We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Waterside terrace” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Garni Battello

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Garni Battello
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Melide
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Waterside terrace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Was at the hotel for a few days as an alternative to a hotel in Morcorte (as no more room available there and a hotel has closed). Friendly staff, breakfast was above average for the hotel rating. room has a nice balcony facing the lake, noise from street below was moderate. There are some hotel owned car parking spaces, but always a struggle to fetch a space. The highlight is the small but a bit run down terrace on the other side of the road with some deckchairs and possibility to have a swim in the lake of Lugano. Even though it was September, the temperature of the water was quite pleasant, about 20 C.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frequentvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    16
    6
    5
    9
See reviews for
13
18
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

If you are a smoker, it may be a good place for you. We spent a terrible nigth in a smoky place. Location is good, alhough the street below is busy till midnigth. The place is run down and need a face lifting. Sad for the nace few over the lake - it could not alter our poor impression from the place. Bedsheets, towels, bed, everything is full of smoke.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 881JohnF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melide hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The "Battello" must have been an exciting place to be some 30 or 40 years ago. It has the air of the 70s, when holiday making in the Ticino was at a peak. Since then times have changed, but this hotel seems to have remained in those times. And this is visible all over the place - especially inside.

The interior looks dated, especially the gangways and stairs. The rooms are a bit more up to date. But not much. It's clean, everything's there, but everything looks and feels the age. I wasn't too fond of the bed. It felt hard, rather uncomfortable. Everything else works, but some refurbishment and even some minor repairs could do wonders.

Most (all?) of the rooms have balconies with a spectacular view. This is one of the great assets of this place. Truly a great view. But there's another "but". The balcony windows are the original ones from way back then, there's not a lot of insulation. And having a well used street in front of the hotel you get the feeling of standing right in the middle of it - also during the night. It's noisy.

On other side of the street you find a private terrace and even a separate small private terrace for sunbathing and swimming. You're directly on the lake - another great asset.

Finally, a truly positive aspect are the friendly owner and staff. Upon check-in you're feeling welcome, also at breakfast. Breakfast is sumptuous and everything is there on the buffet.

The prices for bed and breakfast are moderate for Switzerland and the Lugano region, but still high in comparison to other countries.

Stay here, if you are into uncomplicated accommodations. The fact that I only give three instead of four points is the all in all rather shabby looking and feeling interior. Again, with a bit of work, you could turn the "Battello" in a nice and cosy yacht.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mortimer1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This hotel is not only too expensive: a noisy street passes between the hotel and the lake. The worst about it however was the bad smell of smoke. Even though we kept the window open all night, the smell passed from the entry hall and stairs area to our room. Also the bedsheets and towels smelled very bad.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I was traveling to Lugano, but I reached only Melide with hitchhike. I have to admit, it was by chance!!! :D
I spent only one night in the hotel, but I arrived really late - at 22:30 p.m. I was really tired and only hoped that my bad English will be clear enough to ask for a room for that night, plus ask for some aid on the next day to get to Lugano.
The owner was extremely nice - in the middle of the night - and was willing to understand plus help me. I got delicious meal and a perfect room. To be honest, I didn't expect so much effort from anyone at friday evening...
On the next day the owner took me to the train station and helped me to buy the ticket.
It's a wonderful hotel on a really nice place, with really kind people in it. It was a great time and experience to be there!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Győző N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The hotel is perfectly situated for a relaxing vacation away from busy regular life. It is located literally right across from the clear Lake Lugano, with a cozy and fun dock to sunbathe and swim off of. Great for family and couples alike. The scenes at sunset are stunning, with the mountains perfectly framing the lake. Colors like in a painting.

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was plentiful, with lots of options including fresh fruit, meats, cheese, yogurt, cereal, and of course italian espresso and cappuccino.

Highly recommended for a charming getaway.

Room Tip: Definitely book a room with a lake view, you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ejaworsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

The hotel is in a lovely central location in Melide which is only a very small town with very few places to eat, so a car is useful, or if you prefer not to lose your parking space of which there only a few allocated to the hotel, the bus service into Lugano and other areas is very good.

The hotel is on the lake edge with stunning views over Lake Lugano. A room with a lake view is highly recommended, and beautiful to wake up to and sit out on. The room although basic, was adequate and beautifully clean, and the owners pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was plentiful, and there is a nice terrace just across the narrow road to enjoy coffee or evening drinks. The sunbeds provided on the jetty on the lake edge were welcome for a relaxing snooze or read. Our only criticism although small, would be that tea making facilities are made available in the rooms for the early morning cup of tea, or late night coffee. We considered the hotel to be extremely good value for money, in a country that is quite expensive.

Room Tip: Book a room with a balcony overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DebnMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melide
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#2 of 4 in Melide
4.0 of 5 stars 42 reviews
0.1 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Dellago
0.1 mi away
Hotel Al Boccalino
Hotel Al Boccalino
#3 of 4 in Melide
4.0 of 5 stars 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Campione
Hotel Campione
#1 of 3 in Bissone
4.5 of 5 stars 310 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel La Palma
Hotel La Palma
#2 of 3 in Bissone
4.0 of 5 stars 28 reviews
2.0 mi away
Melia Campione
Melia Campione
#1 of 1 in Campione d'Italia
4.5 of 5 stars 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Garni Battello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garni Battello

Property: Hotel Garni Battello
Address: Via G. Motta 30, Melide 6815, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Melide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Melide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Garni Battello 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Garni Battello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing