We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forced to pay 40 % tip !”
Review of Fine Singer Island - CLOSED

Fine Singer Island
Price range: $8 - $26
Cuisines: Caribbean, Italian, Seafood, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Blue Heron Blvd
Description: From the Waterfall Window, Ocean Wave Ceiling, High Tech Ipad Service, Organic Feel and Knowledgeable Staff, our Kitchen will tickle your senses with their masterful Italian Island Fusion creations. We encourage you to satisfy your curiosity and come and have a FINE experience on Singer Island. Owners Federico Gaudino and Tammy Kilburn would love for you to step into a dining adventure that lets you know you definitely are about to experience something new. Singer Island is amazingly beautiful and when you dine with us, you will know that you are on vacation in beautiful Singer Island.
Singer Island, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Forced to pay 40 % tip !”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Fine in the title of this restaurant does not pertain to the quality of food, but to the fine you get when the cheque is presented. 40 % non negotiable added tip to happy hour dining. But then I guess a FINE is never negotiable! If you think you get a good deal eating there during happy hour, think again: food is bland or too salty and the forced added tip will leave a bad aftertaste.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JW V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fine S, Owner at Fine Singer Island, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
40% TIP, REALLY......STOP TELLING LIES ALREADY.
We are sorry you feel that way, along with your wife who also wrote a review below. As you entered with your wife, and four children, then admitted you are about to "abuse" our happy hour and you at least apologized for it. You even said how great the food was and that our portions of Calamari were too big and we should consider reducing them. Everything about your experience was wonderful according to all of you, even when i quickly opened up a new bottle of better than house wine, to replace your house wine that had turned overnight. It happens.

Your problem started when you got the bill originally 121, reduced to 60, with a suggested tip of 20% of original value. (by the way, this is stated on our website) the happy hour discount is on the food and drink, not the service. After suggested 20% tip, You still would have had a savings of $40. You instead decided it best to yell in the restaurant and interrupt other diners. Its a good thing your children went outside as to not see. Just so you know. Servers need to make a living too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    18
    19
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singer Island, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Made to pay enormous service charge”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This has got to be the worst restaurant on Singer Island. We made use of the happy hour promo of 50 % off starters. The starters came promptly and were ok, a bit salty and nothing spectacular but we didn't expect that for half price. The principle of happy hour is simple, you bring in customers at a time when the restaurant struggles to bring in customers. So imagine our surprise when the cheque came and the owner of the restaurant added 40% to the bill. According to her this was a rule in privately owned restaurants. She said that they lost money on the food ( why have happy hour then with 50 % off?) so she wanted us to tip 20 % of the original amount before happy hour prices. The service really wasn't any good, the wine was bad ( old , owner opened bottle a few days earlier according to her !) and then she was adamant she wanted 40 %. Instead of letting us write the tip, she had already added the 40 % on the final bill. As far as I am concerned, tipping is at your discretion and I have certainly tipped more than 20 %, but in restaurants where the service was good and not by being forced to pay 40 %. Tipping should be at your discretion and if an owner believes that you have to automatically pay 40 % she should announce that in advance.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Wendy781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fine S, Owner at Fine Singer Island, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
40% TIP, REALLY......STOP TELLING LIES ALREADY, YOU KNOW THAT NEVER HAPPENED.
We are sorry you feel that way, along with your husband who also wrote a review above. As you entered with your husband, and four children, then your husband admitted you are about to "abuse" our happy hour and he at least apologized for it, about 4 times. You even said how great the food was and that our portions of Calamari were too big and we should consider reducing them. Everything about your experience was wonderful according to all of you, even when i quickly opened up a new bottle of better than house wine, to replace your husbands house wine that had turned overnight. It happens.

Your problem started when you got the bill originally 121, reduced to 60, with a suggested tip of 20% of original value. (by the way, this is stated on our website) the happy hour discount is on the food and drink, not the service. After suggested 20% tip, You still would have had a savings of $40. You instead decided it best to yell in the restaurant and interrupt other diners. Its a good thing your children went outside as to not see. Just so you know. Servers need to make a living too.

We wish you the best on abusing other restaurants happy hours and making up crazy stories because we don't feel we need to be abused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Surprising offering for dinner”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

My sweetheart and I stopped in for dinner here tonight and had a wonderful and delicious experience. The waiter, O'Neal(sp?), was very attentive and fun! He definitely wanted to ensure we were pleased with our choices. We started with the coconut bang bang bites appetizer which is the fresh catch lightly breaded and fried and served with a wonderful sweet/ spicy sauce. Our salads were very fresh and simple but delicious. My sweetie ordered shrimp parmigiana as he had never seen this offering before and it was wonderful!!! They have a great marinara sauce! This is only our second night on the island and we have already decided we will be going back there for dinner!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frauchatham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, FL
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fine is worth its name”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This isn't a cheap date ... BUT it is certainly worth the expense. The food and service were excellent ... 10 minutes in and our party of four felt like we were regulars ... the high tech ordering (iPad) and competent wait staff added to an eclectic menu created a fun and satisfying experience ...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bhurley317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Slow service but very good food”
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Went here on our last day of vacation. The place doesn't look like much from the outside-we even joked about the place when we came onto the island. However we wanted someplace really close so we took a chance and were pleasantly surprised. We had "build your own pasta" dishes which gave us a nice variety of options. The atmosphere is intimate since the place is small. Didn't attend the "burlesque" show others have talked about. Think that is An odd mix With this type of restaurant. We would return for dinner if we returned here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mbaileysphr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fine Singer Island also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing