We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff”
Review of Dellago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dellago
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Melide
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2012

First of all, this hotel has a great location, directly on the lake with stunning views. I had the 'Sand and Dunes' room, with a balcony overlooking Lago di Lugano, which was great. The room is nearly 10 years old, and needs some renovation, but the bed was good. Breakfast was delicious. I had lunch on the terrace, in the company of some Italian families, which is always a good sign. Staff was very friendly, serving me in German, English and Italian. If you want to go to Lugano: the train station is just a 10 minutes walk, and a 7 minutes train ride to Lugano Central.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a room on the lake side. They're more expensive, but the view is stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 212 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2012

We loved our room "coffee and cream" so much, that we wanted to stay there the whole day! The hotel and the room have such a good ambiance, that you feel relaxed and just great!
Breakfast buffet had a fantastic choice and homemade fresh food. Also the seafoodrestaurant was excellent! We can really recommend the hotel!

Room Tip: The room "Coffee and cream" was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisBasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

It was their website that appealed to us and the hotel lived up to expectation. We loved the relaxed atmosphere and the room was comfortable and warm (it was January). The food was great and the staff attentive without being obtrusive.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Coming here quite often with friends,because it is simply good, the food, especially the Thai curry or the tuna steak,the dessert is delighting,f.e. Jack in the box, a great wine selection,our favorite is Creation from SA,and service is friendly and professional.We love to come in summer,because they got the terrace and a lounge right by the lake with parking possibility for boats.It's a nice ambient,with nice audience without being too much,but chilling and relaxing.Open lunch time too.Positive to mention:they got a summer and winter menu,so variation is guaranteed.It's pricey,but worth.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathey13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

This was my second time in ten years and cannot rate it highly enough. We stayed in the detached apartment across the street - it was spacious, very comfortable and wonderfully quiet. This hotel continues to be my most favourite of all time - great service, amazing food and of course the views are wonderful. Value for money is unquestionable, I cant wait to get back there again!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Just spent 2 nights in this hotel... What to say about our stay?
Just great, from the moment we open the hotel door until we had to leave, which was the worst moment of our stay.
Location: just by the lake, couldn't be closer, beautiful view, calm (lake side room)

Room: I went for the coffee & cream experience and it was worth it! Private terrasse with a hot tube. Confortable room with everything you need even a booklet to understand how the shower works! Don't laugh, you'll need it as the shower does much more than just a shower ;-)

Restaurant: presentation, quality, quantity, taste of each meal was great. Lots of good wine on the list.
Breakfast is also amazing, home made jam, great choice of bread.

Atmosphere: very cosy, calm, relaxing, not bling-bling at all.

Service: it was just perfect, people are extremely nice, easy approach, not too present but still there.

General: it is not a luxury hotel and it is very good so! I've been staying in quite a few luxury hotels for my job, some really nice one with great service but I've to tell you that it is The place where I felt the best!
If you ever have the chance staying there, go for it! It does worth it, do not hesitate one minute!

Many thanks again to each one working there for this wonderful experience!
Sébastien

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sébastien Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Been at Dellago already a couple of time to eat with friends and it's always a great place.
It's an expensive restaurant but, the view from the terrace is amazing, the service is always great and the food marvelous.
We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Za036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melide
0.1 mi away
Hotel Al Boccalino
Hotel Al Boccalino
#2 of 4 in Melide
50 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#1 of 4 in Melide
68 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Campione
Hotel Campione
#1 of 2 in Bissone
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Park Hotel Rovio-Albergo del Parco
1.0 mi away
Hotel La Palma
Hotel La Palma
#2 of 2 in Bissone
36 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Garni Battello
Hotel Garni Battello
#4 of 4 in Melide
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dellago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dellago

Address: Lungolago Motta 9, Melide 6815, Switzerland (Formerly Art Deco Hotel Dellago)
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Melide
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Melide
Price Range: $131 - $444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dellago was built as a small family hotel around 1907 and has since seen many concepts & transformations, but it has never been completely restructurated: this place has style and patina.as a holiday hotel, there is not enough space, as a design hotel we are much too improvised and for families we are far from being suitable, but for a relaxing city escape in jeans and chucks it's absolutely gorgeous. 21 simple or stylish, basic and luxurious, tiny and huge but always surprising rooms, an excellent fish and seafood restaurant, cool sound, wacky people and a lake lounge where your feet sometimes literally get wet are all perfect reasons to forget about the daily hassle for a couple of precious moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dellago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Deco Melide

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing