We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No way a four star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
TUI SENSIMAR Los Gigantes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Just spent a week at this hotel for the first and last time as it is no way deserves a four star rating.The brochure and online information from Thomson are very economical with the mention of, in their words, `Music Bar outside` There are four music bars in very close proximity to the hotel with loud live music every night. A couple stop at the midnight deadline but others don`t, the regular visitors to the hotel pre-book a sea view room as they are quiet being on the other side of the hotel from the bars. The much heralded refurbishment is in reality only a part refurb mainly in the public areas, most of the rooms have bathrooms which are of a poor standard, the first room we were allocated had a sewage smell in the bathroom and we were quickly moved. The hotel has had a long term problem with norovirus and there are sanitation hand wash dispensers outside the dining room and the lift doors. Despite this we have both had a bout shortly after getting home. The in-house entertainment is `so so` with most of it being provided by the hotel reps, they`re enthusiastic but having said that you`ve said it all. The seating is new but not particularly comfortable. The dining room is large but has only tables for two and has the feel of a works canteen, the food is plentiful but quite bland. The area of Los Gigantes itself is very picturesque albeit very hilly but with a good local bus service so getting around is quite easy. There are better hotels in the area for the money Hotel Los Gigantes costs.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are quiet but cost more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,466)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,663 - 1,669 of 2,466 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and I (both in our early 50's) stayed for a week in mid January and had a lovely week at this hotel. We managed to find a great deal through Ebay and paid just under £150.00 each on a half board basis for 7 nights (plus flights with Monarch). To us, this was simply a cheap week in the sun to escape the winter weather in the UK and we cannot fault the hotel.
The fact that the clientel consists of mostly 'more mature' English couples didn't really bother us as we didn't get involved with the daytime or evening entertainment which was geared towards this target audience. Sunbathing around the smaller freshwater pool suited us just fine.
We could not fault the hotel itself as far as service, food and cleanlines are concerned. Neither of us experienced any problems with the supposedly rife norovirus.
If we had paid the Thomson brochure price of around £500 - £600 per person, we would not have felt that the hotel offered value for money, but we were more than happy with the deal we got.
The town itself is quite pleasant and has a mixture of low key bars & restauarants that range from the usual British style egg & chip type to the more up market establishments. We frequented both types & were not surprised or dissapointed with the food / service / price at either.
Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our week in the sun and would recommend this hotel (if you can get it for a decent price).
The staff, food & rooms are very good.
Photo's attached.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 6th floor overlooking the harbour / town / cliffs. Very nice. No complaints.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bodgerdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have been visiting the Hotel for over 8 years ( twice a year) and have always found it to be home from home
We did think it was due for refurbishment as it was getting a bit tired and shabby looking but after saying that was apprehensive they would go over the top and spoil the hotel but they did not it is still home from home but with a WOW factor
When we arrived I was impressed it was modern,light and lots of glass really impressive a definite improvement
Between reception and the dining room there is an area with comfortable seating were you can relax after your meal or just sit and talk with friends
The music room now is much better as it opens onto the terrace so you can sit inside or outside
The dining room is very different and took awhile to adjust to but it grows on you everything seems set out better
The bedroom is very light light and airy and now they have extended the door onto the balcony the view with door closed or open is breathtaking
clean towels and bedding
and the tea/coffee facility that as now been added is great
There is a lift down to the pool areas and it is a vast improvement from the old style slope that was there before
there are plenty of sun beds at both pools the main one and the quieter pool
The food is still good and plenty of variety and well presented
The Manager and all the staff are very helpful always ready to help and to make sure you have a great holiday
This is the only hotel we have ever been to that makes you feel so welcome right from the maids to the Manager out of all the hotels we have visited this the only hotel we have ever visited more than twice I think that speaks for itself
All in all I think the hotel got what it deserved a well earned face lift
The Hotel is in an idyllic setting and a great place for a relaxing holiday
but its not for you if you want lots of hectic night life
As for the Norovirus how can people blame this hotel for that when it as been rife in England closing wards and whole hospitals and also in all the papers about people on the Cruise ships
with it
The bus station is close by and and approx 15 mins bus ride away is San Juan a nice beach and harbour
Las Americas is approx 45 mins to 1 hour by bus
There is a lovely walk to Santiago which as a small beach and a little further round the the bay is Playa Arena which as a larger beach with chairs and umbrellas you can hire
Los Gigantes as a small beach a harbour some lovely little bars and restaurants
We will definitely be returning to our favourite Hotel

Room Tip: Sea views are good but can get very hot on the balcony from mid day , side rooms overlooking sea and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We are going back to Los Gigantes hotel in a few weeks time just enjoyed xmas and new year there. We were leaving on New Year's Day so we had a sea view room because the town has music going on all night . But outside on the car park people were shouting and fun fighting all night it happened last year as well but we didn't think there'd be back . So it was noisy at the sea view side as well. We wouldn't have minded if we hadn't been getting up early. So I won't be going for New Year's Eve any more we still love the hotel and we'll be going back for Xmas .hope this review is helpful its for the young and old .

Room Tip: We like the town side because you can see people coming and going and we like to look over the town...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kdixy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed in this hotel from Tuesday 25th December until Friday 4th January 2013. Check-in was swift and efficient, we had not noticed that our luggage had already been taken to our room whilst we dealt with the necessary administration. Quite a surprise!
Our room was situated on the fourth floor, looking out towards La Gomera, overlooking the main pool. It was roomy, clean and well presented. Throughout our stay, the maid serviced our room, before lunchtime, on a daily basis. She left clean towels, changed bedding and replenished the tea/coffee making facilities.
The whole layout of the hotel was clean and functional. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The pool areas were clean, inviting and well kept.
We stayed on a ‘Full board’ basis. Breakfast, evening meal and two gala dinners were very good. The mid-day meal was poor in comparison. Diners were restricted to a very limited poolside menu!
Now for the negative, four days into our holiday – first my wife and then myself fell victim of the norovirus illness. We were aware of this illness, at the hotel and resort, prior to our holiday. Indeed the Thomson helpline assured us that there were illness problems at the hotel. ’Laugh out loud!’ We took anti-bacterial wipes and hand gels on holiday with us. We used the wipes on the aeroplane trays, around the room on our arrival and during our stay. We used the gels frequently and took advantage of hotel provided gels outside of lifts and dining rooms – I have never been so clean! We never ate outside of the hotel as we were ‘full board’, so cannot blame other vendors.
In thirty years of travel we have never experienced such an illness, my wife would prefer to give birth than contract this virus again! We have learnt our lesson that if reviews indicate that such an illness is present we would rather cancel the holiday and travel to a different destination. This review is ‘late’ as only now are we starting to feel fit and healthy again. On a positive side, I am still half a stone lighter than when I left for my holiday!!! NEVER AGAIN!

Room Tip: Don't go in the winter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cycling_gnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Our third visit to this hotel, and WOW what a difference since last time!. The whole ground floor area is unrecognisable from our previous visit. The restaurant area is now superb and the outdoor terrace area particularly pleasant on a warm evening. Food quality was very good and the display section in particular with fresh fish and meat cooked before your eyes was brilliant. The same area is also used for fresh omelettes for morning breakfast. Thank you Pedro!!
The bar and terrace area overlooking the pool, the sea and La Gomera in the background are very pleasant. Our only negative comments are the dreadful seating in the bar area, and the head waiter's habit of shaking hands with everyone and kissing all the ladies despite the need to keep norovirus at bay. We heard of many suffering during our visit, but I don't see how you could possibly blame the hotel (apart from the aforesaid greeting practice).
Our room was very comfortable, large and with a lovely balcony overlooking the sea. Floor to ceiling and wall to wall sliding glass patio doors enhanced the view which was wonderful even with those doors closed. The room was very quiet, with no noise at all from the corridor or the hotel in general, beds were comfortable and the bathroom large and spotlessly clean.
We were very professionally greeted and also received a complimentary bottle of Cava. Staff in general friendly and helpful. Entertainment average.
All in all a wonderful hotel and we will definitely return.

Room Tip: Would definitely go for the sea view, and the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JaneNorwich98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Our arrival was greeted wth wine and a our luggage delivered to our room with the minimum of fuss, The advertised champagne was not apparent. We had a seaview room overlooking the pool and with views across to La Gomera. The room was airy bright and well serviced by the maids but the sliding bathroom door tended to jam and was very noisy in operation. The food we found overwhelming in quantity and was about average except for the A La Carte meal which was tremendous. We were glad we had not booked one of the "Wonderful Trips" as we both contracted the Virus and lost 5 days of our holiday, The last time I was welded to toilet seat for so long was in the jungles of Borneo! Despite the rep mentioning the use of hand gels she did not emphasise why. Many guests ignored their use and matters were made worse by restaurant staff insisting on shaking hands with every one. Many Guests ignored the use of tongs to pick up their food even after it was pointed out by other people. The lounge bar must have been modelled on a provincial airport departure lounge and the seating donated by the Spanish Inquisition! Entertainment started early in the morning when the pool area doors were opened and a Tsunami of Pink Flesh flooded out to claim their sunbeds for the day even if the did not use them SADDOES! The coffee is awful so we went out of the hotel to get a decent cup, the lounge bar sometimes could not cope with the number of guests mainly because of waiter service, Half an hour to wait for a drink is a bit over the top ! The hotel staff work extremely hard and were always polite and helpful, The Greeting Meeting could be cut shorter if we did not have to listen to "The Wonderful Trips" that were on offer. Frankly from what we saw the same trips could be sourced cheaper from in the village. Finally I think the Thomson Entertainment Rep should realise that she is a representative of her company and not just there for Entertainment purposes, What ever they are? ( Little Miss Important ! )

Room Tip: Select a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Acantilado de los Gigantes
0.3 mi away
Royal Sun Resort
Royal Sun Resort
#1 of 3 in Los Gigantes
1,332 reviews
2.8 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
2,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Spring Arona Gran Hotel
Spring Arona Gran Hotel
#3 of 13 in Los Cristianos
3,616 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ona El Marques
Ona El Marques
#1 of 3 in Santiago del Teide
333 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Poblado Marinero
Apartamentos Poblado Marinero
#3 of 3 in Los Gigantes
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI SENSIMAR Los Gigantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI SENSIMAR Los Gigantes

Address: Calle Flor de Pascua, 8, 38683 Acantilado de los Gigantes, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Acantilado de los Gigantes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Acantilado de los Gigantes
Price Range: $140 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — TUI SENSIMAR Los Gigantes 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your TUI SENSIMAR Los Gigantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Gigantes Acantilado De
Los Gigantes Hotel Tenerife
Hotel Los Gigantes Tenerife
TUI SENSIMAR Los Gigantes Tenerife, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing