We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bliss”
Review of Hotel Filippo II

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Filippo II
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Monte Argentario
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2013

My partner and I stayed there and to be honest was concerned it would be a bit of a miss. However we were so pleasantly surprised and flabbergasted by the serenity and the warm service.
We were pleasantly surprised by an upgrade which was two levels and very comfortable and spacious.
The only downside was the buffet breakfast and distance (which isnt a safe to walk) to town.
For a relaxing weekend would definitely recommend.

Stayed: June 2013
Thank B R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 327 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2013

The service of the Filippo II is great. Every person is very nice and helpful. The room was very comfortable and as we chose a corner room we had a huge balcony with spectacular views. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SilviaUru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is my second post about this property. I had to travel to Italy for business last week and had a free day. Decided to spend it in Porto Santo Stefano and stay at Hotel Filippo. I had such a great experience last time so decided to try it again.

FIrst off, the place is beautiful. It's location on the sea and to Porto Santo Stefano cannot be beat. The staff are soooo friendly. I know I am spelling their name wrong, but Illaria and Gianni are fantastic people. One of them was always around to help and went out of their way to make sure our experience was perfect.


Porto Santo Stefano is a beatutiful place. If you are lucky enough to visit, make sure you stay at Hotel (ALBERGO) Filippo II.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview room on second or thrid floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tvlgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

After a long transatlantic flight this was a perfect first stop/day in Italy, about 90 minutes outside of Rome in the charming village of Porto Stefano.
The Hotel is beautiful. We stayed during mid-October 2012 and were upgraded to a suite which has 2 large rooms, a kitchen and a beautiful patio with views, of the bay, that are exceptional.
The hospitality in this hotel was unsurpassed. They were able to assist with an iphone charger, bottle of wine, restaurant recommendations and anything else we would have asked. Thanks Johnny and staff for making our first night in Italy so special!!
You can’t go wrong staying here, we will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank landsbelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

It was the tail-end of their season so great value prices being charged for suites. We knew very little about the area so gambled based on very positive reviews. Thankfully, the hotel/location/service lived up to the hype. All of the staff that we met were extremely helpful and friendly. We were given a suite with large wrap-around balcony/terrace even though we only ordered a double room. The room was comfortable and clean, although the bathroom had a few very odd features. Steps lead down to the shore where there is a decked area with loungers: perfect for a few hours in the sun or taking a dip. The nearby fishing village was a 15 minute stroll with enough bars/restaurants to make up for the fact that the hotel restaurant was closed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MorleyF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

My wife and I just returned from 12 days in Italy and spent the first 2 days in Porto Santo Stefano which is a little fishing village located 90 minutes north of Rome in Monte Argentario. I will post a seperate review about the village....the place is amazing!

We stayed at Hotel (Albergo in Italian) Filippo II. This small resort is located on a penninsula over looking the Mediterranean Sea. The views are simply fantastic and the location to Porto Santo Stefano is perfect (5 minutes by car). The property is large and is surrounded by million dollar villas. Verfy exclusive feel for a very reasonable price.

This hotel has a staff that are the friendliest people you would ever want to meet...especially Johnny!. He greeted us warmly when we arrived and catered to our every need. His English was good and gave us great suggestions on restaurants and the area.

The hotel is extremely clean. Some rooms offer a small kitchenette with full size refrieratore, stove and sink. All the rooms are very large (two rooms in one) with a sitting area for TV and a seperate bedroom. While all the rooms have a great view...rooms from te third and fourth floors have the best! Really beautiful.

They have a private deck located below the hotel. It is a beautiful five minute walk on a clear path. The dock seats about 12 lounge chairs and is a fantastic place to sit and take in the beauty of the sea and surrounding. My wife and I took full advantage of the deck. Even in October the water was very warm.

The rate of the hotel is very reasonable. We were there the first week of October and it was 100 euro per night. This includes a breakfast that is very satisfying. Pastries, meats, cheeses, cereals, fruit, yogurt, bread, juices, etc all available. They also hand deliver coffee (cafe) of your choice. American, espresso, cappucino).

There are lots of hotels that we saw while in the area. None of them had the location and beauty of Hotel Filippo II. I highly reccomend this property.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third or fourth floor....these are the best views. All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tvlgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Stayed as a group of seven overnight following recommendation for its proximity to Porto San Sefano (within 1.5 km walking distance), it service and views. The rooms were fuly self conained, very clean, and very tidy. The furniture was well appointed, as were the toilet, shower and basin. The kitchenette was of quite adequate size with table and chairs.
A small walk down the side of the hotel leads to the roadway and then a viaduct to either the waterfront (local beach) or the walk into Porto San Stefano.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Monte Argentario hotels
3.2 mi away
Hotel Torre di Cala Piccola
Hotel Torre di Cala Piccola
#1 of 1 in Cala Piccola
768 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Domizia
Hotel Villa Domizia
#1 of 5 in Porto Santo Stefano
268 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Il Pellicano
Hotel Il Pellicano
#1 of 7 in Porto Ercole
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Baia d'Argento
Hotel Baia d'Argento
#2 of 5 in Porto Santo Stefano
384 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel La Caletta
Hotel La Caletta
#3 of 5 in Porto Santo Stefano
62 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Vittoria
Hotel Vittoria
#5 of 5 in Porto Santo Stefano
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Filippo II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Filippo II

Address: Loc Poggio Calvello, 58019, Monte Argentario, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Monte Argentario
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Monte Argentario
Price Range: $133 - $398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Filippo II 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Filippo II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing