We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasteful & Classy - The Best of Spain!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El CastaNar Nazari

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
El CastaNar Nazari
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Busquistar
Certificate of Excellence
Davis, California, United States
Level Contributor
183 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Tasteful & Classy - The Best of Spain!”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Very gracious hosts Felix and Encarna have a beautiful lodge-like setting. We felt pampered with the quality of French soap, linens and decorative and classy tableware. The breakfasts were homemade, generous and wonderfully prepared. The fact that Encarna had attended a culinary academy was evident in her meal presentations. Felix is an accomplished photographer and shows his work in Grenada and other cities. We enjoyed wine with the couple in their pergola and shared our hiking experiences. They were most helpful with hiking recommendations in the Sierra Nevada. They also recommended the local restaurant La Fragua and we liked it so much, we returned there all 3 evenings. Their hospitality was broadened even further when they provided us a very thorough written list of their recommendations for Barcelona – from coffee shops, ice cream, cocktails and restaurants (La Flauta is highly recommended). During our stay the couple received their “Excellent” rating certificate from Trip Advisor and our experience here confirms the worthiness of their award. This was our best hotel stay in our 5-week stay in Spain.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riel_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
224
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2012

The couple running this small hotel is very nice, charming, and very helpful. We didn't read any review here or elsewhere before we stopped there so we just chose the place spontaneously. The nature is beautiful and the view is stunning. The hotel is located near Trévelez what is probably the most charming village in Sierra Nevada. This was our best stay in Spain.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Engeor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

First of all thanks to the previous reviews which led to our staying at the El Castanar in early June 2012.
Imagine being not so young anymore and having a tough work year behind you and wanting to enjoy some time in the mountains hiking and relaxing, before facing the heat and crowds of Granada, without having to stay in mountain hostels or hiker hotels.
After driving down a winding road and up a hill, you arrive at an attractive brick building with lots of land and trees, a gazebo, and a lovely old courtyard. Your guest room (one of 5) is large and impeccably clean, furnished with good taste, and the bath is incredibly well-appointed and also really large. From the windows, or stepping out on the balcony ringing the rooms, you see the mountains before you. At breakfast you are asked if everything is ok and if you need anything else. In the evening, after a long walk in the mountains, you sit with a cold drink on the sofas in the gazebo, feeling the breeze, and looking at the mountains. It is quiet. It is perfect.
Felix (our host because Encarna was away on business, but who left us a welcoming note) took great care of us. We (my husband even more than me since a lot of Spanish was spoken) enjoyed our conversations with him, sharing travel tales and photos, and listening to good music. The dogs and funny parrot contributed to the personal, friendly atmosphere. You get as much help as you need and as much privacy as you want. I can´t wait to visit again in another season.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PamMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2012

In may 2012 we spend 5 nights in Hotel El Castañar Nazari.
This lovely hotel in the Alpujarras combines the luxury of a Grand Hotel with the personal touch of a B&B. It is the perfect base to explore the mountains of the Sierra Nevada. The hotel has only 5 rooms which assures maximal attention. The rooms are really big and well equipped with a huge bed, a spacy bathroom and a good sofa with flatscreen TV. The interior shows a very tasteful and personal touch and there are supplies for disabled people. Breakfast is excellent., there is a minibar in the Comedor. The owners pay very much attention to their guests and do the utmost best to make you feel comfortable. They can provide you with a lot of information for trips and visits in the Alpujarras. This hotel is situated a few kilometers outside of Trevélez, the starting point of many walks an trekings, even to the top of the Mulhacen. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benniebooi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bubbenhall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We have a place on the Costa del Sol. When we visit we like to visit different areas of our second country whilst we were there. This time we were looking for somewhere special - and boy did we find it!
It has all been said by previous visitors but our hosts Encarna and Felix and their beautiful enterpise deserve it being said again. I wanted something for my partner, Penny, to take her and us out of the "ordinary". Castanar Nazari itself and its location are equally stunning. Their hospitality creates an instant friendship and attention to their guests.The log fire that we found in our room after we retturned from dinner in Trevelez was thoughtful icing on an already superb "cake".
It will all be forever in our memory.
Tony Sproul, Warwickshire, UK. April 2012.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

This is a lovely rural hotel which feels more like a large B&B rather than a 'hotel'. The atmosphere is totally laid back and not stuffy. The owners (Felix and ??) are really accommodating and definitely go out of their way to be of help in every possible way. The accommodation is spotlessly clean and the rooms are large. On a cold evening the log burner was lit prior to our return from Trevelez where we had dinner - a very welcome personal touch. Breakfasts are very fresh and taken in a breakfasting room which is beautifully decorated with a huge log burning fire. The views are superb and Trevelez - famous for the best iberican ham is a 10 minute car journey away. i would recommend this hotel for long 'walking' weekends, week-end getaways and romantic breaks. May not suit children because of the long car journey to get there and the lack of 'child friendly activities' in the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenskiers60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Unfortunately we spent only one night at this beatutiful, special hotel. The owners are very friendly, talkative, ready to help the guests with information.
The view is wonderful!!! The rooms are huge. The breatfast was rich. The dogs are funny:)
We recommend this place to everyone!

Room Tip: every room has a wonderful view over the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csanadmatting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Busquistar
12.6 mi away
Alcadima Hotel
Alcadima Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lanjaron
304 reviews
18.7 mi away
La Almunia del Valle
La Almunia del Valle
#1 of 9 in Monachil
380 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Villa de Bubion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Mecina Fondales Hotel
Mecina Fondales Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mecina Fondales
81 reviews
5.1 mi away
Finca los Llanos
Finca los Llanos
#1 of 3 in Capileira
217 reviews
9.8 mi away
Puerta Nazari
Puerta Nazari
#2 of 3 in Orgiva
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El CastaNar Nazari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El CastaNar Nazari

Property: El CastaNar Nazari
Address: Carretera a-4132 Km 39, 9 | Granada, 18416 Busquistar, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Busquistar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Busquistar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — El CastaNar Nazari 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your El CastaNar Nazari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing