We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,089)
Filter reviews
3,090 results
Traveler rating
1,561
936
371
134
88
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,561
936
371
134
88
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river monte perdido excellent hotel beautiful building spa circuit the main road swimming pool only downside public spaces renovated monastery road trip lovely location great spa newer part below average buffet breakfast rooms are large
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 3,090 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

WHATS 5 STARS ?
* Rooms - very pretty and very good.
* The building itself and its original character (although the owners made a mess of the styling destroying the harmony - more on that later)
* dining room
* service and friendly personnel

WHATS NOT 5 STARS...
* SPA is small and not worth the price at all, as you will be paying 23 euros as a guest plus 4 euros for head cover if you don't bring your own.
* POOL gets closed on the 14th of September. We have been there for 3 days and it was 30 degrees each day. There were 20 people sitting around the pool on lounge chairs just waiting to jump in. Seriously - which 5 star hotel closes its main pool on the 14th of Sept while its still summer ? Quite frankly - unacceptable at this level.
* BREAKFAST - 12 Euros per person for a breakfast which is no more then 4 stars. Its basically just purchased meat, cheese, muesli, bread, dairy and that's it. There is no art of preparation or any fancy chef inventions that you will find in a 5 star breakfast and you will not find anything 'expensive' either - not even salmon in this menu. If you were to compare it to a breakfast in a resort style accommodation in canary islands for example, then this would be somewhere around 3.5 stars. So, the breakfast is a disappointment. My guess is that most people stay in this hotel for a day or two passing by on their tour, so, the hotel does not care - but in that case, the price should reflect the quality. You won't go hungry, but if you have expected a 5 star breakfast, get a ready for a huge disappointment.
* Why is the breakfast in a rather gloomy cellar instead of the incredibly pretty restaurant ? Whatever the reason, its not possible to enjoy the breakfast in a cellar with no natural light.
* There is not much to do in the hotel. Its just a hotel but the area around the hotel has not been cultivated. There is so much potential there, and yet, all you get is a few chairs, some synthetic grass and that's about it.

HOTEL CHARACTER - THIS IS JUST WRONG...

The hotel decorator made a total mess of the decorations. How can you have a STUNNING medieval monastery building and then decorate it with Polynesian / Rapa Nui statues, sculptures, artefacts while at the same time attempt to match it up with modern abstract paintings ? What does a medieval spanish culture got to do with rapa nui gods ? Is it really that difficult to create something local and authentic ? King Alfonso of Aragon left a huge legacy of Templar history and this is what this place should be showing - its proud spanish and medieval history and not Polynesian statues - some of them are just scary and ugly to be honest - please, see the photos for yourself. So, in my opinion , as much as I like polynesian culture, this is just wrong and it needs to be addressed.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank paul658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Monasterio, Director General at Barcelo Monasterio de Boltana, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear guest,

We greatly appreciate the time spent reviewing your recent experience at our hotel, at Barceló we always strive to exceed the expectations of our customers. Your comment will help our team achieve that goal.

In particular, I am very pleased that you had a chance to truly enjoy our warm hospitality. We do pride ourselves in providing personalized service to meet the individual requirements of our guests. 

We do our utmost to ensure that our guests can enjoy an enriching dining expérience in an unrivaled setting and with an excellent service. Our restaurant team will continue working to surprise you with delicious international and local dishes on your next visit.

Our pool service is 100% confirmed in the months of July and August,
When we are in the Pyrenees area, in June and September the temperature changes from one day to another, are very variable, we apologize, for the inconvenience, that the closure of the service may have cause them.

We are sorry to read your dissatisfaction about the design in our hotel,

We hope this does not prevent you from staying with us again and we hope to receive you again in a future a more positive experience, just as it should have been.

Sincerely,

The direction
Barceló Monastery of Boltaña

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Spacious rooms, enormous breakfast, beautiful old architecture with a modern touch. Lots of laydown space on the bath? And the shower was not too complicated

Large dining room - we had a group dinner that was very good.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Monophoto-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2019

The location and rooms are lovely. However, the fellow who took our food and wine order during dinner seemed to dislike Americans. He assumed I wanted my steak cooked medium and I corrected him ordering it medium rare. He didn’t seem to listen so I repeated myself. It came out over cooked- I returned it. It came out rare but a very poor quality. He was quite dismissive and condescending. It was a disappointing experience.

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
Thank janicepinterics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Monasterio, Director General at Barcelo Monasterio de Boltana, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear guest,

We greatly appreciate the time spent reviewing your recent experience at our hotel, at Barceló we always strive to exceed the expectations of our customers. Your comment will help our team achieve that goal.

At Barcelo we always strive to make meals one of the best experiences among us and we truly regret your disappointment with our menu and although it has been studied so as to guarantee a varied assortment of dishes prepared with local products to please the most demanding palates, we will not fail to share your comments with our Executive Chef for information and further revision.

We hope this does not prevent you from staying with us again and we hope to receive you again in a future a more positive experience, just as it should have been.

Sincerely,

The direction
Barceló Monastery of Boltaña

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2019 via mobile

Amazing hotel in a renovated monastery
The spa was good although I expected the water to be warmer
Massage was great
Beautiful pool
Really good breakfast for 12€
Complimentary champagne in lobby and at breakfast
Great location in the Pyrenees near Ainsa

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank JohnnysGoodLifeTips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Monasterio, Director General at Barcelo Monasterio de Boltana, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2019

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

Moreover we are glad you enjoyed the beauty of our pool area as well as the comfort of our sunbeds

It is also good to know that you enjoyed the many culinary delights prepared by our professional Chefs who always strive to offer a wide variety of typical delights in order to please all palates and we thank you for letting us know that we could conquer yours.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Regards,


Barceló Monasterio de Boltaña

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2019

beautiful setting. Needs more staff, waiters aren't the friendliest bunch to say the least. Breakfast is very very understaffed and is definitely sub standard for a 5 star hotel. And lets not even begin talking about dinner... Honestly, much potential, a pity. Rooms are quite nice, standard business hotel rooms.

Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BenjaminBKK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Monasterio, Manager at Barcelo Monasterio de Boltana, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2019

Dear guest,

We appreciate you reaching out on Tripadvisor to notify us of your concerns related to your recent stay at our Barceló Monasterio de Boltaña hotel.

Please be assured your comments regarding the service you received during mealtimes has been discussed with our Maître so as to prevent these kind of situations to reoccur in the future and we sincerely apologize for failing to meet your expectations on this occasion.

With regard to the number of staff members for the service, we are pleased to inform you that these ratios were calculated using studies based on our occupancy, average stay, rates and other data. We appreciate your feedback and will take it into consideration.

Moreover, we would like to thank you for pointing out the setting and our rooms.

As a close-knit team, we are collectively committed to providing our guests with a superb experience. Our reputation and high return guest ratio attests that we usually get it right, so it is distressing not to have been able to in your case, for which we again apologize. 

Best regards,

The Hotel Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews