We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stil Hotel Sensimar Los Gigantes
Nearby Hotels
$57
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Ona El Marques(Santiago del Teide)(Great Value!)
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Globales Tamaimo Tropical(Puerto de Santiago)
$88
$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Dragos Del Sur(Puerto de Santiago)
$57
$55
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Royal Sun Resort(Los Gigantes)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Barcelo Santiago(Puerto de Santiago)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Blue Sea Lagos de Cesar(Puerto de Santiago)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (2,595)
Filter reviews
2,595 results
Traveler rating
1,060
970
345
122
98
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,060
970
345
122
98
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslos gigantesthomson goldsea viewthomson repscouples hotelfresh water poolla gomeraelton john tributegold hotelshow cookingyounger couplesevening entertainmentshower curtainplenty of choicerelaxing holidayhighland paddypool bar
Filter
Updating list...
2,307 - 2,312 of 2,595 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2008

This hotel is one of the best I have stayed in. Our room consisted of a large bedroom with tables and comfortable bucket chairs, a separate lounge with sofa etc, a gorgeous bathroom with his and hers washbasinsand bath with shower attachment and a sparate loo with bidet, 4 rooms in all. The management and staff were all extremely polite and attentive. This hotel is definitely for the older generation and I like it like that, I am 57 and my husband's 47 and we appreciate adult behaviour. The food is wonderful, so much choice and attention to detail. The was a section for vegetarians with many choices and also a varied section for diabetics. We dined on green-lipped mussels, enormous prawns, hake. fresh sardines, veal, pork. duck in orange sauce, chicken in red wine, a variety of salads and cooked veg for dinner and the deserts were truly memorable with lots of individual pastries, selection of 4 flavours of ice cream, gateaux, fresh fruit, prepared fruit salad, bananas baked in liquers, creme caramel and fruit in jellied rings. Breakfast was also as varied with delicious porridge and fennel bread and much much more.There are two pools, a colder freshwater one which is more secluded and the larger, slightly warmer main one, these are both spotlessly clean as are the surrounding areas. The decor inside the hotel is fantastic with large rugs on the wall, marble everywhere and floor-tiling with roman mosaic pattern. there was a little noise in the evening from one or two bars around but take some wax earplugs and it will not both you. A very classy hotel and I loved getting up into the mountains to look at the vast areas of volcanic pumice in our hire car. The pyramids at Guimar were interesting with the reedboat displays. I would definitely use this hotel again. I didn't join in the many activities but if you like that sort of thing it is on offer.There was entertainment every evening although a little dated it suited the majority of guests. I have no hesitation in reccommending this hotel.

Stayed: March 2008
4  Thank rubenesqueSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2008

Just be prepared for noise at night if you have a bedroom at the front of the hotel, the bars around have full pelt music until midnight so an early restfull night is problematic!
Also be wary of booking into room 803 (and probably 03 on every floor) as the rooms are way smaller than other rooms, the beds are smaller, the mattress less comfortable and the pillows lumpy!
Not a Thomsom 'Gold' standard in our opinion?

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darbyandjoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2008

My husband and I are in our fifties and we felt like teenagers, we knew gold hotels were for adults only but we did expect there to be a few more people our age. The more elderly resisdents liked to get up early and reserve their sunbeds which we found very annoying as the hotel states this is not allowed. We always had the later breakfast and dinner and the waiters liked to clear up around us making you feel uncomfortable if you sat there too long. This also happened every night by the pool at 5pm. The inside bar where the entertainment was held was far too hot and unbearable to sit in so most people under 65 seemed to go out in the evenings.

These comments aside the hotel rooms were lovely and very clean but I would advise that you pay the extra for a seaview as the rooms facing the town are very noisey. The salt water pool was lovely and the area very clean. The hotel staff were very attentive and helpful. The Thomson reps tried their best but the evening entertainment were generally crap. We used to go to the local bars every night and if you get a chance to see Bitter and Twisted do so as they are hillarious.

The food was plentiful but someone should tell the chef that not all english people over 50 like bland tasteless food.

Los Gigantes as a place is lovely and the views from the hotel are stunning and the weather was very hot with only one afternoon of rain.

If you want a peaceful holiday and dont mind lots of elderly people that take all the sunbeds and eat very early and as long as you go out at night you would probably enjoy your stay. The cakes and coffee over the road in Bamboo are wonderful.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank chrisgoodeggnorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2008

Returned from our first stay in Tenerife 13th March. Having read some of the recent reviews I am wondering if we were on the same island let alone in the same hotel. Firstly the hotel was clean had friendly staff large rooms and the food and dining room sevice were excellent. There was always plenty of choice from salads to roasts, italian dishes and mexican food . Breakfast was a good choice every day fruit, yoghurt,porridge,.cereals,continental hams and cheeses,eggs,bacon.sausage ,hash browns ,fried bread, toast what more do you want for goodness sake. Waiting staff very quick very friendly and Tomas the restaurant manager is a character to behold.

We had a room on the town side of the Hotel and yes there is some noise from coaches but you can count them on one hand!! The bars close at 12 so plenty of time to sleep. To be honest if you want to sit on a balcony in silence every night you may as well stay at home.



Los Gigantes itself is everything that we could have wished for quiet peaceful ,nice shops a few bars and marina to walk off dinner. Bamboo tea room pastries have to be seen to be believed and the coffee was exceptional. Unfortunately the same cannot be said for the coffee in the hotel and as another reviewer has already said investment in a state of the art coffee machine would be advisable.

Weather was very good during our stay lots going on but no one tried to force you into joining in, Reps were all lovely ,good attitude and if they lacked talent in some areas they made up for it in enthusiasm. Danny and Neil (Sway) are a very good duo and deserve a better spot on the bill.

|To finish I do wonder what people are expecting out of a holiday when they seem to complain about everything.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank romamomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2008

Well its full of oldies with old world courtesies! but so it should be I'm 65 ! Its fine with lots of regulars who go back year after year, one couple have been there 54 times!! So the manager and his staff MUST be doing something right. You could regard the dining room as sometimes a bit school dinner like but the big buffet range would normally enable you to find something to your liking! There are a few words of warning however, the hotel is 44 years old and the lifts behave accordingly! If you are nervous about such old mechanical items request a low floor and WALK! Being stuck in the lift for 20 mins or so IS not a rare occurence! The location and view of La Gomera is stunning but its all hills surrounding and it is a steep hike out of the village area or down to the harbour! There has been a potent virus infection sweeping the island and sadly this hotel has had quite a few "hits" If you are worried one way to seemingly cut this to a minimum of contagion is to arm yourself with "hospital type gel wipe" for your hands and swab your hands down after touching anything!! Several people did that and stayed bug free ( nasty sickness and vomiting )

We enjoyed 3 weeks there (Feb/Mar 08) and I certainly improved my table tennis and boule prowess !!!

2  Thank oldtone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews