We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Swiss Chalet Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Schloss-Hotel(Merlischachen)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jagd-Schloss(Merlischachen)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel du Lac Seehof(Kuessnacht am Rigi)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel Zum Hirschen(Kuessnacht am Rigi)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Weggis(Weggis)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveler rating
93
88
34
21
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
93
88
34
21
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the roadswiss chaletbreadmain buildingbeautiful hotelold styleshort drivehotel restauranttrain stationcheese fondueswimming pool and saunatraditional swissarrived latereception deskplus sideoverlooking the lakeswitzerland
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 249 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

I have recently stayed at this hotel with my husband or our one week stay in Switzerland. The hotel is only a 5 minute walk from the train station of Merlischachen. We had our room upgraded and this was wonderful. The rooms are very clean and breakfast was great with a good choice of cereals, bread, ham and cheese, jams, sweets and juices. Dinner is good if you opt to eat there however prices are on the high side. However all in all hotel is lovely and very worth it. Its worth to mention too that hotel has a swimming pool and a sauna.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We had booked this hotel outside of Lucerne because of the exorbitant hotel rates in Lucerne during the time we traveled. We had booked a standard room in the Chalet, the building where the restaurant is located. Upon check-in, the desk clerk informed us that both couples had been upgraded to the Schloss Hotel. We were paying 139 CHF, and the room we were given would have been 228 CHF. This was a tremendous bargain for Switzerland, but after reading more reviews, I'm not sure we would have been happy with our original room. We chose not to pay for a lake view, as that room would have been 278 CHF. Our rooms were spacious with flat-screen TV. The hotel grew from a 17th century farm house, and is owned by Prince Josef Seeholzer. We went across the street to the restaurant for lunch. It was our first meal in Switzerland on this trip, and the menu prices were a bit startling. My husband and friend had sausage, I had chicken curry, and the other lady had tomato soup.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrtwtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

This is a very wonderful place. Seems like every room and every corridor has something unique.
We had a budget room above the restaurant with a shared toilet and small shower room, but we knew that at time of booking so no complaints there.
Spectacular views (umfortunately not from our room) of lake lucerne and mt Rigi.
We had full use of pool and sauna etc, even though we only paid for a cheap room.
The staff here are top notch. Super helpful and funny too!
Now the restaurant.... Well i could say it was good or even great. But no,
i cannot say in words how fantastic this restaurant is. Full waiter service, violinist (we firstly thought would be annoying but was brilliant) and didnt hassle anyone at all.
We were even given a free bowl of soup even though we decided against a starter!
And the house wine was lovely.
The breakfast buffet was mind boggling.
I dont know to this day how they managed to lay out so much food. The choice was astounding, and my usual plan of try everything went out the window.
I thoroughly reccommend this hotel, it is fantastic.
But do yourself a favour and get an en suite room! Switzerland in general is expensive, so knowing this, this hotel is actually very good value.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davehornet6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Booked our stay for 1 night while visting Luzern. Property is not actually in Luzern and a bit hard to find, but on the lake (sort of). The grounds are very nice, parking is provided, and a foot path will take you to the edge of the lake. The lake is gorgeous and the scenery is terrific. The hotel is actually made up of several properties located across the street from each other. Our stay was in the Schloss-Hotel and our room was very nicely decorated, modern, clean, and comfortable. The breakfast had a good selection of meats, cheeses, breads, pastries, juices, and coffee. Luzern is an expensive city to visit and this hotel offers a good value.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My wife and me stayed in this hotel while travelling in Lucerne area. The hotel consist of 5 different hotels, we stayed in Swiss Chalet. Inside the hotel you can find restaurant with traditional dishes and also the Chef is cooking the special dishes inside the dining room. Interesting experience.
There is also some music bar, playing the live music inside the hotel.
We stayed in the big room near the bar - it equipped with the old style furniture, has fireplace, which can be fired.
Style place to stay, and interesting experience.
Taste of the past!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kyem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews