We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible food and no apologies”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Monchhof am See

Monchhof am See
Ranked #8 of 9 Restaurants in Kilchberg
Cuisines: Swiss, European
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Alps
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Horrible food and no apologies”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Where to start? First, refusing us Hanewasser (tap water) - even when we offered to pay for it (apparently you can only get water with a coffee, not with wine and food). Secondly, the green salad was hardly green - iceberg at it´s absolute worst. And lastly, the potato salad- just GROSS. But what´s most remarkable is that after mentioning this to the waitress (whose response was a ´what do you want me to do about it?´) the manager came out- not to apologize, but to tell us we were WRONG - that the potato salad was fresh and that it was our problem if we didn´t like it. Despite the gorgeous location, I´ll never be back! NIE WIEDER!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank alwaysupforatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    16
    19
    15
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kilchberg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun & Easy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Great location on the lake and a very casual atmosphere. I like to take the kids and let them run around on the grass nearby. The food is great and the prices fair and there is ample parking.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julia118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great location, horrible service!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

We were picked up at Zürich's Bürkliplatz with the restaurant's own party boat and had a lovely cruise with drinks on the way to the restaurant. But that was where the fun ended for the evening. The rest was just frustrating!

The location right on the lake with it's own jetty is fabulous. However, on a nice summer's evening, the place is packed tighter than a can of sardines and the service suffers accordingly. A snippy waiter told us "little lady, our food is prepared à la minute" when we commented that a 1 hour wait between the appetizer and the main course was a bit long. Note: à la "Minute" not à la "Hour" - obviously french was not the waiter's language... OK, we were a group but we did pre order and had only 2 choices per course! No apologies for the delay. And each time we served ourselves some wine because no one took any notice of us (there were 18 of us!), the waiter would magically show up with a hurt look in his eyes and take the bottle from our hands to pour...

The weather forecast was for great weather all week - you would think that an established restaurant that caters to boaters and sun seekers would make sure there is enough staff in the kitchen and the service on hand!

The Zürcher Gschnetzletes served was OK - but far from a gourmet's delight. My vegetarian risotto was fine but definitely not worth the price. There are a number of nice restaurants lakeside so will probably not go to this one again!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank swissmiss57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“My favorite casual restaurant at the lakefront”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

The food is casual and Swiss and of great quality. I enjoy the place for its tropical feel and the casual atmosphere, right at the lake front.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank duckyduck50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place for hot prawns from the grill directly at the lake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

There are twoe restaurants Mönchhof in Klichberg: one is siutated at the lake, the other further away up the hill. The one on top the hill is very expensive and has a totally different concept than the one at the lake, where you can eat fancy on the one hand (Captains lounge) and have a saussage from the grill or a salad at a reasonnable price an the other hand. The ambiance directly at the lake is priceless, especially for warm summer evenenings. The only drawback: lack of parking space and scarce public transportation. So come with the bike!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelCCZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monchhof am See also viewed

Kilchberg, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Kilchberg, Canton of Zurich
 
Kilchberg, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Monchhof am See? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing