We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful hotel - and an unexpected find.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Haut-Koenigsbourg
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Thannenkirch
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A delightful hotel - and an unexpected find.”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed one night in this pretty village. We were expecting a place to lay our weary heads arriving late on Sunday evening and were pleasantly surprised by this little gem.
The outside appearance of this hotel is very much in the pretty rustic style of the region. The garden is very pretty and the views of the woods and the gorgeous flora delightful. Parking is alongside.
This area is very beautiful and clean and the fresh air is wonderful. We could envisage a lovely holiday in this region for all ages. We could only spend one day touring so we will return again to do this area justice.
Inside the hotel is a beautiful quirky delight. Each room has been decorated simply but beautifully. The bed was super comfortable and the shower sublime. The hairdryer was powerful and had a nozzle attached - what a find!
We were treated with friendliness and encouraged to use the communal facilities as our home. This hotel has a very personal feel with a relaxed laid back atmosphere.
Breakfast was French/continental with a lovely range of jams/preserves. The breakfast room is welcoming and the food well presented. The little embellishments on the tables and around the hotel e.g the sweetie jar, make this a memorable place.
Communal space is limited but this is one small hotel which is perfectly formed!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    47
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
59
126
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Äänekoski
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Alsaca area, wine, nice countryside in a middle of nothing, one could say...Had a very pleasant stay in Thannenkirch and a delicious dinner in a nearby restaurant - the second last one in area. Fine landscape too. The hosts are wonderful and friendly, the breakfast best ever. Thanks a lot! Would like to come back some day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pentha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed at this beautiful hotel as a family. The hosts were wonderful and the atmosphere very welcoming. The decor was fabulously colourful and modern and yet fitted wonderfully in this old and historic building. The location is perfect for exploring and there is so much to see and do in the area. The countryside is gorgeous but the saty in this hotel really made our holiday special. Wonderful breakfast. 100% recommendation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bizzylizzywoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed for one night only on the way to the black forest and on the whole we would endorse the many other positive reviews. The only negative we feel worth mentioning is that, having tried and failed to get a table in 'Le Melkerhof', the hotel recommended an alternative restaurant called 'Le Rochamps' which having dined there; we wouldn't (though we would heartily recommend the hotels delicious breakfast). So we would definitely recommend staying at Le Haut Koenigsbourg, but also recommend booking a place at one of the restaurants covered by trip advisor well in advance!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeKelly486647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed in this hotel on our way back from Italy and we immediately decided that we need to come back: the rooms are beautiful, the hotel is situated in a nice village close to big Elzas tourist spots such as Ribeauville, you can walk to several good restaurants, you are surrounded by beautiful vineyards and old medieval castles and the breakfast in amazing! Fresh fruit, several breads, homemade jams, pancakes, little cakes, yoghurt,... it was really a treat and worth every penny. The hosts Steeve and Regine made everything even more perfect with their very warm, welcoming, professional and thoughtful approach (they even had dressed the breakfast table with hello kitty plates for our little girls, they loved it!). Absolutely great hotel to go to if you want to discover the fairytale villages of the elzas or enjoy the millions of wineries in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trips1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We concur with the other assessments of this lovely hotel. It is a very historic hotel dating back over 300 years but it has of course been fully modernized. Room was very clean, quiet and Steeve was so helpful in providing excellent guidance on what wineries to visit and what local restaurants to select. Breakfast was superb with local breads jams and many many other excellent selections- well worth the additional charge.

Room Tip: Room 1 seems to have a little extra room so book early but it is a very nice choice in a lovely vill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bowmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aartselaar
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at Hotel Haut-Koeningsbourg hotel, in early August and had a great time there. The Owners were very nice, friendly and helpful and always with a smile. The hotelroom was very nice, spotless clean and convenient, as were the other public places in the hotel. The breakfast was very very good and we found it definitely worth its money, A great variety of bread, different cheeses, ham, serials, sweet things like cakes and pancakes, (homemade?) jams which varied everyday day. Great eye for detail, with the napkins changing colour and the food nicely displayed, an example of how a breakfast should be.
We really had no complaints, but in hot periods, like we had, we think it might be better to ask for a room at the back which should be less exposed to the sun.

The village of Thannenkirch is not very lively but very suitable for travellers which want to have a quiet stay away from the busy toerist villages in the Elzas. There are a couple of good restaurants in the area. We especially enjoyed the Melkerhof great value for money(euro 70 for 2 persons; drink, starter, main dish, bottle of Elzas wine, coffee), but a little far to walk to. Also good was the somewhat more expensive(euro 110) La Meuniere. There are also some cheaper restaurants which are also ok.

With many thanks to the Owners, we will return...


Maggy and Jan
Belgium-Luxembourg

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thannenkirch
0.1 mi away
Le Clos des Sources
Le Clos des Sources
#1 of 2 in Thannenkirch
735 reviews
3.0 mi away
Qualys-Hotel Val-Vignes
Qualys-Hotel Val-Vignes
#1 of 3 in Saint-Hippolyte
244 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Au Lion
Hotel Restaurant Au Lion
#2 of 11 in Ribeauville
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Resort Barriere Ribeauville
Resort Barriere Ribeauville
#1 of 11 in Ribeauville
1,153 reviews
3.2 mi away
La Cour du Bailli Residence Hoteliere
4.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Le Schoenenbourg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Haut-Koenigsbourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Haut-Koenigsbourg

Property: Hotel Haut-Koenigsbourg
Address: 9 rue de Rodern, 68590 Thannenkirch, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Haut-Rhin > Thannenkirch
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Thannenkirch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Haut-Koenigsbourg 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to discover Alsace and stay in our charming Hotel Haut-Koenigsbourg combining modernity and antiquity, 10 minutes away from landmark Ribeauvillé : this 18th century house has been completely renovated to seduce you by its charm, calm and friendliness. Our nine rooms are modern and eclectic and dissimilar decoration was thought with taste for your pleasure.We make a point in welcoming our guests, their well-being and wishes. We offer Hotel quality in a bed and breakfast atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Haut-Koenigsbourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Haut-Koenigsbourg Thannenkirch, France - Alsace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing