We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic New Year at the Los Gigantes Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
TUI SENSIMAR Los Gigantes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We visited the Los Gigantes hotel at Easter before the changes were made, we loved it then and loved it even more this time. We are regular Thompson Gold guests, but this was our first New Year abroad and despite the negative reviews about the change to a "Couples" hotel we will certainly be back next year. The changes to the hotel are excellent we have no complaints, opening up the old comfy sofa area as the entertainment area with a patio overlooking the sea is brilliant. The staff are still great and the service couldn’t be better, the food was again superb with plenty of choice. We particularly enjoyed the New Year gala evening, the 8 course meal was delicious and the entertainment was good although we saw in the new year in the town square dancing to the local band. For a small resort there is plenty to do with a range of local bars each with their own type of entertainment.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank CFRBKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,463)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,671 - 1,677 of 2,465 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2013

We have just returned from a marvellous two weeks holiday over Christmas. The hotel is in a breathtaking location and the views from our balcony, looking out to La Gomera, were stunning. The weather was 25-30 degress which made everything perfect. The hotel is very spacious and clean. The swimming pools and sun-bed areas are fantastic. Everything was brand-new and sufficient sunbeds for everyone.
All of the staff in the hotel were extremely friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. The lunchtime/bar waiters were extra special. They were attentive, courteous and friendly, nothing was too much trouble and they always made time for a little chat.
The Thomson hosts, Mat and Natalie worked extremely hard and sang for a short while most evenings. Their songs ranged from stage shows to present day popular music and were extremely enjoyable.
Most evenings we stayed in the hotel after dinner as we could not find any better entertainment outside. The resident duo was called Midnight Affair (Frankie and Jackie Diamond). They were fantastic. The variety of music they performed was vast and they sang songs that suited all tastes. We thoroughly enjoyed the Christmas Day Gala Dinner, largely because of their performance, which included a fabulous Neil Diamond tribute from Frankie, and Jackie singing Abba, Tina Turner and Adele. They worked trmendously hard and gave 100% of themselves with every performance. They thoroughly deserve all credit due for making this Christmas a happy festive holiday.
We look forward to visiting the hotel again.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms give you fantastic views both day and night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fibonacci24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Our whole experience of the Los Gigantes Hotel could not be faulted. The facilities, the location and the accommodation were all excellent, as was the dining. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. The Hotel Management were always available if required.
There was a taxi rank just outside the hotel, and the bus stop was just a short walk away, which was very convenient.
The evening entertainment was excellent with a good variety of visiting artists and groups and the resident singers, especially Frankie and Jackie, whose wide variety of popular songs, made every evening a most enjoyable experience. The Hotel's Gala Christmas Dinner was made extra special with their performances suiting everybody's taste including a Neil Diamond tribute, which was marvellous and added to everyone's enjoyment of a splendid evening.
This was our first visit to this hotel and we travelled with some trepidation after reading several negative reports. However, we could not find any fault with the hotel and would not hesitate to visit this excellent hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandBFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Having read latest reviews the day before my weeks stay I was very tempted to cancel but couldn't find anything suitable over night. We found all staff to be genuinely friendly and helpful. That includes the reception staff. Our room on the fourth floor was spacious and very clean. Well equipped with Tv, tea, coffee, hair drier. Fridge. I was a little annoyed to be charged over 30 euro in total for the room safe and room wifi. services that most quality hotels offer free. Free slower wifi was available in reception and i believe the reception offered a secure place for valuables as an option to charged room safe. Shower over bath was very powerful. Large supply of gels, etc. Large balcony facing the town with some sea view. Yes we heard the revellers on New Year's Eve but that's normal for that one night of the year. Slept through most of it. Judging by the tubs of hand cleaner at the entrance to the canteen and lifts, it seems likely that the vomiting bug had caused problems, but now seems under control. Not the hotels fault. We only ate breakfast in the hotel as hadn't opted for half board so I can't comment on main meals. However I must say that breakfast was excellent, mainly buffet, large selection of prepared fresh fruit and cooked breakfast, usual selection of cereal, yogurts, etc, pastries and a fresh omelette, pancake station. Yes coffee was from machines, but not a bad cappuccino. They might want to re think the fresh fruit juice machine which produces a very weak diluted squash. The exercise room consisted of a cross trainer, bike and treadmill, there was a separate weights room, which I didn't see. I did play on the tennis courts at 6€ an hour. The hotel is ideally situated in the town centre, lots of friendly bars and restaurants. Eating out was very cheap and generally very good. Area very safe. Great local tennis club in the town with excellent coach. In short, I'm glad that we didn't change hotels and would happily return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank malcolm911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We returned to the Los Gigantes hotel again for 3 weeks over Christmas and new year, it was as usual excellent. We noted a few poor reviews before we travelled and were a little concerned, especially after the refurbishment, we were in the hotel shortly before it closed for the refurb, it was elegant before and is still elegant. Super bright and airy rooms and public places, great use of space and an improved concert room. I feel that the usual whingers are at work, those who are not happy unless they find fault with a product, food excellent and YES. always hot, Staff as usual,so happy to help and boy do they work hard, all make your stay so pleasant by going the extra mile for you. The virus?, not while we were there for the three weeks, although we were aware that in the UK it was reported that 1 million people had reported having it which means, sorry to you whingers,that this virus is being brought to Tenerife via the flights from the UK, 1 in 60 people in the UK reported having the virus, the maths are simple,on every flight there would be some carrying this condition abroad. However, we noted no problems within the 3 weeks that we were there. I would add that we were on occasions appalled at the hygiene standards of some of the guests. The virus does NOT start in the hotel.
Many thanks to Sen De La Rosa and all his excellent staff for a fantastic holiday, we are returning for the carnival late February and March, cannot wait, oh, and the weather fantastic for the whole period. Sen De La Rosa is always on hand to deal with any questions,he is the most hands on hotel manager we have encountered.
If the cabaret is not for you, outside there are many live venues,visit the Harp Bar for great totally live Irish music, its located just around the corner from the hotel,a great venue and the happy hour is soooo inexpensive.Lainey the host will make you so welcome and ensure you enjoy your visit.

Overall, a great holiday,a great hotel and staff second to none, we will be returning soon.

If you are reading this and have been disturbed by some of the previous reviews, ignore them, go and enjoy your holiday.

Room Tip: Our room 206,on the front was excellent, great views of Gomera and on clearer days of La Palme,photo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank kenneth_dorward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

After a previous christmas at the Los Gigantes, we returned to see how the hotel had changed after the refurbishment. We were greeted by the reception staff who took our bags and sat down as a group in reception which avoided a free-for-all at the desk. Drinks were provided and the reception staff took our passports and gave us info regarding the hotel. As it was late the staff provided a plate of cold meats and salad.

Our room was a sea view which we highly recommend. The room was brightly decorated with new furniture, and a bottle of water and champagne. The new pool area and other refurbishments looked aesthetically pleasing.

The Christmas day gala dinner was well set up however the food did not match up to the excellent service.

The viral infection that spreads round the hotel was prevailant and hand Gels were provided, on entering the restaurant and on the lift doors, shame that most people didnt follow the hygiene guidelines and use them. I have witnessed people not using the gels or the food tongues, and touching the food.

The management need to insist that the gels are used, and not leave it to personal choice.

The room cleaning wasnt brilliant, with dirty bath mats, blocked showerhead, not a good standard in the Bathroom. Dry mopping is not consisting with the record the hotel has with the virus.

Our inbound flight transfer was unacceptable it took 1 hour 30 mins to get to the airport, going against the published 1 hour transfer time. And being somewhat ill this wasnt very good. So dont be fooled by the brochures.

All in all we would return for a fifth visit if the hotel was given the all clear that the virus has gone

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are the best option
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank scooby1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We travelled home on New Years day, absolutely exhausted not because of our celebrating, but the revellers in Los Gigantes partying from 12am until 6pm, our room 810 was on the top floor over looking the square, The disco thundered around the area it was complete torture. Breakfast at 8 a.m. was stories of guests using the cushions from the settee in the bath to try and escape the onslaught, drinking 2 bottles of wine to escape into oblivion. Never never again!!

On to the hotel this is our second Christmas there before the makeover and after, It does look quite impressive when you first arrive, very nice, however the rooms have only received a lick of paint and new curtains, and of course the glass frontage on the balcony, very dissapointed with the bathroom which to be honest needed a makeover, no change what so ever, shower rubbish, plastic shower curtain, try getting ready for a night out with the lighting available, we moved the table lamp into the bathroom, and then to reach the mirror you must be 5ft 5ins or more.

The entertainment team were rubbish, only interested in their own self importance. Luckily the bars outside do provide good entertainment. One exception the Ill Devo group were outstanding.
even then the shouting and laughing form guests outside smoking did spoil the night for a lot of other guests.

We were there from Christmas Day until New Years Day, never heard anything about a virus.

All of the staff were friendly and helpful, with the exception of the reception and Thomson reps, we get really annoyed when you stand waiting for advice, and they carry on talking about personal problems as if you are invisible.

Room Tip: If you book New Years Eve, choose sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Brendabolter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Acantilado de los Gigantes
0.3 mi away
Royal Sun Resort
Royal Sun Resort
#1 of 3 in Los Gigantes
1,328 reviews
2.8 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Spring Arona Gran Hotel
Spring Arona Gran Hotel
#3 of 13 in Los Cristianos
3,610 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ona El Marques
Ona El Marques
#1 of 3 in Santiago del Teide
333 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Poblado Marinero
Apartamentos Poblado Marinero
#3 of 3 in Los Gigantes
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI SENSIMAR Los Gigantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI SENSIMAR Los Gigantes

Address: Calle Flor de Pascua, 8, 38683 Acantilado de los Gigantes, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Acantilado de los Gigantes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Acantilado de los Gigantes
Price Range: $72 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — TUI SENSIMAR Los Gigantes 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your TUI SENSIMAR Los Gigantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Gigantes Acantilado De
Los Gigantes Hotel Tenerife
Hotel Los Gigantes Tenerife
TUI SENSIMAR Los Gigantes Tenerife, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing