We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa sull'Albero
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Bellavista(Valmadrera)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveler rating
105
53
15
6
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
53
15
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom numberfloor to ceiling windowsboutique hotelair conlake view suitegreat gardenlake comoe bikeeasy accessbeautiful hotelfrancescafurniturebellagiohill
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 187 reviews
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Our stay in this very special hotel was something we will not forget. The building or buildings was something we have never seen before. It seemed to be all glass and larch wood, very beautiful put in the surroundings of a very nice park. Upon arrival one of the reception girls came out and helped us with our luggage. The lobby was very informal with merely a desk with a big Apple computer. Check-in was uneventful. We were then given a tour of the property. There was a small heated outdoor pool and a gym. There was no restaurant but an honours kitchen where breakfast was served and at other time you could serve yourself with a snack, bottle of wine or beer or soft drink. This room was also all glass with a wonderful view of the garden. Our room really made us jump, it looked like we were sleeping in the garden overlooking Lago di Como and the town Lecco with many nice shops and restaurants. The bed was very large, truly king-size. The decorations were minimalistic with a large bathroom in the same style. Everything super modern. The hotel was small, only 15 rooms so there was never crowded. The staffs were extremely friendly and helpful. Upon our departure they carried all our luggage down to our car. We will return whenever we are in the area again.

Room Tip: Try to get a corner room with a lake view.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kristiak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

This is not a "regular" hotel. It's more of a "secret" hideaway.
We came for just one night, but were captured by the beauty of the view, the uniqueness of the place, and eventually stayed for four nights.
Though everything is very minimalist designed, it has all what you need. Service and staff are excellent. Lake view and Garden view are real and spectacular.
Will defenatelty come again!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ofer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio D, Direttore generale at Casa sull'Albero, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear Guests, many thanks for your review about Casa sull'Albero. It was a very pleasure to know you and to serve you during your the days of relax on the Lake of Como. We wait for you the next time. King regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Extraordinary Weddings (Buitengewoon Trouwen) was looking for exceptional wedding venues in Italy. Our first address was Casa sull'Albero, a great design hotel at Lake Como.
A very welcoming owner and so is the staff of Casa sull'Albero.
A spacious modern room fully equipped with a modern bathroom. It concerns every detail has been carefully considered.Breakfast outside in the garden was perfect with a nice view at the Lake Como and the town Lecco.
We are convinced that this location is a great extraordinary wedding venue. The owner is very flexible when it comes to the needs of its guests. Hospitality is clearly ahead! Extraordinary Weddings is certainly for a partnership with this hotel, both concerns weddings but also involves extraordinary journeys. An asset! A presto Ruud and Petra van Hees from the Netherlands.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petravanbarele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I am so tired of places that try to position themselves as "green" when all they are really being is cheap. Pre paid for two nights, stayed for one. First of all the location is bad for Lake Como. Second the exercise room? No water, no towels and in a mostly empty basement. It seems like the place is going broke. No english TV channels and a big design flaw. When is rains, since the place doesn't have gutters, the water drips all night on a metal ledge, making plop, plop, plop noise all night long, don't even think you are going to get a chance to sleep.
To summarize, they put this place in a bad location, probably because it was cheap. The don't have the amenities a place at this expense should have, probably to be cheap. They make everything self service, probably to be cheap. Being cheap does not equal customer service or happy customers, a basic business principle.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank hollykind1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio D, Direttore generale at Casa sull'Albero, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2013

Dear Sir ,

I am really sorry for the bad experience.

Casa sull'Albero is made of two villas, designed with the highest quality of construction and installations and it is furnished with accessories made from leading names in Italian design ( Viabizzuno , Flos , Varaschin ). The beds are among the best in the world: Simmons.

Casa sull'Albero is green because it is attentive to energy saving thanks to solar panels, photovoltaic, maximum soundproofing of windows , heating and cooling floor.
It is green because the furniture are custom-made with wood coming from the huts and farms of the Alps.
It is green because it is surrounded by a park of old trees overlooking Lake Como with a breathtaking view.
It is green because the products come from farms located within a few miles. They are a bit expensive for us, but we believe in km 0 .

The concept of the Honesty Kitchen is one of the cornerstones of the project: a large and cozy space made of wood with all the products that you want, a high quality coffee machine, the freedom to take what you want when you want , but also the availability of the 24 hour room service .

I am very sorry but Casa sull'Albero offers free SKY channels in various languages, among which 20 channels in English. Next to the 32-inch flat screen television there is the guide, also in different languages. The gym is located in a large room with a full wall mirror, wooden floor and underfloor heating, the gym device are Technogym. It is located a few meters from your suite and the bathroom is just up the ladder. I'm sorry you didn't receive the towel, this is certainly our fault.

Unfortunately I hadn't got the pleasure to meet you, I found out after your departure that you had chosen not to stay the second night with us. This is a real exception!
I would have liked to meet you to show and explain you our structure, the beautiful area of Malgrate, recognized as one of the most beautiful area of Lake Como.

Reading your review it seems that you are telling about another hotel, not about Casa sull'Albero. Your review is so strongly different from objective reality and the feelings of our guests.
The day before your arrival two guests stayed in the same studio suite and they were happy and they did a beautiful review in another website evaluating the structure with the highest grades. In the last month 50% of guests lengthen the stay for one more night that the booked period.

Your comments are so forced that I think something has happened at the human level that no one told me and I'm very sorry for not being able to help you .
I apologize to you for this and I hope to see you again to make you appreciate our project and rebuild the relationship with you.
Warmest regards.

Fabio Dadati , General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This property is not a typical hotel and as some of the review responses indicate, it is more like an intimate guest house. We stayed in the top level room with the view of the garden, lakes and mountains. It is cosy and you will certainly mix with guests in close proximity (for example at breakfast or even just coming out of your room) as the common areas are not vast and large. This is something we liked! The manager and staff were very helpful and welcoming and as we are not the traditional or experienced "European" travellers, it was likely they found some of our requests odd or interesting. This didn't phase them. We enjoyed the fact that it was in a more quiet location within the Como district but that the town across the lake provided pretty much everything we could need. We used it as a base for some nice self-drive day trips to St. Moritz and other well known areas. The drives were lovely. A few things that could be improved; the entrance is not very well marked and dragging your luggage through the gravel entryway is a little bit difficult on rollers, they should definitely share with all guests that they should have their own car, or rent a car as the dining options are limited on their side of the lake and you may not feel like walking out to get food after your day as a busy tourist, the open concept shower unfortunately sprays water all over the floor and it stays wet all night (including getting the toilet paper all wet!). However, on the good side, the design is unique and enjoyable to look at and experience, the size is small and intimate set among the pine trees and with a gorgeous mountain as a backdrop, the breakfast is nice and fresh and well served, the Honor Bar concept is cool and we liked it. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Lakeview Loft Suite is worth the extra price, location and view.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThePrincelyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews