We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun & Easy”
Review of Monchhof am See

Monchhof am See
Ranked #8 of 9 Restaurants in Kilchberg
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Kilchberg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun & Easy”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Great location on the lake and a very casual atmosphere. I like to take the kids and let them run around on the grass nearby. The food is great and the prices fair and there is ample parking.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julia118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    19
    22
    16
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great location, horrible service!”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We were picked up at Zürich's Bürkliplatz with the restaurant's own party boat and had a lovely cruise with drinks on the way to the restaurant. But that was where the fun ended for the evening. The rest was just frustrating!

The location right on the lake with it's own jetty is fabulous. However, on a nice summer's evening, the place is packed tighter than a can of sardines and the service suffers accordingly. A snippy waiter told us "little lady, our food is prepared à la minute" when we commented that a 1 hour wait between the appetizer and the main course was a bit long. Note: à la "Minute" not à la "Hour" - obviously french was not the waiter's language... OK, we were a group but we did pre order and had only 2 choices per course! No apologies for the delay. And each time we served ourselves some wine because no one took any notice of us (there were 18 of us!), the waiter would magically show up with a hurt look in his eyes and take the bottle from our hands to pour...

The weather forecast was for great weather all week - you would think that an established restaurant that caters to boaters and sun seekers would make sure there is enough staff in the kitchen and the service on hand!

The Zürcher Gschnetzletes served was OK - but far from a gourmet's delight. My vegetarian risotto was fine but definitely not worth the price. There are a number of nice restaurants lakeside so will probably not go to this one again!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank swissmiss57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“My favorite casual restaurant at the lakefront”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

The food is casual and Swiss and of great quality. I enjoy the place for its tropical feel and the casual atmosphere, right at the lake front.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank duckyduck50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place for hot prawns from the grill directly at the lake”
Reviewed November 21, 2011

There are twoe restaurants Mönchhof in Klichberg: one is siutated at the lake, the other further away up the hill. The one on top the hill is very expensive and has a totally different concept than the one at the lake, where you can eat fancy on the one hand (Captains lounge) and have a saussage from the grill or a salad at a reasonnable price an the other hand. The ambiance directly at the lake is priceless, especially for warm summer evenenings. The only drawback: lack of parking space and scarce public transportation. So come with the bike!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelCCZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best location on the left bank of the lac of Zurich for a Bratwurst”
Reviewed September 19, 2011

It's an absolutely goergous spot on the lac of Zurich; With wooden tables directly on the waterfront, a very good service, fair prices and great food, this is a restaurant you don't want to miss. While enjoying the sunshine and a breathtaking view of the lac, you can eat any of the variety of Zurich specialities on the menu: Bratwurst, Curry-Wurst, Wurst-Salat, different meals with meats and typical Swiss sidedishes.
I have been going to this place since I've been a child and have never been disappointed!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank duckyduck50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monchhof am See also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Kilchberg, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Kilchberg, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Monchhof am See? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing