We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Schiltigheim

“Best meal I’ve ever had ”

Restaurant S'Kastele
Ranked #2 of 101 Restaurants in Schiltigheim
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My friend and I discovered this hidden restaurant near our hotel on the outskirts of Strasbourg. We were blown away by how fantastic our meals were. Not only was our veal meatballs and chicken cordin bleu amazing, but all of the meals other people were having looked incredible. The service was very welcoming, especially the young waitress. The meal was so good we went again for our second night in Strasbourg. I would even travel from Paris for the day just to eat here! The portions sizes are huge so make sure you come here on an empty stomach. By far the best restaurant I have ever been to in my life.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank mitchell_devine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alainh516, Propriétaire at Restaurant S'Kastele, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

bonjour
merci pour votre visite et votre commentaire
au plaisir
salutations
sabine amélie et alain
merci pour la serveuse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (561)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 561 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My friend and I dined in this restaurant, hidden in the outskirts of Strasbourg, and absolutely loved it. The atmosphere of the restaurant was very welcoming and warm it looked and felt very authentic. The waitresses were lovely, particularly the young woman who served - she was working hard yet still managed to smile and make us feel welcomed. The meals were incredible and delicious, with both my friend and I deeming it the best meal we’ve had in Europe. The portions were also very generous, you should be very hungry in order to finish the entire meal. We liked it so much we returned for our second night! Overall, a great experience, would definitely dine again if I’m in Strasbourg.

Date of visit: January 2020
2  Thank anthony_bejj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alainh516, Propriétaire at Restaurant S'Kastele, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

bonjour
merci pour votre visite et votre commentaire
au plaisir
merci pour les filles de service
salutations
sabine et alain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2019

We were looking for a restaurant with a nice terrase, somewhere where both we, our guests from abroad and our two year old would feel comfortable, and 's Kaestele fitted the bill perfectly. They serve traditional tarte flambees, but also interesting rustic Alsatian food which you don't find in many restaurants in Strasbourg. The fAlsatian pasta dishes we had were delicious, absolutely to die for, and the portions were more than generous. The service was not lightning fast, but the aperitifs and the free dishes with olives and pickles made the waiting time go fast. We felt really welcome at the restaurant, the atmosphere was fantastic and our server, a young woman, was very friendly and welcoming although we could see she was working very hard (we were there in the evenign and the restaurant was full). Definitely a place we'll be going back to often!!

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank froeken_snork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alainh516, Propriétaire at Restaurant S'Kastele, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2019
Google Translation

bonjour
merci pour votre visite et votre commentaire
au plaisir
salutations
sabine et alain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2019

We went with two friends to this small restaurant tucked away in a street in Schiltigheim on a Tuesday evening for dinner. The waitress was friendly and helpful and spoke a little English. The food was excellent put the portions are huge. You need a big appetite to eat here and we are pleased that we didn’t have a starter.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Demeterking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alainh516, Propriétaire at Restaurant S'Kastele, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2019
Google Translation

bonjour
merci pour votre visite et votre commentaire
au plaisir
salutations
sabine et alain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2019

My wife and I came here without a reservation one night. We were on the early side for France - about 7 pm. We were able to be seated right away, but the restaurant was full within 30 minutes of our arrival. My wife ordered the Alsatian salad with was huge, incredible well presented, and delicious! I had a Noodlehof with was also huge and very, very good! We had 100 cl of a very good Reisling with our meal as well. Total bill came to 59.50 euros, which I consider a steal for a bottle and a third of very good wine and two entrees. If we are ever back in the are, we will definitely make reservations!

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank 316christopherw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alainh516, Propriétaire at Restaurant S'Kastele, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2019
Google Translation

bonjour
merci pour votre visite et votre commentaire
au plaisir
salutations
sabine et alain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant S'Kastele also viewed

 
Strasbourg, Bas-Rhin
Strasbourg, Bas-Rhin
 
Schiltigheim, Strasbourg
 

Been to Restaurant S'Kastele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing