We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome food lovely service”
Review of Osteria Battaglino

Osteria Battaglino
Ranked #3 of 36 Restaurants in Dogliani
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome food lovely service”
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Thank you for a nice meal. The waitress recommended an amazing wine, the food was beautiful, fresh, well thought through and interesting flavours. The best meal of our holiday. I really enjoyed the scallops and Simon thought the shrimp pasta was fantastic.

And all in the shadow of an amazing church.

Thank you for the light.

Xx Caro and Simon

Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    82
    20
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn
Level Contributor
334 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Zucchini flowers”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The zucchini flowers as a starter were an absolute hit. Good food, nice and friendly ladies service and the dessert, some kind of special cake (I do not remember) - great!!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Aleksander22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Treated Like Family”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

From Nashville, TN, USA and saw Dogliani in Natilonal Geographic Traveler magazine just before a business trip to Turin. So, i went a day early roamed down through Barolo to Dogliani and just happened to arrive the night of the annual harvest festival. I found Battaglino's and discovered everythign in the village was booked...rooms, restaurants, etc. But Owner-Chef Marco and manager Flavia treated me like family. Marco made 5 calls to find me lodging and even drove me to the place on the outskirts of Dogliani.....then made a special table for me to eat dinner that night. The food and wine was fantastic, and it was a dinner and experience I will always fondly remember.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Incredibly over priced”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The food is very nice but be prepared to pay a lot there are better restaurants in dogliani. If you want a fine dining experience I would recommend il verso del ghiottone

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank rubyjumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A must”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Maybe the best food experience of our whole 11 day Piemonte trip in July 2012. A beautiful winter garden in the middle of Dogliani. Family run restaurant with great personal service and fabulous food. We particularly enjoyed the fried mushrooms and the veal steak. A must for any visitior!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FamJensenNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Battaglino also viewed

Dogliani, Province of Cuneo
Dogliani, Province of Cuneo
 
Dogliani, Province of Cuneo
Dogliani, Province of Cuneo
 
Dogliani, Province of Cuneo
Dogliani, Province of Cuneo
 

Been to Osteria Battaglino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing