year. Unfortunately I went down with a tummy bug on New Years Eve and spent the day in bed. I did manage to get up and come down for the Gala Dinner but it was a bit a shambles and I didn't stay long although my wife quite enjoyed it.
The problem was it didn't start until 9pm and there were so many courses it didn't finish until 11:30pm. By then a lot of guests had left to join in the massive celebrations that take place over the road in the square. Perhaps that's why they start it so late to stop guests leaving earlier.
We shared a table with a charming Dutch couple but it was hard to chat as the live music was so loud.
Up until then we'd had quite a nice stay. We've stayed in the area before but never at this hotel although we'd been in several times over the years to sample the fantastic entertainment.
I have to say the entertainment has gone downhill. They used to bring in more International acts of a high standard. They now rely heavily on their resident Thomson duo who are ok but you do need a bit of a change.
The hotel is very modern looking since the refurb last year but most of the regular guests I spoke to didn't like it! The bedrooms have been tarted up but they've not touched the bathrooms which are tiny and a big let down.
The food on the whole was pretty good and the staff are generally fantastic. I get the impression most of them have worked here for years.
Don't order food from the pool bar at lunchtime unless you're prepared for a long wait.
Los Gigantes is a pretty little resort which seems to be dominated by the British.
We spent every evening in T.J.s bar outside the hotel as did plenty of other guests. The entertainment was first class with a variety of acts and the service amazing. Well done Paul!
We would return to the hotel again, but not over New Year.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room as the rooms facing the resort can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank joke13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Acantilado de los Gigantes
0.3 mi away
Royal Sun Resort
Royal Sun Resort
#1 of 3 in Los Gigantes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
2.8 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes
Be Live Family Costa los Gigante...
#2 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Spring Arona Gran Hotel
Spring Arona Gran Hotel
#4 of 14 in Los Cristianos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,270 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ona El Marques
Ona El Marques
#1 of 3 in Santiago del Teide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
11.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Arecas
Hotel Riu Arecas
#13 of 80 in Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sensimar Los Gigantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sensimar Los Gigantes

Property: Sensimar Los Gigantes
Address: Calle Flor de Pascua, 8, 38683 Acantilado de los Gigantes, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Acantilado de los Gigantes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Acantilado de los Gigantes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sensimar Los Gigantes 4*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Sensimar Los Gigantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Gigantes Acantilado De
Los Gigantes Hotel Tenerife
Hotel Los Gigantes Tenerife
Sensimar Los Gigantes Tenerife, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing