We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Amazing”
Review of B & B La Tortuga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B & B La Tortuga
Ranked #3 of 4 Meggen B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This was our final stop on our European vacation and we couldn't have stayed in a better place.
Our room was comfortable, clean, and beautifully done. We had a wonderful view of Lake Luzern. Breakfast was great. Our favorite part was the swimming pool (jets, massage chair), steam shower, and sauna. They had an awesome "sun room" next to the pool area that had lounge chairs etc. It was great and I highly recommend this place if you don't feel like the hustle and bustle of Luzern (which we didn't.) Kathrin is wonderful and very helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KRTravelers11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 21 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2012

We spent two nights at La Tortuga, which offered modern and luxurious accomodation. It was a lovely way to round off our holiday having spent a very energetic first half hiking in the mountains, and so some luxury and relaxation was such a treat. The host Katherine was extremely polite, efficient and there to help if we should need anything. The room was clean to a high standard and comfortable. The breakfast was healthy yet yummy :-). It included bio products- cereals, fruit, freshly squeezed orange juice, egg, yoghurt. This was enjoyed on the stunning terrace with the most spectacular view across Lake Lucerne - awesome! It exuded a tranquil and serene feeling. The facilities were great, and we left feeling revitilised, and would highly recommend this lovely BnB.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Em B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

When we decided to visit Switzerland my wife and I wanted the real BnB experience. We looked up the BnB on the Swiss official website and it has 5 stars attributed to it. We decided this was the place to go. It's a beautiful house run by Katherine, who went out of her way to make sure we were very comfortable. Things I loved:
1. Indoor swimming pool
2. Amazing breakfast
3. Clean rooms
4. A great patio with a view of the lake and mountains
5. Only a short ride from lucerne on bus #24

We loved it there and wish we could stay there longer. Will definately be going back when we visit lucerne again.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mehtap3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

This is unlike your regular B&B - it is very special and only for the discerning. It has magical views across Lake Lucerne and spacious accommodation which makes the most of the scenery around it. Kathrin Seiler is very discreet in her attention, but is there should you need assistance. Breakfast is bio and adequate, and the views take your breath away. The pool. steam room, sauna and winter garden room would put many a 4* hotel to shame and it is available for your use at your leisure. To watch the sun come up over the lake and mountains from this area is exquisite. However, one small issue - to stay here you do need to be able bodied as there are a number of steps involved in using the facilities and reaching your accommodation. That said, this is a wonderful place in which to explore Mount Pilatus and this part of Switzerland and there are many walks within easy reach.

Room Tip: South Room or SC Apartment have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WorlTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bisol84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: mit Blick auf den Vierwaldstättersee buchen!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Markus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Fred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meggen
0.6 mi away
Hotel Balm Meggen
Hotel Balm Meggen
#1 of 1 in Meggen
195 reviews
3.2 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 67 in Lucerne
947 reviews
1.4 mi away
Seehotel Hermitage Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Jagd-Schloss
Jagd-Schloss
#3 of 3 in Merlischachen
54 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
1.4 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Luzern
Hotel Bellevue Luzern
#49 of 67 in Lucerne
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B & B La Tortuga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B & B La Tortuga

Address: Haltenriedstrasse 20, Meggen 6045, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Meggen
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Meggen
Price Range: $185 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — B & B La Tortuga 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your B & B La Tortuga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B & B La Tortuga Meggen, Switzerland - Canton Of Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing