We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“"Good place but not good enough"” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Art Deco Hotel Dellago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Art Deco Hotel Dellago
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Melide
Certificate of Excellence
Zollikofen, Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Good place but not good enough"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

My fiancé and I stayed in the room "coffee and cream" for a weekend... Getting a room was quite impossible the last year, however this year we got it. With a great website in Internet and such a expensive price, we came to the hotel with a lot of expectations.

Although the view was quite impressive, the service didn't meet our expectations. The staff looks so unconnected/indifferent with us... people just walking across the corridors.
The food was amazing, but the quantity was completely inappropriate (We ordered seafood surprise for two people.)... We were almost dead after such a huge dinner, probably for four people.
We never had internet connection... we received some weird indications, nothing easy to do for the ones who don't any IT knowledge.
The room was very beautiful and comfortable with a great view... only the bath tub need some reshuffles...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxana-Aguirre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    62
    20
    15
    7
See reviews for
11
123
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
martinez
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We renting the Tequila and Sunrise room. You need to rent this room it Is awesome. It had two french doors. One in the bedroom the other in the family room. Great view right from your bed. The terrace is hugh right on the water. The restaurant is good and eating right on the water is wonderful. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tomgar3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

It is a pity that this hotel is let down by the staff. With the exception of the girl on the reception that checked us in we found the rest of the staff to be rude and indifferent. It is a shame really as the hotel has a fantastic view across the lake, rooms are comfortable and the location is great if you a looking for a quite get away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I stayed there in early september in the room "tequilla sunrise" for a weekend trip. great location, nice service, excellent food and for switzerland a very good value for money deal.

the descsription of the room really matched what I found:
- nice , new furniture
- superior view on the lake,

if you come by car, there are enough parking lots around the hotel. Public Parkis is just 200m away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OGerstberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liege, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We wish we had booked a second night, but for sure next time we book a room with lake view. The highlight was still the lounge bar. Really cosy just on the lake with nice sofas to relax and enjoy drinks.
The Seafood restaurant also kept our tastebuds busy for a few hours. A few dishes were fusion Asiatic with fantastic presentations on different plates (maybe not so easy for the staff to handle) for each dish. We were also recommended nice local wines which gives the total dining experience a big WOW!

Room Tip: Make sure to book lake side room - very busy road on the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PAPBELGIUM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We're usually fans of chic, upperclass hotels and weren't quite sure what to expect in the Dellago, but the description on the homepage made us curious - and we weren't disappointed! While the rooms aren't luxurious, they are quite original and in excellent condition (felt rather new) which for us is more important than a marvel bassin. Staff was friendly and uncomplicated, we loved the atmosphere and left the hotel just for two short walks - all the rest of the time we spent on our room, at breakfast (great buffet!) and most of the time at the lounge at the lake that is reserved for hotel guests, grabbing a piece of cake or cup of coffee from the self-service area in the restaurant every now and then. We really felt like home.
Prices are okay given the location and that the minibar and afternoon snacks are included.

If you stay there, don't miss the dinner in their restaurant, we had the 5-course menue, and it was fantastic!

We'll come back for the next extended weekend trip, for us it's the perfect hideaway for sunny, lazy days.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a balcony to the lake, great views and very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sml0880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Having to wait a good 5 minutes before anyone turned up at reception on arrival was slightly disconcerting... We had booked a room in the annexe at what seemed a bargain rate compared to rooms in the main hotel. If something sounds too good to be true, it usually is: the annexe is no more comfortable nor clean than a youth hostel... I took one look at the annexe room and asked for room availability in the main hotel. We ended up in the smallest room (11 sq m - a glorified broom cupboard!) which overlooks a narrow and fairly busy road. The room was clean, if rather tired looking.
To the hotel's credit, the website is very informative, giving you the exact size and location of each individual room so there is no surprise on that front. Where there is a little room for surprise though is at how tired everything looks. It is like a friend sending you a picture of themselves dating a few years back: you just have to imagine the rooms after a few more years of wear and tear. Some of the more lurid wall colours probably also contribute to the place feeling a bit "dated"...
We had dinner at the restaurant which, right by the lake (a very romantic setting at night), was a rather more pleasant and refined experience than the room. The gazpacho was delicious and complimented beautifully the sweetness of the (single) accompanying scallop. The duck offered an equally skilled marriage of flavours. The curry was well balanced but the ratio of meat/vegetables was a bad bargain for non-vegetarians! Desserts were slightly disappointing. Service was friendly if not particularly quick. If the chef wouldn't mind serving slightly more generous portions, it would be very good indeed.
Just like the deserted reception, it was somewhat odd not to see any maitre d'/proprietor supervising the waiters and waitresses. If guests could put a face on management, again that would enhance the whole experience.

Room Tip: Don't go for the Sugar and Sweet room unless 1- you are on your own and 2- it is cold enough to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephanGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melide
0.0 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#2 of 4 in Melide
4.0 of 5 stars 47 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Campione
Hotel Campione
#1 of 3 in Bissone
4.5 of 5 stars 315 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Garni Battello
Hotel Garni Battello
#4 of 4 in Melide
3.5 of 5 stars 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Al Boccalino
Hotel Al Boccalino
#3 of 4 in Melide
4.0 of 5 stars 42 reviews
2.0 mi away
Melia Campione
Melia Campione
#1 of 1 in Campione d'Italia
4.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
2.4 mi away
Park Hotel Rovio-Albergo del Parco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Deco Hotel Dellago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Deco Hotel Dellago

Property: Art Deco Hotel Dellago
Address: lungolago Giuseppe Motta 9, Melide 6815, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Melide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Melide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dellago was built as a small family hotel around 1907 and has since seen many concepts & transformations, but it has never been completely restructurated: this place has style and patina.as a holiday hotel, there is not enough space, as a design hotel we are much too improvised and for families we are far from being suitable, but for a relaxing city escape in jeans and chucks it's absolutely gorgeous. 21 simple or stylish, basic and luxurious, tiny and huge but always surprising rooms, an excellent fish and seafood restaurant, cool sound, wacky people and a lake lounge where your feet sometimes literally get wet are all perfect reasons to forget about the daily hassle for a couple of precious moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Art Deco Hotel Dellago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Deco Melide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing