We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in great location for mountains”
Review of Hotel Alte Post

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Alte Post
Ranked #2 of 4 Wassen B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights whilst cycling in Switzerland. Wassen is quite a pretty village nestled on the hillsides of the Gotthard pass approach to Andermatt. was incredibly busy when we arrived but were able to get into our room a bit early with minimum fuss. Room was small but perfectly OK, clean and comfortable. I'm a light sleeper so did here a few trains rumbling through in the night.
Restaurant has good food and plenty of it, nice atmosphere and good service. We cycled up to the top of Gotthard pass which is spectacular although the road was busy even in mid September.
We also tackled the fabulous Furkha pass and looked at the Grimsel, amazing roads in incredible scenery. Was a bit pricey but that's more to do with being in Switzerland than a reflection on the Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mountain_Bike_Rider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 74 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

Very friendly and good price/quality. Well situated hotel and very near to the Gotthard tunnel. We had a nice stay and we had dinner in the hotel. Very friendly staff! We stayed only for one night but a longer journey would have been nice.

Room Tip: We had a family room (4 persons). Enough space,clean, OK!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Guy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I’ve been in Wassen Hotel Alte Post only for one night during a business trip with arrival late in the evening and leaving early the morning after.
The Hotel is anyway very nice, rooms are simple but comfortable and clean.
Bathroom are a little too small and in contrast with the rest of the room since has been clearly built in a second step.
The staff is very kind and friendly and they prepared for us a late dinner without any problem.
Breakfast is with limited choices but good for the essential food.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alfa1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

The last twelve years we've stayed several (5-6?) times in Alte Post and it's always fine. It's an older but well maintained building, and the restaurant is also used by the local villagers and roadworkers, that is always a good sign.
There is a garage for bicycles and motorcycles, and the food is very good (try the Rosti Urner Art!).
The staff is friendly and helpfull, even some travellers that came in after 22:15 could get a warm meal.

We will absolutly go back.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harri75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Cosy hotel on transit of our holiday. Near the Gotthardtunnel.
Family who runs the hotel were very helpfull and friendly.
Our room was big enough with a large bed.
We also had diner in the evening. It was excellent.
Breakfast in the morning was good.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank limburgwereldburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
Thank Personnal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
1  Thank hab0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wassen hotels
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Krone
#4 of 4 in Wassen
11 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gerig
Hotel Gerig
#1 of 4 in Wassen
69 reviews
0 mi away
Gotthard Backpacker
Gotthard Backpacker
#3 of 4 in Wassen
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alte Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alte Post

Address: Gotthardstrasse 71, Wassen 6484, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Uri > Wassen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wassen
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alte Post 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Alte Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing