We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, otherwise disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Santa Cristina
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Canfranc
Certificate of Excellence
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good location, otherwise disappointing”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Having stayed twice here before, we thought we would give it another try. A bit of a disappointment - the meal was unexciting and the staff seemed disenchanted.
The room was clean and quiet but the rest seemed more like a
"pilgrims' rest" rather than a hotel in a prime location at the start of the Somport crossing of the
Pyrenees.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babyboomer1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    108
    28
    5
    4
See reviews for
96
130
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stirlingshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

large well appointed rooms this 3 star hotel punches way above that. Bathrooms are modern and stylish. Lobby area is a bit dark and gloomy and the outside could do with a bit of a tidy up, but its not that bad. Terrace is great to relax on and there are plenty chairs and table for use. Eating in the restaurant was great. The food at dinner was fantastic and well worth the money. Breakfast buffet is great too. Good location for touring around the local area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hamishhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My family and I stayed at the hotel for an extended ski weekend, including two small kids. The place is warm and cosy, rooms are spacious and nicely furnished. The hotel has a fire place, perfect for reading or resting after skiing having a drink, and also a livingroom where kids (and grown-ups!) can play games or watch TV without bothering the rest of clients. Dinner is very good, with a simple and neat menu which dishes have a traditional home-made taste. Breakfast is average. Staff are friendly and commited.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santacristinahotel, Owner at Hotel Santa Cristina, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you very much for telling your experience at Santa Cristina Hotel.

We love to know that you enjoyed your skiing days, our facilities, ambient, restaurant and staff.

We hope to see you again. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
163 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I stayed with my family in early August for two nights. Pyrenees stunning at that time. The hotel is very nice and whilst not quite as grand as the photos suggest is really a great place to be based at. The rooms are clean and spacious and the bathroom fab. The Spa is small but fine. The staff are friendly and and efficient. Breakfast is great as is the bar - dinner is very rural Spanish and so might not be to all tastes, it is not gourmet its very rustic. It is good but stick to simple dishes.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dobehave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
155 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2010

Our room was nice and quiet and roomy, with a nice view of the mountains. The lady at check-in was nice. The dinner, however, was quite bad. The salad and one of the entrees were so mushy and bad looking that they were barely edible. The breakfast was passable, although they never bothered to heat up the water for tea, and we had to ask to get the juice machine to work. The keyboard on the free (but terribly slow) Internet computer was so filthy that I felt wary of using it. When you enter the hotel, the smell of smoke from the smoking room is very strong. When we showered, we couldn't remove the tops of the shower gel or shampoo. Basically, this hotel seemed just poorly managed to us.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaliforniaElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

We had a one night stop on the way from Spain to France and after a long day travelling the hotel was exactly what we needed. Set in a beautiful location in the Pyrennees, the hotel has a relaxed feel and the staff were friendly and welcoming. The room was perfect for an overnight stay, comfortable and clean with lots of extra pillows and there was free access to the hotel's spa facilities if required. (Will we ever find a Spanish or French hotel with tea/coffee making facilities in the room?) We were advised to book for dinner, which we did, and were impressed by the charming dining room, with views across the valley and interesting wine bottles round the walls. The food was so poor that it was amusing rather than annoying, average tasting, microwaved on plates and served at a breathtaking pace. Such a shame as breakfast the following morning was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mart146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2010

The staff here are very helpful. The room was nothing special but it did have a great view. We didn't use the gym or spa but it did look enticing. Breakfast was average but the dinners were excellent and very good value.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ziglynda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canfranc
1.0 mi away
Hotel&Spa Real Villa Anayet
13.0 mi away
Apartahotel & Spa Jacetania
10.6 mi away
El Privilegio de Tena
El Privilegio de Tena
#1 of 1 in Tramacastilla de Tena
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Candanchu
Hotel Candanchu
#1 of 3 in Candanchu
99 reviews
14.4 mi away
Eurostars Reina Felicia
13.0 mi away
Hotel Real Golf & Spa Badaguas Jaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Cristina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Cristina

Property: Hotel Santa Cristina
Address: Road to Astun-Candanchu N330a | Road to France N330a Km. 669, 22880 Canfranc, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Aragon > Province of Huesca > Canfranc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Canfranc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Santa Cristina 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique hotel in the Pyrenees, to enjoy the quietness of the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Santa Cristina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Cristina Spain/Canfranc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing