We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barcelo Monasterio de Boltana
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boltana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 31, 2013

After getting a call that morning from our original hotel that it was under water, and subsequently finding many roads across the mountains closed due to flooding, we found ourselves in Boltana. Many hotels in the area looked awful (and shut) but stumbled across this place which lifted our spirits after a day struggling to get anywhere.

Smart hotel with spa on outskirts of town, converted from a monastery with rooms in newer part of building. Surprisingly large rooms, with queen sized bed; very clean and well maintained. Restaurant was OK but nothing stand out; had better and paid less elsewhere. Breakfast was included in our rate and well worth it; haven't seen that much food at breakfast since I visited the US. The staff were welcoming, there's free onsite parking and the hotel itself is a wonderful building.

Not sure what the review that mentions this is "not suitable for someone self-driving across the pyrenees" is all about; if like us you've spent the day in a car this is just the place to unwind in.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaun D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

85 - 91 of 2,141 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and ate in the restaurant both evenings. Although we paid for the room with Tesco vouchers (prior to the stay) we were treated the same as any other guests which is a pleasant change from some British hotels. We’d checked Tripadvisor reviews prior to booking and had upgraded to a Superior room with a view over the river to the old town and the mountains. The room was huge with an equally huge bed and the bathroom was large too.

We booked for the restaurant when we checked in and cannot fault the meals. The service in both the restaurant and at reception was very good and some of the restaurant staff speak excellent English; those on reception all do.

The hotel grows a lot of its own fruit and vegetables and as a Spa hotel it also offers a health low calorie set menu - we didn’t partake ! The evening set menu was €24 and the wines started off at a reasonable price. The head waiter recommended a local wine which was not expensive and was so good we chose it again for the second night.

The breakfast buffet was incredible. We’ve seen cava at Spanish breakfast buffets before but not red wine nor a chocolate fountain ! I kid you not ! The rest of the spread was amazing too with hot food, cold meats and cheeses, all sorts of baked goods, fruits, dairy items and a wide range of non-alcoholic drinks.

We would certainly stay again, even if we had to pay full price but taking into account some other reviews would suggest that people book the superior room if they can afford to.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rojanich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

My first thought was what an extremely large hotel this is, but it never seemed at all crowded. The shower was probably what I will remember the most, it was brilliant with four different settings, more like a spa shower! We were in 2014 and didnt have the promised view to either river or mountains, only a car park, but it was quiet, the window opened and unusually in my recent experience, the air con actually worked very well. The decor in the hotel is very odd, ghastly splodgy brightly coloured paintings, pink and white stripes in the breakfast room and a vaugely african theme of artefacts dotted about the vast deserted public spaces. There is a spa but I refused to pay upwards of 20 euros per hour to use it. The worst aspect to the room is that there is no mirror at all apart from in the bathroom, let alone a full-length - a room designed by a man? Excellent black out blinds at the large window.
First class service and food in the restaurant at dinner, breakfast to a civilised 11am included a chocolate fountain and chocolate muffins.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fourviolets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

but not 5 star..... a very good standard 4 star would be nearer the mark. We stayed in an apartment separate from the main hotel, which was comfortable and well furnished, but it does mean a short walk across to the hotel. Great spa and we enjoyed dinner in the restaurant. Only downside, there were two weddings in the hotel during our stay, and these functions virtually take over - even difficult to get a drink in the bar as the staff are all busy with the wedding.

Room Tip: Stay in the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicegirl82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We were a day late for our arrival due to an illness. The staff graciously allowed us to change our booking without any penalties. When we arrived we found champagne and cookies in our room. Our room was so clean and comfortable. We could not have felt more welcomed.

We had a nice meal in the restaurant,but not so great drinks in the bar.

The prices were reasonable we would return if in the area

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lejcdoolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Well the hotel is 5 star - an old monetary rebuilt as a 350 rooms hotel ,out of town 
So if you are looking for a  vacation with  expensive spa this  Hotel might be  for you ,
But if you are self driving in the Pyerenees or crossing northern Spain this hotel is defenetly not for you !
The rooms have very small window ,we were lucky to have a terrace ,so small ,that fits one chair The dinner is in a very fancy restaurant  highly priced  ,the food is bellow average .!!!
I suggest when you plan the trip ,look for towns near by ,like Broto  or Torla have a small typical hotel that when you open up the window you can listen to the river sound and stroll in an old town ,you can find the information in "trip advisor"Most travel agents will recommend you this Monastery And google will pop up this hotel in any place you try near by
As it is so big they have to occupy the hotel,I am sorry I booked this hotel for two nights

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Mikmak48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This is a stunning building which has been beautifully converted to a very nice hotel. It's in a stunning area and is well placed to get out and about. We booked in advance through Trivago and paid less for this than we did for some 2 star properties in France.

The spa and gym were great and very well equipped. The outside pool area is very peaceful and relaxing with plenty of loungers.

We stayed in one of the villa/cottages purely because you got extra space. They are spacious, well decorated and very comfortable indeed.

We ate in the restaurant one night and had room service the second night. Both were very good value for money and I would recommend them. The restaurant was a three course meal. Despite being busy the service was quick, friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northerngirl121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boltana
2.8 mi away
Hotel & SPA Pena Montanesa
3.5 mi away
Hotel Sanchez
Hotel Sanchez
#1 of 9 in Ainsa
201 reviews
16.9 mi away
Parador de Bielsa
Parador de Bielsa
#1 of 3 in Bielsa
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Los Siete Reyes
Los Siete Reyes
#3 of 9 in Ainsa
193 reviews
17 mi away
Silken Ordesa
Silken Ordesa
#3 of 4 in Torla
331 reviews
15.4 mi away
Hotel El Mirador
Hotel El Mirador
#1 of 3 in Broto
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Monasterio de Boltana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Monasterio de Boltana

Address: Diseminado Afueras s/n, 22340 Boltana, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Aragon > Province of Huesca > Boltana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Boltana
Price Range: $81 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Barcelo Monasterio de Boltana 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Barcelo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Monasterio de Boltana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Hotel Huesca
Monasterio De Boltana Barcelo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing