We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a warm welcome and Stunning views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
TUI SENSIMAR Los Gigantes
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Such a warm welcome and Stunning views”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The manager of this hotel sets the standard and atmosphere that ripples throughout the staff and visitors

We were greeted by the staff and given refreshments whilst our luggage was spirited away to our room

The peace and tranquility along with the stunning views from any room in the hotel makes this a perfect place for couples

There is a very wide variety of food on each evening with Themed nights and show cooking

Throughout 40 years of professional service the staff have created a place where not only do you feel at home with the staff you also are made welcome by the very many regular visitors to the hotel

This was our second visit and we are sure to return in the near future

Room Tip: The Sea views are amazing Go to sleep to the beautiful sound of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gillianmrogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    912
    851
    312
    114
    86
See reviews for
102
1,880
45
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (989)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

this hotel is a disgrace, food awfull, staff useless, reps need replaceing,entertainment a joke.rooms are NEVER cleaned properly and cleanlyness throughout the hotel is very poor.No more thompsons for us. Chritmas day gala dinner was a disaster, you were expected to dress up smartly then given plastic noses to wear while being served trrible food.Gad to be home

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank yellowarmyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Thomsons reps absolutely useless more concerned with their own entertainment i would say 80% were ill reps call it tummy bug i felt like a severe dose of plague we have since found out that this problem has been around for a long time we should have been warned !!! dont be fooled by being told it is all over gigantes as local people said it is not. The refurbishment was probably an attempt to stamp it out that has not worked now for the good points the view is very nice the manager and resturant manager should be given oscars for smarm in dealing with irate guests. A hotel for fit, old people - even the rep said you have to go up cardiac hill to get anywhere!!! One redeeming feature was the manageress of the cabin crew on the way home she was absolutely lovely and could not do enough for us, even arranging a wheelchair because on eof us was too weak to walk to the terminal. NEVER AGAIN!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
25 Thank allen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

OK first time at this hotel arrived back 14 Dec and we had no problems with any sickness bugs. The refurbishment to use looked ok its all white but looked tidy the room was huge little bit of a cop out the bed was two twins pushed together with double sheets/quilt on them to make it look like a double. Food was ok and presented well we saw no dirty crockery the waiters seemed to clear the tables pretty quick. Pool area was clean and always managed to get a sunbed as there were plenty the only down side for us was the room cleaning most days not done before 3.00pm bins were missed, bath not cleaned as well as we would expect, towels missed and the cups/saucers on the hospitality tray were not washed. I agree that more room cleaning staff are needed and someone needs to keep a check on how the rooms are being cleaned. As to whether we go back to this hotel its something we dont do we always go somewhere different.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Chose this hotel for the couples aspect and it lived up to it's brochure advert. Food pretty good for a Spainish beach resort hotel, not 4 star by UK standards as the rating relies on many aspects, but they also have an a la carte evening which is good. Like most other reviewers listed in the past weeks we also contracted the dreaded norovirus but rumour had it the whole resort was suffering not just this hotel. Disappointed the hotel didn't take additional precautions or post warnings to be extra vigililant with personal hygene.
Pool area nice, plenty off sun beds. Pleasure activities went on quietly without the noisy interruption of twentysomethings bawling round the pool trying to rope you into inane games (I mean the entertainment staff !!).
The hotel rooms are very much split in two, north facing and south facing; one obviously has glorious views over the ocean and all day sun, though I wouldn't want one in the summer especially as the air conditioning seemed pretty weak (not a problem in December but August is another matter); the other faces the mountains, no sun apart from about 20 mins at sunrise at whatever time. The north also faces the nice town area, pleasant views of the villas but importantly the 4 bars that are within 2 mins walk and are in competition with each other to blast music from 7pm to midnight. If you're out enjoying it ok but if you want to sleep before midnight, hard luck, as you won't. The double glazing isn't enough to block out bird song let alone 100 db of music x 4. Not good if you are also recovering from the norovirus bug. Rooms are quite spacious.
Don't be fooled by the brochure saying every room has sea views, correct in law as the north rooms can see the sea at the harbour entrance as it curls round the bay. Not quite the same.
The wifi is very weak, I couldn't get a signal worth diddly even in the lounge area which is supposed to be the centre point. Others with i-pads were ok so I put it down to my i-phone.

Room Tip: south facing if you can book early enough, but think twice in hot weather
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank horsleygc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Arrived last week of August, for two weeks, (following the refurbishment), after around thirty years since our first visit. The changes to the hotel were a great improvement, lots of glass, making it airy and light. The salt water pool was an absolute delight and set at a temperature that you could just walk into it with no chilly feelings.

The food was plentiful and excellent quality, staff helpful and very pleasant. We tried the a' la carte restaurant twice, a beautiful setting at tree top height as the sun set and the moon rose over the hill tops The food was great the first time, but not so good the second time.

Our room overlooked the pool and sea and the wall of the room to the balcony was all glass, floor to ceiling, with a huge patio door, even the balcony wall was glass so you could lay in bed and look out over the ocean each morning. The bedrooms are very large and comfortable.

One little downside was the bathroom, it looked a little tired an in need of an up grade and the room lacked a full mirror. A few little bit and pieces following the refurbishment need finishing off, but no doubt that will be complete by now. These were very minor issues and overall the bathroom was still of a decent standard, (just being a bit picky!).

We missed the wi fi connection which was not due until 1st November, but we found a lovely bar with free wi fi just yards from the hotel, and the safe and tea making equipment I gather will be included then as well.

Although we like to go to different places for holidays, we would go back to this hotel, it was a good holiday and well worth the return visit and despite the rather small black sand beach, we enjoyed it and it was staffed by attentive nice people.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms are quieter except of course for the waves breaking. Rooms overlooking the village...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RK987654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

This was our eleventh stay at the hotel and our first after the all the improvements. I am a big fan of this hotel and although for the first time ever we had problems with the sickness bug we will return next year. Some of my opinions about the bug can be seen on the forum thread about Christmas at Los Gigantes.

So back to the hotel and all the changes, The reception area is now much improved and feels much more spacious. The balcony has been extended above the pool bar and in the evening the glass doors/windows can be opened or closed depending on the weather to extend the seating area in the main entertainment room which is now to the left of the main entrance.

The new entertainment room is a big improvement in my opinion because the stage is bigger and is not obscured by pillars to the extent that it was prior to the refurbishments. The lounge to the right of reception is spacious and comfortable.

The lifts now go down to the pool level and the pool bar is much better arranged and links to the sunbeds via a ramp that makes it accessible to wheelchairs directly from the four main lifts.

The fact that the hotel guests now include Scandinavians and other nationalities is also better in my opinion. The vast majority are still British. The entertainment is getting more organised and consists of a resident duo called Midnight Affair plus Matt who acts as a compere and does his own spot on Tuesday evening. There are also two people employed by Stil Hotels rather than Thomson who contribute to the daytime activities and do the 9.,30 quiz sometimes. The artists who appear at 10.00pm are as always a mixed bunch in every sense of the word.
A small 4 page booklet appears each week telling you of what activities Thomson provide and there is also a separate sheet of A4 size stuck to the wall telling you of what the Stil hotels people do in the daytime. It would be better if all this information was displayed on the old rotunda in reception.

Thomson guests are entitled to have free tea and coffee in their rooms although I had to contact reception when we arrived because it was not already in the room. There is no deposit on the kettle and we always had plenty of coffee, tea, sugar and milk provided by our maid. Our room was cleaned every day and we had clean towels left every day. The maid appeared between 10.00am and about 1.30pm. She did an excellent job. The safe does cost about 25 euros for the 2 weeks.

The food quality is the same as before the refurbishment and unlike some guests I had no problems with the new dining room. The area behind the show cooking is now more accessible and there is an outside area that means that more people can enjoy the view of the cliffs than previously. I never have any problems with the waiters who respond to being greeted and thanked in Spanish or English.
My one complaint is the new tea and coffee arrangements at breakfast because the old coffee pots have disappeared. You can get black or white coffee from the machine or brew your own decaff using the sachets.

There were always plenty of sunbeds available at either pool.

The bar service in the evening is much sharper than it was a few years ago and amazingly the bar prices have not increased since the refurbishment.

Outside the hotel the square across the road provides an excellent venue for morning coffee and the Highland Paddy, TJ's and Domingos are still popular with guests and have evening entertainment.

Room Tip: Sea views are spectacular and avoid the music from the nearby bars
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank surfmanSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Acantilado de los Gigantes
0.3 mi away
Royal Sun Resort
Royal Sun Resort
#1 of 3 in Los Gigantes
1,176 reviews
2.8 mi away
Gran Melia Palacio de Isora Resort & Spa
15.9 mi away
Spring Arona Gran Hotel
Spring Arona Gran Hotel
#4 of 14 in Los Cristianos
3,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ona El Marques
Ona El Marques
#1 of 3 in Santiago del Teide
286 reviews
0.7 mi away
Be Live Family Costa los Gigantes
Be Live Family Costa los Gigante...
#2 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
5,016 reviews
11.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Arecas
Hotel Riu Arecas
#13 of 80 in Adeje
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI SENSIMAR Los Gigantes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI SENSIMAR Los Gigantes

Property: TUI SENSIMAR Los Gigantes
Address: Calle Flor de Pascua, 8, 38683 Acantilado de los Gigantes, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Acantilado de los Gigantes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Acantilado de los Gigantes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — TUI SENSIMAR Los Gigantes 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your TUI SENSIMAR Los Gigantes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Gigantes Acantilado De
Los Gigantes Hotel Tenerife
Hotel Los Gigantes Tenerife
TUI SENSIMAR Los Gigantes Tenerife, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing