We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning setting, welcoming hosts, absolutely...”
other travelers have booked this property
Aerial view Grand Pierre
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Aerial view Grand Pierre
Cottage at Grand Pierre Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Aerial view Grand Pierre
Cottage at Grand Pierre
Kitchen
Kitchen / Diner leading to large partly covered terrace
Lounge to front door
Lounge leading to Kitchen and stairs to first floor bedroom
Downstairs bedroom, configured to your liking. With cot
Upstairs bedroom. With cot
Bathroom
Walk in shower
15m long swimming pool
Wander through the vines
View from Cottage terrace
Sunflowers on the Estate
Orchard in bloom
Weddings and functions at Grand Pierre
Weddings and functions at Grand Pierre
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Guest house -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Duras, Lot-et-Garonne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
hazelcata...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning setting, welcoming hosts, absolutely beautiful”
Reviewed August 23, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I and my partner were lucky enough to stay at Le Chateau Grand Pierre as wedding guests. The setting is absolutely stunning - part fairy tale, and entirely what you would expect if there were a picture next to 'French Vineyard' in a dictionary. Not only that, but Jackie & Nick could not have done more to make us feel welcome and cared for. The wedding and reception were actually held within the grounds and nothing was too much trouble to make the weekend go without a hitch. Thank you so much! A superb memory made!
Despite being set in great swathes of idyllic countryside the premises are easy enough to reach by hire car from Bergerac airport with supermarche en route and there are easily accessible picturesque villages/small towns nearby with night markets and quirky shops.

Date of stay: August 2016
Service
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 26, 2016
Thank you Hazel for your lovely comments. It was an absolute pleasure hosting Nadia and Bobs wedding and of course welcoming all their friends. It will certainly be a very happy lasting memory for Nick and I.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moira L
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect location”
Reviewed June 18, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Chateau Grand Pierre is the perfect location for a relaxing holiday and within easy reach of the sleepy little town of Duras. The property is set on a hill surrounded by the vineyard and with beautiful views of the surrounding countryside. The accommodation has every comfort one would wish for and Jackie and Nick were wonderful hosts. The wine they produce is of exceptional quality. We look forward to returning in the near future.

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Loved it all
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshirex
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise on a vineyard”
Reviewed July 3, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This is a great property in a lovely setting - on a vineyard - and Nick & Jackie are excellent hosts, as is their dog!

We had almost 2 weeks of sunshine whilst we were there, and made full use of the 15m pool - you could do a decent amount of swimming. The propery is very equipped, with a good size kitchen/diner which had just about everything we needed, and the welcome pack (which included some of their own wine), was very much appreciated.

The property is located about a 5-10 minute drive from the small town of Duras. In Duras there is a small castle, a couple of restaurants and bars, and they have their weekly market on a Monday morning. There is a reasonable boulangerie/patisserie, and a small Carrefour supermarket.

It takes just over an hour to get to Bordeaux, which is well worth a visit, and about another hour further one will get you to the coast at Archachon Bay - well worth the drive, especially if it hot.

We thoroughly enjoyed our holiday and would consider a return trip.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and the large pool
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff R
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Enchanting wedding and holiday escape”
Reviewed October 17, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We found Chateau Grand Pierre through our family that have a holiday home nearby. After deciding to have a wedding in the region 4 years before, we knew early on that we had not only found the venue, the location, and the setting, but we found the people in Nick and Jackie that would be perfect for the most paramount of occasions. We planned everything from a afar for months and never had a doubt that there was anything not considered, communicated, and planned throughout. And all this across timezones, and via email apart from a few effective visits whilst we were in the region. Nick and Jackie are the most welcoming and engaging people that you're likely to meet. Throughout all wedding and reception planning they made us feel as though our guests, our event, and all hospitality, were firmly in the palms of their hands. The creativity and execution with floral, decoration, catering, and logistics they displayed was without a doubt second to none. We were left to worry about our family (as you do), ourselves (as you should), and our special day (how do you not!) and nothing else from alpha to omega.

The flower arrangements Jackie provided were that of Vogue magazine. The grounds and preparations for all amenities and transportation were organised with expert precision. The catering and planning required were top notch on the day. We could not have had a better day than what we had without this place and more than that, these people. They made the day feel like we were one of their own and we truly felt like family!!! The planning of the bar, the delivery of canapes at the start, and the timings of the dinner were expertly executed. These are all of those little things you think about during and after and they anticipated to assuage in all aspects.

We stayed in the villa on site for the week with family (from the states) and loved it in every way. We found it as close as one could get to a family holiday home in the French countryside as one could get in style, grace, and sheer classiness. The villa comfortably slept, fed, and had space for six adults and a child for the week. We barbecued, cooked, sat outside and in, and held steady for the week in the lap of country luxury! The luxury, so as to not be overstated, lies in the wholly understated nature of what comes with this part of France and how even the simplicity of lying down in soft bedding takes you and allows you to drift even in the otherwise hectic wedding madness... This place achieves the balance of no stress with it's got to be perfect in a way that beggars belief!

Now, to the vines......... We sampled (and then some) all they had to offer from recent harvests and still brought some home to the UK as well. The reds are rich deep and with a hint of spice that is indicative of the region but with a refined taste that takes it up to a higher level. The white we had for the wedding was drank to the last and I think there's probably no better compliment one could deliver. We had a great pairing of red, rose, and white for the dinner and the service was impeccable.

In short, we could not imagine having a better wedding ceremony, come holiday with a better bunch of people. Chateau Grand Pierre will be a staple for the rest of our lives. We will return again and again to stay, drink, and see our new friends in Nick and Jackie for years to come. We've fallen in love with this place whilst celebrating how in love we are with each other. Whether for a holiday escape, a special occasion, or just a chance to enjoy this part of France.......... We can't say enough good things about this not so soon to be hidden gem of a place......

Geoff and Kate Riley

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Our hosts Nick and Jackie!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William S
Chesham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic location for exploring and relaxation”
Reviewed August 19, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Idyllic location, very safe and fun for children of all ages. Tennis court and (gated) swimming pool made it a challenge to extract the kids to do anything else. The house is beautiful and well appointed and ideally positioned to explore the area. Highly recommend a visit to Arcachon, Duras markets (day and night versions) and Bergerac, but definitely worth making time to simply chill out and soak up the sunshine with some fine Grand Pierre wines.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bunkojane
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Relaxing in the Dordogne”
Reviewed August 3, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Stayed for 2 glorious weeks in June. The cottage is extremely well equiped with a lovely welcome pack including wine, pâté and cheese....everything one could wish for after a long journey.
2 bedrooms to choose from both with very comfortable king sized beds with beautiful linen, extra single bed in the downstairs bedroom and cot available in the upstairs one.
Very large bathroom with large bath and walk in shower downstairs and another separate toilet was great when our family joined us for a weekend break.
The large swimming pool was a great place to relax with plenty of loungers, shade if needed and and set in a walled garden with views over the sunflower fields. The tennis court has a practise wall too.
The owners, Nick and Jackie were friendly and welcoming and gave us a vineyard tour, and suggested lots of interesting places we could explore and restaurants we could eat in. Good supermarkets in Duras approx 5-10 mins drive.
I would recommend this holiday rental to all age groups from families with young children to older retired people like ourselves. We are definitely going back next year!

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and location
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emmrussel...
London
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Spacious, tranquil, perfect with kids”
Reviewed July 15, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This is our second time here, it was even better than I remember. Really Wonderful hosts. ... Always on hand for advice... And to point you in the direction of a good restaurant. Fridge full of essentials on arrival. Beautiful home that always stays cool downstAirs. Set in beautiful surroundings , no passing trafic so it's wonderful for the kids being outside without having to panic about cars.Lovely clean Cool pool with picturesque views which is just what you want when it's hot.
I will be wanting a third trip here.

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Having a cool pool in the immense heat.
Liked least: There is NOTHING we didn't like.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing