We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“One of the best places I've ever stayed at” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art Deco Hotel Dellago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Art Deco Hotel Dellago
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Melide
Certificate of Excellence
Zürich
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the best places I've ever stayed at”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We absolutely loved Dellago. The location is magical, right on the lake, with views over the water and onto the tree covered hills. Though I arrived there stressed from work, I felt instantly relaxed and at peace. The whole concept of the hotel is wonderful: It's beautiful, special and very personal. Everything has this special, very personal touch. Everything looks very stylish, but it is far from being pretentious or stiff. We really felt like we had been invited into someone's (very stylish) home. I loved that in the afternoon, guests can use the restaurant and terrace, though it is closed to the public, and get free coffee, cake and soft drinks. Our room "art & deco" was beautiful and we absolutely loved the big balcony with a daybed, overlooking the water. And the food is to die for. I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Make sure you check out the different rooms on the website, they are all very different, though they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    62
    19
    15
    7
See reviews for
11
120
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Holland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

First of all, this hotel has a great location, directly on the lake with stunning views. I had the 'Sand and Dunes' room, with a balcony overlooking Lago di Lugano, which was great. The room is nearly 10 years old, and needs some renovation, but the bed was good. Breakfast was delicious. I had lunch on the terrace, in the company of some Italian families, which is always a good sign. Staff was very friendly, serving me in German, English and Italian. If you want to go to Lugano: the train station is just a 10 minutes walk, and a 7 minutes train ride to Lugano Central.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a room on the lake side. They're more expensive, but the view is stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

We loved our room "coffee and cream" so much, that we wanted to stay there the whole day! The hotel and the room have such a good ambiance, that you feel relaxed and just great!
Breakfast buffet had a fantastic choice and homemade fresh food. Also the seafoodrestaurant was excellent! We can really recommend the hotel!

Room Tip: The room "Coffee and cream" was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisBasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oundle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

It was their website that appealed to us and the hotel lived up to expectation. We loved the relaxed atmosphere and the room was comfortable and warm (it was January). The food was great and the staff attentive without being obtrusive.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiasso, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Coming here quite often with friends,because it is simply good, the food, especially the Thai curry or the tuna steak,the dessert is delighting,f.e. Jack in the box, a great wine selection,our favorite is Creation from SA,and service is friendly and professional.We love to come in summer,because they got the terrace and a lounge right by the lake with parking possibility for boats.It's a nice ambient,with nice audience without being too much,but chilling and relaxing.Open lunch time too.Positive to mention:they got a summer and winter menu,so variation is guaranteed.It's pricey,but worth.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathey13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

This was my second time in ten years and cannot rate it highly enough. We stayed in the detached apartment across the street - it was spacious, very comfortable and wonderfully quiet. This hotel continues to be my most favourite of all time - great service, amazing food and of course the views are wonderful. Value for money is unquestionable, I cant wait to get back there again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Just spent 2 nights in this hotel... What to say about our stay?
Just great, from the moment we open the hotel door until we had to leave, which was the worst moment of our stay.
Location: just by the lake, couldn't be closer, beautiful view, calm (lake side room)

Room: I went for the coffee & cream experience and it was worth it! Private terrasse with a hot tube. Confortable room with everything you need even a booklet to understand how the shower works! Don't laugh, you'll need it as the shower does much more than just a shower ;-)

Restaurant: presentation, quality, quantity, taste of each meal was great. Lots of good wine on the list.
Breakfast is also amazing, home made jam, great choice of bread.

Atmosphere: very cosy, calm, relaxing, not bling-bling at all.

Service: it was just perfect, people are extremely nice, easy approach, not too present but still there.

General: it is not a luxury hotel and it is very good so! I've been staying in quite a few luxury hotels for my job, some really nice one with great service but I've to tell you that it is The place where I felt the best!
If you ever have the chance staying there, go for it! It does worth it, do not hesitate one minute!

Many thanks again to each one working there for this wonderful experience!
Sébastien

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sébastien Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melide
0.0 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#2 of 4 in Melide
4.0 of 5 stars 42 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Garni Battello
Hotel Garni Battello
#4 of 4 in Melide
3.5 of 5 stars 49 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Campione
Hotel Campione
#1 of 3 in Bissone
4.5 of 5 stars 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Al Boccalino
Hotel Al Boccalino
#3 of 4 in Melide
4.0 of 5 stars 39 reviews
2.0 mi away
Melia Campione
Melia Campione
#1 of 1 in Campione d'Italia
4.5 of 5 stars 79 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Serpiano
Hotel Serpiano
#1 of 1 in Serpiano
4.0 of 5 stars 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Deco Hotel Dellago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Deco Hotel Dellago

Property: Art Deco Hotel Dellago
Address: Lungolago Motta 9, Melide 6815, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Melide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Melide
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dellago was built as a small family hotel around 1907 and has since seen many concepts & transformations, but it has never been completely restructurated: this place has style and patina.as a holiday hotel, there is not enough space, as a design hotel we are much too improvised and for families we are far from being suitable, but for a relaxing city escape in jeans and chucks it's absolutely gorgeous. 21 simple or stylish, basic and luxurious, tiny and huge but always surprising rooms, an excellent fish and seafood restaurant, cool sound, wacky people and a lake lounge where your feet sometimes literally get wet are all perfect reasons to forget about the daily hassle for a couple of precious moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Art Deco Hotel Dellago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Deco Melide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing