We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unusual”
Review of Swiss Chalet Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Swiss Chalet Lodge
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Merlischachen
Bishops Stortford
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Unusual”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

An odd hotel. It reminds me of something Disney would have created in EPCOT but here, not done so well. Dark bedroom straight out of an old movie with strange portraits on the walls, and armour and weapons on display in the public spaces. The bathroom was fine. Bit of a novelty/tourist hotel. OK for one night, but some distance from the main town. Overall, though, still a good hotel.

We used the restaurant opposite, which is part of the hotel complex. Food was fair if quite expensive for the quality - even for Switzerland. If returning to Lucerne - which we hope to do, as it is a wonderful place to visit - we would probably try to find somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woldwidetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    82
    32
    19
    13
See reviews for
64
112
3
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cloudbase
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Arrived to find nobody on reception (in the older wooden building) - you have to telephone internally. Somewhat grudgingly, a guy in a suit appeared after several minutes and hurriedly took us to a room up two very narrow, steep flights of wooden steps (with no offfer of assistance with our luggage) and again, hurriedly showed us a dingy dark room, basically pointed in the direction of the en-suite without turning on the light and was clearly not going to entertain any form of guest assessment for approval. We turned our backs and he had gone, leaving us to sort out the rudimentaries of finding out about the hotel and its facilities. Clearly other reviewers have had a somewhat different experience and with that in mind, we decided to "give the benefit of the doubt".

In hindisght this was a mistake. The ensuite was out of the ark, 1970s or older and, whilst functional, was in poor general condition given that we paid around SF 134 (around £95), money taken in advance and non-refundable!! It's fairly obvious why. The main light-fitting was hanging out of the ceiling, the heater had no obvious on/off mechanism, the creaking floorboards in adjacent rooms kept us awake, that was after the smoke detector had gone off at least two dozen times during the night (someone really allowed to smoke in a timber building full of residents??? Unglaublich..as they say)

We didn't fancy the restaurant (prices) and managed to find a charming pub in the next village - Küssnacht which has far more going on than Merlischachen. The only other eaterie in Merlischachen is the pizza house next door.

We were only at this hotel one night and given that the beds were worse than army issue camp-beds (we both woke with terrible back-ache) plus some sort of bug/insect bites acquired during the night, it was perhaps a blessing. We can't recommend this hotel and will not be returning, despite the ample breakfast (although a request for a decent cup of coffee at breakfast ruffled a few feathers). Be careful if you happen to stay at the same time as any large groups, as the breakfast room is quite compact (we were elbowed out of the way by a hoard of your adults - Trip Advisor "Terms of Use" prevent further explanatory notes/guidance - at the breakfast buffet under the watchful gaze of ?trainee waiters - well, a couple of guys in waistcoats who appeared to speak Indian, Swiss but no English.)

We should have complained as we clearly did not have the sort of experience other reviewers have had and on which we based our decision to stay here. We were just glad to be on our way. There was even nobody to check us out. We felt pretty much like an inconvenience...obviously other paying guests there had more to offer than a middle-aged couple having an overnight stop.

Give it a miss.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel or take plenty of spending cash, your own pillow, mattress and bite-cream.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 7captainscarlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieuwegein, Nederland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The hotel consists of two buildings. The main building is 300 years old, complete with squeeking wooden floors and low ceilings, which gives it a charming quality. The other building seems to be newer and is bordering the lake. There is a terrace near the lake for hotel guests. The restaurant has entertainment: we witnessed a violin player and a yodeling lady. Quite fun. Staff is friendly. We were in this hotel for 1 night, on our way from Netherlands to Italy.

Room Tip: When reserving, choose one of the buildings of which this hotel consists.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RolandV030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel actually consists of several different places: comfortable main building with reception at the lakeside, older and cheaper old 'chalet' with restaurant across the road, exclusive Jagdschloss and yet another place set aside in the village. As a special offer (as advertised in the reception), there're even several rather bizarrely furnished rooms, well beyond the border of kitch.

We spend several nights in the chalet. Although our room was in the back part of the building, thus isolated from the noise of the road, I can confirm that the inner walls aren't soundproof at all. Our room was full of creaks and sounds from upstairs and neighboring rooms. The furniture was old-fashioned, we found the beds too soft and uncomfortable.

The breakfasts were rich and tasty, as well as the meals offered in the restaurant, both inside and outside. We also enjoyed the well equipped private beach with the service and the inner pool and nice modern sauna.

Hotel's location is suitable for sightseeing car or boat trips to Luzern, Riggi, Pilatus and other attractive places. The lake and its environment is simply enchanting.

The reception staff was attentive and professional. The rooms are overall not cheap but the prices are pretty competitive according to Swiss standard.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed at the Swiss-Chalet for one night and it was beautiful. We were lucky to get an upgrade to the Honeymoon suite and the suite was amazing and so romantic. The bed is very soft so this could be a problem if you are use to a harder mattress but for one night, we thought it was fine. The staff were very helpful, even walking us across the road to show us the room. (We checked in at the Schloss Hotel across the road). We dined at the restaurant downstairs and the food was so delicious although slightly on the expensive side but that is to be expected for quality food. I would definitely stay at the Swiss-Chalet again and recommend it, it is such a beautiful destination and with easy transport routes to Luzern.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Our group of 5 traveling throughout Europe took a trip into Switzerland to Merlischachen, At the border the customs agent told us we would not need a vignette as long as we did not travel on the autobahn so we took the scenic roads from Germany and Black Forest to Switzerland. We stayed at this chalet and chose it due to the value comared to others in Lake Lucerne area. We made a good decision. They upgraded us to the apartment rooms and we got a great value even better. Had our meal in their restaurant and had great food and great service. Got advice on taking the boat the next morning into Lucerne on a roudtrip basis so we did not have to take the car into the city. The hotel is topnotch, clean, and great views of the lake. I highly recommend it for these qualities and for location into Lucerne. A great breakfast served outside each morning as well.

Room Tip: Get the room facing the lake otherwise the hourly train will keep you awake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charleyb3009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rome
Level Contributor
334 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I've been here only one night but it was special. I had booked at the swiss chalet but they upgraded me at the schloss.. beautiful room, spacious, clean, with a small balcony over the park that ends on the lake. You can also go on the lake side, with grass, a bar and a kids play area. The breakfast, very good, is served in the chalet just opposite the street, where you can also have dinner. Parking available. The location is beautiful but there isn't so much to do.. you have to drive a little to find a town..The schloss is beautiful, with portraits on the walls, wooden pavements.. of course it's not cheap, but for me was a special occasion. Just one thing:the restaurant is good but very pricey, too much in my opinion.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Romangirl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merlischachen
0.0 mi away
Schloss-Hotel
Schloss-Hotel
#1 of 3 in Merlischachen
58 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jagd-Schloss
Jagd-Schloss
#3 of 3 in Merlischachen
50 reviews
2.6 mi away
Park Weggis
Park Weggis
#1 of 17 in Weggis
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Rigi Kaltbad
Hotel Rigi Kaltbad
#1 of 3 in Rigi Kaltbad
359 reviews
2.7 mi away
Seehof du Lac Hotel
Seehof du Lac Hotel
#6 of 17 in Weggis
91 reviews
3.1 mi away
Seehotel Hermitage Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss Chalet Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Chalet Lodge

Property: Swiss Chalet Lodge
Address: Luzernerstrasse 204, Merlischachen 6402, Switzerland (Formerly Schloss-Hotel Swiss-Chalet)
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Schwyz > Merlischachen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Merlischachen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Swiss Chalet Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Typically Swiss The quaint Swiss-Chalet Bed & Breakfast, a wooden house built in the 17th century in a typical Swiss farmhouse style, offers a special atmosphere. Low ceilings, a lot of wood and creaky beams are an experience which you otherwise find in the lofty heights of the mountains. We offer you free parking spaces at the large parking area on the opposite side of the street. Both restaurant and bar are located in the same building. There we serve as well the breakfast from 06.00 – 10.00 o’clock. Check-in & Check out will be in the Schloss-Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Swiss Chalet Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schloss Hotel Merlischachen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing