We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”
Review of B & B La Tortuga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
B & B La Tortuga
Ranked #3 of 4 Meggen B&B and Inns
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

My husband & I stayed here a few days ago, and would highly recommend this B&B. It is a gorgeous home with the most spectacular views of Lake Lucerne & the Alps. You will not be disappointed with this choice of lodging. Kathryn & Ernest are very gracious hosts, and breakfast was delicious. I was even able to do laundry there for a nominal fee. Free parking. Also met a couple from Scotland who were equally charming, and we plan to have dinner with them in Glasgow area when we are there next week - a very small world, indeed! Thank you, Kathryn & Ernest for making your beautiful home available to us. We will remember it and you for a very long time. Also, there were no stairs to deal with unless you stay in lower level but that stairway is very easy to maneuver. Highly recommend this hidden gem.

Room Tip: Queen bed in street level room. King bed in lower level room that has private balcony overlooking La...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janbsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    1
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This was our final stop on our European vacation and we couldn't have stayed in a better place.
Our room was comfortable, clean, and beautifully done. We had a wonderful view of Lake Luzern. Breakfast was great. Our favorite part was the swimming pool (jets, massage chair), steam shower, and sauna. They had an awesome "sun room" next to the pool area that had lounge chairs etc. It was great and I highly recommend this place if you don't feel like the hustle and bustle of Luzern (which we didn't.) Kathrin is wonderful and very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KRTravelers11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We spent two nights at La Tortuga, which offered modern and luxurious accomodation. It was a lovely way to round off our holiday having spent a very energetic first half hiking in the mountains, and so some luxury and relaxation was such a treat. The host Katherine was extremely polite, efficient and there to help if we should need anything. The room was clean to a high standard and comfortable. The breakfast was healthy yet yummy :-). It included bio products- cereals, fruit, freshly squeezed orange juice, egg, yoghurt. This was enjoyed on the stunning terrace with the most spectacular view across Lake Lucerne - awesome! It exuded a tranquil and serene feeling. The facilities were great, and we left feeling revitilised, and would highly recommend this lovely BnB.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Em B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2011

When we decided to visit Switzerland my wife and I wanted the real BnB experience. We looked up the BnB on the Swiss official website and it has 5 stars attributed to it. We decided this was the place to go. It's a beautiful house run by Katherine, who went out of her way to make sure we were very comfortable. Things I loved:
1. Indoor swimming pool
2. Amazing breakfast
3. Clean rooms
4. A great patio with a view of the lake and mountains
5. Only a short ride from lucerne on bus #24

We loved it there and wish we could stay there longer. Will definately be going back when we visit lucerne again.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mehtap3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2011

This is unlike your regular B&B - it is very special and only for the discerning. It has magical views across Lake Lucerne and spacious accommodation which makes the most of the scenery around it. Kathrin Seiler is very discreet in her attention, but is there should you need assistance. Breakfast is bio and adequate, and the views take your breath away. The pool. steam room, sauna and winter garden room would put many a 4* hotel to shame and it is available for your use at your leisure. To watch the sun come up over the lake and mountains from this area is exquisite. However, one small issue - to stay here you do need to be able bodied as there are a number of steps involved in using the facilities and reaching your accommodation. That said, this is a wonderful place in which to explore Mount Pilatus and this part of Switzerland and there are many walks within easy reach.

Room Tip: South Room or SC Apartment have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WorlTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meggen
1.4 mi away
Seehotel Hermitage Luzern
0.6 mi away
Hotel Balm Meggen
Hotel Balm Meggen
#1 of 1 in Meggen
190 reviews
1.6 mi away
Jagd-Schloss
Jagd-Schloss
#3 of 3 in Merlischachen
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Seehotel Kastanienbaum
Seehotel Kastanienbaum
#1 of 1 in Kastanienbaum
133 reviews
2.7 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
2.6 mi away
Park Weggis
Park Weggis
#1 of 16 in Weggis
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B & B La Tortuga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B & B La Tortuga

Property: B & B La Tortuga
Address: Haltenriedstrasse 20, Meggen 6045, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Meggen
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Meggen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — B & B La Tortuga 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your B & B La Tortuga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B & B La Tortuga Meggen, Switzerland - Canton Of Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing