We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Family”
Review of Tenuta Montelaura

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tenuta Montelaura
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Our visit was during the record rains of November. While the pictures showed sunshine and green, we missed that. The trade-off was a wonderful experience anyway. We have stayed in owner-run B&B's in the US but Lello and Flavia took much greater interest in seeing that we had a nice visit than is typical of other places we have stayed. Our hobby is wine and Lello had time to take us to the vineyards of two friends who make very good wine and are passionate about their businesses.--Cantina del Barone and Colle de S. Domenico. With local bread, cheese and salami, the rainy day was well spent!
Flavia loves to cook and was happy to show me how to make pasta dough and hand-form the pasta shapes typical to this part of Campagna. It is really hard to do, too. With truly local (their own) ingredients a part of every meal, we ate well...and too much.
The room we had was roomy and pleasant with a very nice bathroom. Our only complaint , a minor one, was that in dark November there is not enough light to read in the room. We are sure this would have been addressed had we mentioned it.
We look forward to visiting again when the sun actually shines and would not hesitatie to recommend this to others. Foodies take notice!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjm752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 67 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2011

We spent 3 nights during a 2-week wine and sight seeing vacation. Flavia is an excellent cook and Lello (a sommolier) knows his wines. He not only provided information about the wines of the area, but also guided us to several special wineries and visits with the winemakers--which made for an unforgettable day.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharFost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2010

I spent two nights at Tenuta Montelaura in early November 2010. I was only one of two guests and I got a great room that could have easily fit a family of 4. Most of my time was spent visiting friends in the area, but i did spend one evening in. It turned out to be an incredibly rain storm and I was invited to dinner with Lello and Flavia and their wonderful family. We had a stupendous meal by a roaring fireplace and tasting some of the most amazing wines. It was a perfect evening to end my stay in Avellino. Highest recommendation.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GBorriello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2010

My fiance and I stayed here with his parents and had such a fabulous time. It is a beautiful place to sit back and enjoy the beautiful countryside. Also I'd be foolish not to mention all the wonderful things the owners do to make you feel right at home. Lello picks out the best wines to go with Flavia's wonderful homemade cooking!! Simply delicious!! We will look forward to returning!! Definitely go and have their wine it's DELICIOUS!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RacheLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2010

After a couple of days in Naples and in Capri this agriturismo proved to be a relaxing haven. Off the beaten track in the mountains it is still very well located being at about a 30 minutes drive from Salerno, Pompei and Vesuvius. Rafaelle and Flavia were the perfect hosts. Rafaelle is a sommelier and was a valuable resource to help us discover the wonderful wines of the region and organizing wineries visit, from his wine cellar he always had the perfect wine to accompany dinner. Flavia his wife is in the kitchen and serves authentic contadini fare. The dishes were simple and intensely flavourful made from what they grow and raise on the farm. You felt the love and care in every plate! Our stay here was relaxing and grounding.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whitetara08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

We stayed two nights and found the setting beautiful and peaceful. Our rooms were large and had nice terraces to enjoy the scenery. Lello was so nice and couldn't be more helpful. He arranged a private winery tour for us that was was enjoyable and informative. The added treat was the delicious dinners that Flavia prepared for us both nights. We enjoyed our dinner in the dinning room along with their family which worked well for us as we had grandfather, daughter & son-in-law and grandchild. The whole experience turned out to be so wonderfully memorable.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GMHBoston_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

I and my wife had the pleasure to stay over a week in this excellent place. The position is isolated, ideal for people who wants to enjoy a peaceful couple of days. There is a lot of garden around the house, where you can enjoy the vegetation of the area. The position is strategic, a couple of miles to the "Amalfitana coast", to Naples, to the volcano, the ruins of Pompey, Ercolano and Paestum, Avellino and of course, the sea.
Worth mentioning the excellent kitchen of Flavia,using genuine products of the area, prepared and served with love. It would be great if there would be sooner or later a swimming pool, too.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uklaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tenuta Montelaura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenuta Montelaura

Address: Via Due Principati 101 | contrada Pozzelle, Forino - Avellino, 83020 Forino, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Avellino > Forino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Forino
Price Range: $80 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenuta Montelaura 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tenuta Montelaura è un agriturismo in Campania, provincia di Avellino, a Forino. La struttura è immersa nel verde del proprio parco botanico e si può godere di una ristorazione tipica tradizionale con prodotti propri all'insegna dell'abbinamento con i prestigiosi vini di questa terra, come il Fiano di Avellino, il greco di Tufo ed il Taurasi. Si organizzano inoltre, wine-tours nelle piccole cantine d'eccellenza della Campania e dell'Irpinia. La collocazione geografica è ottimale, infatti pur essendo lontano dal caos delle grandi città della regione Campania,ci troviamo a 20 minuti da Salerno e dalla Costiera Amalfitana, a trenta da Napoli, a quarantacinque dalla Reggia di Caserta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Tenuta Montelaura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing