We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Great experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riviera

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Riviera
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Melide
Venice, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We just came back from a lovely holiday during which we stayed in this amazing family run hotel. The room was exceptionally well furnished, completely new and had a big flat screen tv. The location is fantastic and unlike anything that I have ever experienced with a scenery that is breathtaking.The hotel is quite and relaxing and the staff do everything to make you feel as comfortable as possible. One of the things that I particularly liked was the new massage area around their fantastic pool which is right on the lake front. The food at the restaurant was impeccable: Italian and Swiss dishes, a stunning lake view and a sweet, musky home brewed red wine made us feel really relaxed. Besides, Melide is only 6km from Lugano city centre and can be easily reached from the north and the south thanks to the motorway and excellent train connection only 1 km from the Hotel Riviera. The motorway also provides easy access to Como city centre and Milan city centre. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and will to all of my friends at home.

Room Tip: choose new themed room (1st or 2nd floor) !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sm1189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    18
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
26
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

....A nicer escape at this value for money you can not get anywhere, except maybe in some remote areas up in Alaska, but here we have a million dollar view in a homely famliy run Hotel right on the lake. A rare thing in today's confused, overpriced and distorted Hotel market. The more you know about Hotels, the more you traveled the world across cultures one realizes, Less is More and this is the true art to discover. I am not at all impressed by so called unrealistic 7 star hotels that cost so much that you can never find sleep at those inflated prices. The Riviera is a rare remnant of classic down to earth Swiss Hotel tradition at its best, beautifully nestled in to a section of the lake. All this comes at a price that is almost related to a typo. And the best of all, the family who runs the place is omni present. The Swiss Hoteliers Jan and his lovely wife, Aanna are both well traveled and can tell you all about the best dive spots in Asia or exciting peaks to climb in Tibet. Next to the local lay of land sights to discover.
Their Restaurant is delicious, again at prices fair to the value. And then there is the one million dollar lake view, picture perfect. Swiss Hotel at its best, go try it out, its a must. Why: Because its simply honest, a rare breed those days within the inbred, twisted and most times inflated Hospitality scene. Almost forgot, reportedly George Clooney chilled on the terrace enjoying a glass of red, he parked his Harley outside and then continued to his home on Lake Como in Italy, only an iron seven away across the border. PS: Only one request please, a Queen size bed in number 12 :-)

Room Tip: Take "my" room, number 12, great lake view and a large terrace to simply relax and enjoy a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank P N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
184 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

we stayed here at the end of June 2011 for three nights, we had a nice , clean room overlooking Lake Lugano. The Hotel is located a stone throw from Lugano, in the town of MELIDE. The staff is very pleasant, the room was in good order, be sure you have your breakfast on the terrace overlooking the lake and the mountain scenery. The breakfast buffet is plentiful. From here it's a short drive either into Lugano or further south to the town of Marcote. You will enjoy this area of beautiful Switzerland

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Erfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2007

Stayed just one day and night at this hotel. Had a room with nice view of the lake. There was a little bit of traffic (local only) on the road that runs just behind the hotel, but it was bearable. You don't hear or see the nearby motorway, luckily. Hotel has a sun-bathing terasse built on the lakeshore, and a small swimming pool. Comfort was ok and price adequate. Breakfast on the terasse on waterfront, quite relaxing. hotel has no car park of its own, and if the few public car parks are occupied, one has to park about 200 m away. Staff friendly and helpfull, German speaking.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Frequentvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melide
0.0 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Dellago
1.4 mi away
Hotel Campione
Hotel Campione
#1 of 3 in Bissone
4.5 of 5 stars 315 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garni Battello
Hotel Garni Battello
#4 of 4 in Melide
3.5 of 5 stars 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel La Palma
Hotel La Palma
#2 of 3 in Bissone
4.0 of 5 stars 29 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Al Boccalino
Hotel Al Boccalino
#3 of 4 in Melide
4.0 of 5 stars 42 reviews
2.4 mi away
Park Hotel Rovio-Albergo del Parco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera

Property: Hotel Riviera
Address: lungolago Giuseppe Motta 7, Melide 6815, Switzerland (Formerly Seehotel Riviera)
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Melide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Melide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riviera 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Von der Besitzerfamilie personlich gefuhrtes Ferien- und Familienhotel direkt am Ufer des Luganer-Sees. Badesteg mit direktem Seezugang und Schwimmbad. Gratis Sonnenstuhle und -schirme. Panoramarestaurant mit Terrasse am See. Tessiner und Italienische Spezialitaten. Eigene Weine und Grappas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing