We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Swiss Chalet Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Jagd-Schloss(Merlischachen)
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Schloss-Hotel(Merlischachen)
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel du Lac Seehof(Kuessnacht am Rigi)
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel Balm Meggen(Meggen)(Great Value!)
$193
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alpenblick(Weggis)(Great Value!)
$154
$150
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$257
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$290
$213
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Central am See(Weggis)(Great Value!)
$193
$183
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Gerbi(Weggis)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (247)
Filter reviews
247 results
Traveler rating
91
88
33
22
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
91
88
33
22
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the roadswiss chaletbreadmain buildingbeautiful hotelold styleshort drivehotel restauranttrain stationcheese fondueswimming pool and saunatraditional swissarrived latereception deskplus sideoverlooking the lakeswitzerland
Filter
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 247 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2012

The visit was totally spoiled by the owner who stalked us to publicly and loudly criticise us for cancelling a restaurant reservation in front of staff and other diners in a nearby pizzeria!!!! We had the reservation in place for less than 30 mins and it was cancelled before the booking started. The owner was clearly upset that we dared to cancel the reservation so he deliberately chose to track us down, stormed into the pizzeria, shouted at us and threatened to charge us for cancelling the reservation. He made a real scene in the pizzeria, refused to leave and shouted at us like naughty children. The hotel restaurant is dark and depressing and the food expensive so we chose to eat somewhere else. Having politely asked reception to release the reservation (the hotel restaurant had the majority of their tables available), we gave our sincere apologies and did not expect such dreadful behaviour as a result. Prior to that, he was incredibly rude when we went to check-in and he made us wait a long time until a receptionist came running over from another property across the road. It was pouring with rain and he had no idea of what was going on. There was no welcome and he made us feel like a total inconvenience. I am always aware that language may create mis-understandings but there was no smile or patience and he lacked any kind of customer service skills in helping us with our arrival and check-in. Both experiences ruined our 1 night stay and this appalling treatment would mean we would never recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We went here on our honeymoon and, trying to keep the overall cost down (extremely difficult thing to do in Switzerland), we stayed here. For ~100 CHF, we didn't expect a whole lot, but what we got was even less. Keep in mind that there are two separate hotels here under the same management. We stayed in the hotel in the same building as the restaurant. The decor is awful and the room is tiny. The beds are uncomfortable and there is no view whatsoever. The staff was difficult to find and we had to ask for items that should have already been provided in the room. I recommend spending a little more cash on a place that works for it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 625BenB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

when you arrived to merlischachen the most beautiful building you see the first time is swisschalet hotel which seems is old for 2 or 3 hundred years ago,the staff were kind in welcom the whole of hotel made from wood very memorable with a nice view to village ,private garden and lake and so to mountain in back rooms.there was a small store in village which is incomplete and a bit expensive.every one hour a train go to lucerne from a station near to hotel about 300 meters on foot.there are another way for trip to lucerne with ship but not easy as train.the hotel owner joseph is a gentleman id like say hi again as soon as possible he was very kind and lovely.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m0bin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

This hotel is made up of five different buildings along the small high street. We stayed in the building shown as the lead photograph and is on the edge of the lake with stunning views and a cute garden running to the lakeside. The rooms are spacious and clean with high quality fittings. Breakfast is simply fantastic! To drive to Lucerne town is 15 minutes away and this hotel would suit families, couples and businesspeople fed up of 'chain' hotels. The restaurant is excellent and viciously expensive. The downstairs restsurant has a better priced business menu ( still not cheap though) The hotel personnel were friendly and helpful. Thank you or such an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andygranada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Travelling through on our way to Lake Garda - taking the scenic route and how scenic it is!! The view of the mountains from the hotel's own private garden and beach area is breathtaking. The hotel is on three sites - we stayed in the cheapest option - double room, shared bathroom for around £59 including breakfast. This is a very good price for a Swiss hotel and the breakfast was fab. Rooms are old, quirky, low ceilinged, creaky but entirely charming, spotlessly clean and give a real sense of 'I'm in Switzerland!!' The restaurant was pricey but absolutely not to be missed - amazing, excellent local speciality dishes, violin player who provided stunning entertainment, good wines, friendly staff and a view and ambience to die for! We paid more for a meal for four than we did for two double rooms and every penny was worth it. We still look back and think of this as one of the highlights of our holiday. we are going to the area (passing through) again this year and have changed our route so we can book into this hotel ...it's THAT good!!!

Room Tip: Rooms are about character and authenticity - they creak and are quaint. They don't all have views - those at the front do.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lizziej1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews