We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Fun” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swissminiatur

Swissminiatur
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Melide
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Switzerland in miniature!Swissminiatur is an open-air miniature park located on the shore of Lake Lugano. There are more than 120 models at scale 1:25 representing the most important buildings, monuments and transportation means in Switzerland. A 3,560m long model railway with 18 trains runs through the park. Self–service restaurant with local, Italian, authentic Chinese and Indian cuisine. Gift shop and playground for children. Small passenger train with route around the park. Large car and bus park available. Open daily from mid March to end October, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
112 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great Fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We took our son here for the morning and had a great time. We had a lovely time wandering around. Our son loved watching the trains and cable cars and pointing out the places he had visited. The train ride around the edge of the park is extra to the entrance fee , and only lasts just under 5 minutes but is still good fun

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank swissonj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    174
    85
    27
    11
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint-Petersburg
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fun to visit, while in Lugano”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

I visited the Swissminiatur during my winter trip around Lugano part of Switzerland with my parents. Unfortunately, February was not the best time for such a trip. However, the best part is that it was not crowded at all. For us - Swiss lovers - it was nice to see attractions around the whole country from "bird's view" and create a list of those to see in real.
It is definitely worth visiting if traveling with children. However, my parents were also very excited as it was their first time at such an attraction. I would rate Brussels' mini-europe higher than this one, as Swissminiatur seems to me a bit outdated. Anyways, worth visiting if you have spear time around there...

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinth, Greece
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A fun bird's eye view of Switzerland”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Though we are not the target group for the attraction (couple in their 30s without children) we still had a fun 2 hours visiting it. The fact that we have been some time in Switzerland added to he fun as we were trying to find out which place each model was depicting without looking at the description. We also discovered however many places we didn't know to add in our "to visit" list. On the negative side, it was a very hot day and the place offers little protection from the sun.The toilets are also not a swiss highlight...

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Well worth visiting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Visited Swissminiatur whilst on a day trip to Lugano. I had read various reviews etc and was a bit hesitant as it costs 19Sfc per person and I thought it might be the usual 'tacky model village', however decided to give it a try as we were there. Having to pay metered car parking for the visit is not good but non the less we were very glad that we perservered and went in. It is a stunning park, not huge but definately big enough. The models have been bulit to an exceptional standard and the layout has been well thought out. There are paths giving a suggested walk and it is worth sticking to it and then perhaps retracing your steps to see things from a different angle. The exhibits are well labelled and really highlight the iconic views of Switzerland plus Milan Cathedral. The facilities are very good there as well and children are well catered for and it was good to NOT see kids running everywhere spoiling everyones enjoyment. It was also possible to see the craftsman working on the models. We visited during a very hot sunny day but if I had the chance I would have liked to see it all 'at night' as well with the floodlighting. I would allow about 2/3 hrs for a visit at a reasonable meandering pace. Recommended**

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Photophilplym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorea, French Polynesia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“gosh, small is good but i have seen smaller”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

if you are a minimundus fan, you will have seen bettre. my all time favourite is still switzerland as portrayed in the hamburg haven-city toyland, surely the most magnifient of its kind-

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank vasco d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swissminiatur also viewed

Lugano, Canton of Ticino
Rivera, Canton of Ticino
 
Locarno, Lake Maggiore
Vogorno, Canton of Ticino
 

Been to Swissminiatur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing