We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel has it all”
Review of Hotel Bonalba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Bonalba
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mutxamel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2009

This was my second visit to the Hotel, the last being 3 years ago. Their has been a change in management but the hotel is still a fantastic place to stay especially for families. The outdoor pool complex has got to be seen. Bedrooms are large with great air conditioning. Restaurant is very good value. Hotel bus to the beach 6 times per day (high season). Bonalba Golf course wrapped around hotel so only 50 metres to first tee. We will definitely be returning

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank georgeharrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,523)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

216 - 222 of 1,523 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2008

I booked this through last minute and did not know where exactly I would be until after the booking was confirmed. What a mistake! The hotel is very isolated and we do not drive. There was supposed to be a shuttle bus from the hotel to Alicante and El Campello but this does not run on Monday or Tuesday.

On Monday we decided to brave public transport to reach Alicante. We had to walk for ten minutes up to the nearest roundabout- the only real civilisation near the hotel where there are a couple of bars and restaurants. From there we could get a bus to Mutaxmiel- the nearest (one horse) town. There are only three of these buses a day each way! On the first day this bus was 15 minutes late, thirty minutes late the next. The bus takes 30 minutes to Mutaxmiel then there are frequent buses to Alicante. This takes a further 40 minutes. The bus ends up in the city centre, at the far end of the port, some distance from anything useful. So all in all the trip from the hotel takes about 90 minutes or more.

Coming back on the first day we missed the last bus from Mutaxmiel because we couldn't find the bus stop. We tried in vain to get a taxi. In the end we called the hotel and asked them to ring for one. They refused initially which was very annoying. We don't speak Spanish and were totally stranded. My husband had to call them again before they finally agreed to get one for us.

When we got the hotel shuttle bus on Wednesday it was such a relief. Only about twenty minutes to Alicante.

We got to the hotel by getting a bus from the airport to Alicante then a taxi from there which cost 20 euros. Another couple told us that a taxi directly from the airport to the hotel cost more than 40 euros.

The hotel room was pleasant and very clean. It was a bit irritating that we couldn't get wifi in our room, only in reception. I liked the bathroom a lot.

The safe in the room is only big enough for small items but we left our laptop in the room without any problems.

The food in the hotel restaurant is about the worst I've ever had and very expensive. There is nothing for vegetarians.

One of the restaurants at the roundabout, 'Cheers', is very good value with lovely staff. If you walk up the road some way (maybe 20 minutes from the hotel) there is a good Italian restaurant. They don't have an English menu or English speaking staff but it was no problem.

If you want to use the spa you need a swimming cap and goggles. You can buy these from reception for three euros each. I saw guests in there without them though. The sauna and steam room are nice. The pool is just an indoor swimming pool (no jacuzzi etc) Overall the spa is nothing exciting. The treatments are quite pricey and there is no English spoken there.

If you drive and want to stay in a very calm hotel this might be the place for you- or even if you don't drive but want to be cut off for some peace and quiet. If don't drive and like sightseeing don't even consider it. Avoid the restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Antigone9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2008

This is indeed a very nice hotel. It is spotlessly clean and maintained to a very high standard. We had a suite which was very nice. The room had a kettle, fridge, small kitchenette sink, extractor hood (but strangely no hob). Unusually for Spain the bedroom was carpeted; I prefer tiles or wood but that is personal taste. There were supposed to be 3 english channels on the tv; the skynews worked for about 10mins of our week there; BBC World News worked well most of the time although occasionally the signal would disappear. The third channel was a music channel. There was broadband available in the room but you need your own computer and network cable. There is wifi in the hotel lobby. There are also 2 computers available in the lobby.

Breakfast was a big let down. Each morning we never knew if there would be food or not. It appeared as if staff were completely unprepared for the numbers of people looking for breakfast. Tables were not cleared very quickly so we ended up clearing our table a few mornings. The central buffet table would be full and then like a swarm of locust the guests would strip it bare of food and it could take ages before more food would arrive. The range and selection of food was also quite limited. The coffee was horrendous! The coffee appeared in glass water jugs and these were poured into larger self service stainlesssteel containers. I love good coffee so this was a big disappointment. Later however one could buy an americano coffee in the bar, which was very nice.

The pool and surrounds were beautiful although it was very busy during the weekend. There appeared to be at least one life guard on duty each day.

I definately would not stay here without a car. It is in the middle of nowhere but I liked that. It is surrounded by a golf course which some guests may enjoy.

One problem we had was in relation to the cleaning of our room. Each morning the cleaners would arrive and we would ask them to come back later and they never did. We had to contact reception on a few occasions to get our room cleaned.

For some strange reason the electricity appeared to go off up to 15 times in the hotel during our stay. It always came back on with a couple of minutes but it was a little worrying when the aircon would stop working in the room.

Having to pay €6 a night for parking felt a bit mean. There was some free parking near the hotel but on our first day we observed the police writing tickets for 'illegally' parked cars and a tow truck removing some of these cars. Being sufficiently put off, we decided to pay the €6.

It is a nice hotel and is worth a visit. They have a few things that they need to improve but it could be great if they sorted these things out.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank YoungIrishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2008

I totally disagree with all those who have complained about the location of this excellent hotel! If you want a nice, quiet, relaxing break in a spotlessly clean hotel away from all the over-crowded coastal resorts then I could not recommend this hotel more!

The hotel, even at the start of the school holidays, wasn´t busy at all despite its excellent facilities. The pool area was fantastic and had table tennis and basketball facilities. The room was perfect with LCD TV (with BBC world service!) and excellent bathroom which was cleaned to an extremely high standard every day. The staff were extremely friendly despite their inability to speak much English. The spa facilities were great, especially the 5 star massage (€60)!

There is indeed NO ´FREE SHUTTLE SERVICE´ which is a real shame. With the taxi service you have to pay for it to pick you up from the hotel as well as the fare to take you to your destination. A taxi to the nearest beach (El Campello) cost us €15. A taxi to Alicante city centre was closer to €35!

The restaurant was sadly very disappointing, extremely overpriced! The average meal would set you back €50 and was not very good quality. Moreover, waiting staff were very slow and forgetful! 10 minutes up the road, however, are a couple of very nice restaurants/cafes!

My only other complaints about the hotel: no poolside bar (a cocktail by the pool might have been nice!) and no decent tea or coffee in the rooms (all we had was decaffeinated coffee, mint tea and condensed milk - is it impossible to get a decent cup of tea in this country?!).

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank jonnyup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2008

We stayed at the Hotel Del Alba from 22nd to 29th April 2008. The hotel is lovely, spotlessly clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The room was fine and the bathroom had his and hers sinks, shower, bath and toilet. Breakfast is a continental buffet affair and, to be honest, a little pricey for what it is. We found a little tapas bar 10 minutes up the road that served a three course meal for the same price. The outdoor pool had just opened and the indoor facilities were all available. The indoor pool is lovely and warm and the steam room and sauna are both adequate although not huge. The staff don't speak a great deal of English which was not a problem for us but may be for some people. We had our 2 year old son with us and nothing was too much trouble for the staff in terms of getting him high chairs or different food. There is a small play area adjacent to the outdoor pool but it is not in the shade so really only good for morning or evening play. The hotel is set in a quiet location, adjacent to the Bonalba Golf Club and privately owned villas.

On the downside, the hotel is a good 20k from Alicante and not too much less from El Campello or San Juan and there is no transport from the hotel. They say there is a bus "in season" but neglect to tell you when the season is. Therefore, if you want to go out and about each day you are talking at least 40 euros a day in taxi fares. However, if you have a car then great. The hotel really is nice but it's just a bit too out of the way without transport.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank cassthelass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2008

I booked to stay in this hotel at the end of March/beginning of April and I was very disappointed. The hotel had good reviews on this website, and the main reason for booking it were the pools. The main outdoor pool was closed--it was half full of water and very dirty with bits of dirt/leaves in it. The indoor pool was not open for me to use either - this was a long weekend break and I had plans during the day and wanted to use the pool in the morning and in the evening, but it was closed. The room booklet claimed the pool was open until 21:00 but it was closed at 20:00, and it did not open until 10:00 in the morning.

There was nothing at all to do at the hotel. There was a restaurant and a bar and both were pretty empty; the restaurant did not even have a menu outside it.

On top of that, the hotel is out in the middle of nowhere so there's no place to walk to (unless you play golf, there is a golf course nearby); you need a car to stay here. It costs 6 Euros to park in an undergorund parking garage.

It was a very boring place out in the middle of nowhere with very few facilities (most of which were closed)! The only good thing was the rooms were clean.

The hotel is over-priced and I would rate it as a three star instead of four-star.

Stay somewhere else, closer to civilisation and where you can have access to the beach if you want to swim. If you want to play golf, then this hotel is probably alright, but if you want more then stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank rebeljenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2008

We are currently staying at the Hotel del Alba oustide Alicante, as part of a 'long-weekend' (end of March 2008). We booked the hotel because the other reviewers on Tripadvisor had rated the hotel well. So what were our findings?

The hotel is about 5 miles outside Alicante, surrounded by a golf course, holiday villas,... and lots of greenhouses. Upon check-in we asked how to get into the car-park, and were advised of a 6-euro charge... odd for the middle of nowhere! Anyway, they also usefully advised you can park on the street, so we did... right outside the hotel, as it's as if no one else is staying here.

The hotel has therefore been very quiet... in fact it seems almost shut-down at this time of year, which is a problem. The main pool is closed, and half-drained. It looks nice, but cannot be used! I'm sure it would be great in summer.... but that's no good now.

There is a much smaller 'indoor' pool, which the room brochure advertises as being opened 9am - 9pm... however we just went to use it at 7:55pm, to be told it actually closes at 8pm... and also doesn't open till 10am, so we won't be able to use either pool at all during our stay... very disappointing as that's half the reason we came here.

We were allocated a room on the 4th floor, and the first impressions were good... it's a new hotel, so all the furnishings are good, there's an LCD widescreen TV, free internet (which is being used to type this review!), nice bathroom, and so on. There's an in-room safe, but it won't hold much more than a postage stamp (or passport), so don't imagine it'll hold your laptop. It looks like they were going to make the rooms 'suites', and include a cooker as there's a small sink and cooker-hood... but no cooker, the cut-out is covered over by a wooden box! Still, there is a fridge, which is useful.

Less useful is the air-conditioning... we turned it on the first night as the room was hot when we arrived... within a couple of hours the room was even warmer, so we switched it off and opened the door... this did the trick, and yes is probably a much greener option anyway... but was slightly odd. We asked in the morning, and apparently (but there's nothing to indicate this), the air-conditioning is switched off as it's 'winter'.

The hotel looks clean and spacious, and is therefore nice. They've taken energy saving to a bit of an extreme with the corridor lights, which are all off (and there are no windows at all), so the corridors are all pitch-black (there are no night-lights, or anything on) until you emerge and activate the motion sensor. It's a little scary as it only illuminates a small section of the corridor though... they could really do with one light in 5 being on, or some natural light, or something!

We've not eaten here yet (and probably won't as we've not found the menu, besides room-service... even the restuarant looks almost closed). We asked ar reception about local restaurants, but they seemed clueless.

We ate lunch at a place a minute by car down the road called Oliver's which was good.

I'm sure if you came here just to play golf on the course next door, or came in the middle of summer when it's presumably packed, it would be a great place to stay. In March, I can't really recommend it however.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank olicuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mutxamel
15.9 mi away
Asia Gardens Hotel & Thai Spa, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
25.0 mi away
Hotel SH Villa Gadea
5.7 mi away
Pueblo Acantilado Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
B&B Hotel Alicante
B&B Hotel Alicante
#26 of 50 in Alicante
442 reviews
18.8 mi away
Melia Benidorm
Melia Benidorm
#51 of 192 in Benidorm
4,233 reviews
18.5 mi away
Sol Pelicanos Ocas by Melia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bonalba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bonalba

Address: Calle Vespre 10 | Urbanizacion Bonalba, 03110 Mutxamel, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Mutxamel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mutxamel
Price Range: $71 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bonalba 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El moderno Hotel Bonalba se encuentra en una zona tranquila de Mutxamel, a 2,9 km de las playas de Campello y a 10 minutos en coche del centro y el puerto de Alicante. Dispone de spa y piscina al aire libre amplia rodeada de jardines tropicales.Las habitaciones del Hotel Bonalba Alicante son amplias y tienen terraza privada y colchones de latex. Todas cuentan con TV de pantalla plana con canales via satelite y conexion a internet por cable gratuita y wifi en plantas 3 y 4. La recepcion ofrece conexion Wi-Fi gratuita.Por un suplemento se puede acceder al spa del hotel, equipado con piscina cubierta, gimnasio y hammam. Tambien se ofrecen tratamientos de belleza y masajes.El Bonalba dispone de restaurante especializado en platos de arroz y pub de estilo ingles. Tambien cuenta con un club de playa en la playa de San Juan.Durante los meses de verano, el hotel sirve un bufe con cocina a la vista por las noches y ofrece la posibilidad de tomar el desayuno, el almuerzo o la cena junto a la piscina, en los jardines. Ademas, se organiza un programa diario de animacion infantil, espectaculos para todas las edades a las 22:30 algunas noches de verano, clases de aquagym para toda la familia y cenas bufe tematicas.El hotel esta situado a 15 minutos en coche de la playa de San Juan y esta bien comunicado con la autopista AP7. El aeropuerto de Alicante se encuentra a unos 20 minutos en coche. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Bonalba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Alba Hotel
Del Alba Mutxamel
Hotel Bonalba Province Of Alicante, Spain - Mutxamel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing