We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent but.......” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bonalba Alicante

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Bonalba Alicante
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mutxamel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent but.......”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

On the whole our experience of this hotel was a very good one. The Hotel itself is very impressive; the main foyer was clean, spacious and inspiring. Staff at the reception desk were welcoming & it was great to be able to speak to someone in English (Sara) who booked us in quickly & efficiently. Our room was immaculate, had nice décor and the air con worked well. We were surprised that there were no restaurant menu’s in the room with prices as we were room only, so needed to see the price guideline. The only price we could find (in the Foyer) was a meal for 35 euro each – which for us was pretty steep, no other menu were available anywhere and some days only 1 restaurant was open – therefore we never once ate at the hotel.
Thankfully we did hire a car as after reading previous reviews we didn’t want to get stuck in the middle of nowhere. We didn’t pay for the hotel parking as 9 euro’s per night is pretty expensive, we found a space every night on the road outside the hotel, which was much more convenient.
A short walk up the road from the hotel there is a French eatery, which had good food at good prices, maybe a little rushed off their feet at busy times! Also there is a small shop – which sometimes was very handy. And if you keep walking round to the right of the roundabout you will find an ‘Irish Bar’ – not sure how Irish it really is, but the barman was very friendly and hospitable and very generous with his drinks!!
When reading the reviews before booking the hotel quite a few people had commented on the lack of English channels (1 to be precise and this is the BBC World News) We obviously presumed that this would have changed as so many people had commented/complained over the last few years, but unfortunately 1 channel was still all that was available for the English guests. This actually disappointed us greatly as after an evening out getting back to your hotel room - putting the telly on is a natural thing to do but instead you came back to the hotel and – well just sat there! Which led to very boring evenings, unless you wanted to join in with the singalong in the bar or ‘bath night in the pool’ which wasn’t our thing.
The pool was great! – as it was August there were loads of children (guests as well as locals – I was told) – so sometimes a little noisy and trying to get a sun lounger was almost impossible unless you came down very early & put your towel down. We witnessed towels going down very early & people turning up hours later to claim their loungers, stayed for a while and then came & went for the rest of the day, this really didn’t seem fair – but understandably this would be very hard to regulate! Also the pool bar would have made a fortune over just the 10 days we were there – had it ever opened! With temperatures in the 40’s, people were constantly asking the poor lifeguard could they order a drink! There was a café inside where drinks could be purchased but if the pool bar had been open then that would have been a big bonus.
We had a great holiday at the Bonalba, but with just a few simple improvements this hotel could have 5 stars.
We will be returning….we look forward to seeing more English channels!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cahill2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDUARDO D, Assistant Manager at Hotel Bonalba Alicante, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear "Cahill2013",

Thanks a lot for your time to write a review about your staying in our hotel.

First of all I would like to thank you for your kind words to Sara. She is always doing all as posible to wellcome all our guest and offer the quickest and best service.

In answer to your comments regarding the posibilities to have lunch or dinner in the hotel I would like to let know all our Tripadvisor guest that we have the option for a buffet as you know for only 21 euros per person with drinks not included and also a menú for 35 euros with an entrance, one main course with meat, another one with fish and also a dessert. Sorry if this option was not enough for you but we also had different Snacks in "La Tertulia Bar".

I have to let you know that we take note of your comments regarding the English Channels, we will find a solution for sure in the near future.

We really thank you for you kind comments and we are really satisfied to see you that you had a great holiday at the Bonalba.

Hope to see you back again.

Kind regards.

Eduardo Doménech.
Assistant Manager Hotel Bonalba Alicante ****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    419
    135
    41
    24
See reviews for
378
550
15
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Just back from two days at Hotel Bonalba after attending a wedding in another part of alicante. We chose this hotel based on its location.
It is about 20 minutes outside the City of Alicante in quite a remote area, but 15 minutes drive to alicante airport.

The hotel is just superb, very clean with very spacious rooms.Our kids are 10 and 11 and loved it so much they want to return next year.

The pool area is so big and was never a problem finding a bed..Also, which i thought was great is the layout of the pool(very safe for smaller children)

It is mainly spanish, but the staff were so friendly and helpful the language barrier was not an issue.

I never understand why people complain about the food/restaurant facileties..we found the choice great and food very tasty..and we're IRISH..so we like our food!!!

Great evening entertainment catering for children and adults.

There is a small cluster of bars and restaurants about 10 mins walk away, which also has a small shop if you need sweets/treats/etc.

El campello is worth a visit and about 10 mins in taxi..Beautiful beach with lots of choices in restaurants.

We loved Hotel Bonalba and will definetly return next year for longer. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Our room was over looking the pool.Amazing views of the mountains and surrounding areas and not nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patricia86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDUARDO D, Assistant Manager at Hotel Bonalba Alicante, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear "Patricia86",

First of all I would like to say you thank you for the confidence in Hotel Bonalba in Alicante. We really apreciate your time to write a review in Tripadvisor.

I also would like to say you thank you for your positive comments regarding the clean and very spacious rooms and also about food and restaurant facilities.

Thank you also for all the positive comments about the friendly staff always working so that our guest have a good experience in our hotel and decide to come back in the future.

We will keep on working hard to try to exceed our guests expectations at any time. At Hotel Bonalba Alicante, our objective is to let you enjoy great experiences to remember.

It has been our pleasure having you in our hotel and we really hope to see you back again in the future. Don´t hesitate to contact to the booking department just sending an email to reservas@hotelbonalba.com

Kind regards.

Eduardo Doménech
Assistant Manager Hotel Bonalba Alicante****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigg
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

I have just come back from a week at Hotel Bonalba. I had a wonderful week. The hotel is very clean and well kept, and all the staff we so incredibly helpful. I went with a friend and although we had a double, on arrival they happily changed it to a twin for us. The room had a little kitchenette area, with a fridge, sink and work surface, which as we were breakfast only was fantastic for lunch. The hotel is a little bit in the middle of nowhere, and we did venture into El Campello for one night (approx 15 euros each way), but found we were much happier back at the hotel. We were the only Brits staying for most of the week, which was actually a blessed relief, and really nice to be surrounded by people of different nationalities.
The food was a let down. Twice we ate our evening meals in the buffet and both times was disappointing, especially at the not insubstantial charge of 20 euros per person. We found a fabulous little French restaurant a 5 minute walk up the road (not hard to miss as it is the only restaurant in Bonalba outside of the hotel) called La Perla (please see separate review for this) where we ate most evenings. The chef at the hotel did cook us a superb pork rib on the BBQ, but overall the standard of the food was not great.
This would not be enough to stop me from returning as the hotel, pool area and entire vibe of the place was brilliant, but I would probably hire a car next time. If the food was better it would be a definite 5 star stay! Thank you for your hospitality!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDUARDO D, Assistant Manager at Hotel Bonalba Alicante, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear "Catherine W",

Thank you very much for this great comment, it is wonderful to hear that our customers are having a nice staying in Bonalba Hotel.

We really apreciate your wonderful comments about the helpful staff and we would like to let know all our tripadvisor member that the staff is one of the more important value in the hotel in this moment.

About your comments concerning the situation of the hotel I would like to let know all our future guest that we are just 10 minutes driving from San Juan or Campello Beach. We have a transfer which drives to the beach or Alicante City every day from 10 euros per person.

In answer to your comments about the buffet I would like to let know also to all our future guest that we normally have a barbacue every night where you can find different meat or fish every day and we also have different "tapas" every night in the buffet.

Thanks again for your review, it is always very helpful that our guest write about their experiences in our hotel.

We really hope to see you back again very soon and we recommend you to book direct to Juan Jose Amo just sending an email to reservas@hotelbonalba.com

Best regards

Eduardo Doménech
Assistant Manager Hotel Bonalba Alicante ****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stayed here in may 2013 always stay in 4-5 * hotel but should be 3* entrance nice, corridors old fashioned,really poor air con and 2 English news channels once in your room really boring,view off the balcony was a wall,and you will definetly need a car as it is in the middle of nowhere and don't be fooled by the spa hotel as advertised on some websites it's a totally different building about 5 mins walk and expensive not worth the money ate here once and that was enough there's a English bar at the top of the bank which the bank is not ideal for the elderly ever all average hotel not 4 star and pillows are really hard not a good nights sleep in a week never mind I've tried it and won't be returning

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDUARDO D, Assistant Manager at Hotel Bonalba Alicante, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear "Shelley M",

We apreciate you taking the time to write your comments, guest satisfaction is important for us, and for this reason we are working day by day to improve the quality standards.

We thank you for your comments and we can tell you that we would have liked to know it before during you staying because I can let know all our tripadvisor member that we always have quality questionaire in the room and restaurant to value the satisfaction during the staying.

Concerning your comments about the food we can let you know all our tripadvisor member that they can have 3 different options to have dinner every day in the Cervantes Restaurant with a special menu with 4 different dishes, in Amapola Restaurant with a special buffet and also in La Tertulia Bar with a wide option with salads, sandwich, burger, cheese.... It is a pity if you have not tried all of our restaurant because I am sure one of them would be the one you are looking for.

The opinions are very important for us and for this reason we can guarantee that we are very focussed to the satisfaction of all our guest.

Once again we appreciate the Tripadvisor member taking the time to input this review, as we continue to strive towards providing a quality service for all our clients and value all the opinions received from our clients to help us achieve this goal.

It has been our pleasure having you in Bonalba Alicante and we would like to have the oportunity that you visit us again because we are sure that your opinion from the hotel can change.

Regards

Eduardo Doménech
Assistant Manager Hotel Bonalba Alicante ****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Have recently visited Hotel Bonalba for a weekend in July and I have to say I would highly recommend this hotel and plan on visiting again.
I went with a friend and it was the perfect place to just enjoy the sun and relax by the pool. We got a lovely room over looking the pool which we had asked for and the room was spacious and clean. We went on an All Inclusive as we found a fab deal, the only let down for this hotel is the quality of the food which could have been a lot better. However there was a range of food so we always found something to eat and the snack bar menu was great.
The hotel is only a 20 minute drive from Alicante Airport and cost 20Euro to get into town so great if you want a night out. Staff were very friendly and there was a great atmosphere around the pool.
I will be visiting this hotel again in the future as it was perfect for a weekend away and we felt very safe there.

Room Tip: Pool view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ALP1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDUARDO D, Assistant Manager at Hotel Bonalba Alicante, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear "Alp1984",

Thank you very much for your kind words, we appreciate all your positive comments and are pleased to read that your stay was an enjoyable one.

The main goal at Hotel Bonalba is that our customer enjoy the staying and reviews like yours help us to understand that we are acomplishing our objectives.

We have a dinamic and intensive audit programmes that help us know the opinion of our customers
and we will continue to work hard to make your holidays a special one reading all the review from all our guest and trying to improve the level of satisfaction day by day.

Hope to see you back again soon, don´t hesitate to contact to my coleague Juan Jose Amo in the booking department for next staying just sending an email to reservas@hotelbonalba.com

Regards.

Eduardo Doménech.
Assistant Manager Hotel Bonalba Alicante****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

The place to stay to get away from the 'Benidorm' crowd. Lovely hotel, lovely setting, superb pool in lovely countryside. In the summer they have a mini bus to take you either to Alicante or El Campello beach.
We stayed overnight for our Summer Ball which was excellent. Lunch time snacks, eaten by the pool were good and the breakfast buffet was extensive.
Rooms clean and staff friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool have best views from balconies, side rooms views over neighbours gardens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDUARDO D, Assistant Manager at Hotel Bonalba Alicante, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear "Wendy B",

We thank for your time to write your review and we are really pleased that you and all the group enjoyed your stay and the dinner with us.

At Hotel Bonalba we’ve always planned with passion the Summer Ball on the 17th June so that you could have an unforgettable night with us.

We really appreciate all your comments about the good lunch snacks and extensive breakfast but what we really consider that makes us different is our staff who is achieving the goal to make that most of our guest consider that the staff is very friendly as you mention in your review.

We really hope to see you back again in the next lunch or dinner from "English Speaking Club".

Kind regards.

Eduardo Doménech
Assistant Manager Hotel Bonalba Alicante ****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We had our Summer Ball on the 17th June 2013. There was 74 people who all had a fabulous time. The staff and food was great and we all had a super time.
My husband and I also stayed overnight with some other people. The rooms were nice and clean and the staff were very friendly. The breakfast bar in the morning was enormous with a fantastic range of food for all tastes. On the basis of our experience we will be using your hotel again and will recommend to friends. Mrs Pamela Simms

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool and on either the 3rd or 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skippy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDUARDO D, Assistant Manager at Hotel Bonalba Alicante, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear "Mrs. Simms"

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding the Summer Ball 2013.

We are pleased to see your review and we thank you to let us know your experience in the dinner.

We really apreciate your positive comments about the food and staff and we also thank you for your comments about the nice and clean rooms.

I hope you feel free to contact to Miguel Ángel González directly via email m.gonzalez@hotelbonalba.com or telephone next time you decide to organize something again in our hotel.

We really hope to see you soon and all the group back again in our hotel.

Kind regards.

Eduardo Doménech
Assistant Manager Hotel Bonalba Alicante ****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mutxamel
6.1 mi away
Pueblo Acantilado Suites
9.7 mi away
B&B Hotel Alicante
B&B Hotel Alicante
#25 of 49 in Alicante
3.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
16.3 mi away
Barcelo Asia Gardens Hotel & Thai Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Servigroup Montiboli
Servigroup Montiboli
#1 of 5 in Villajoyosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hospes Amerigo
Hospes Amerigo
#1 of 49 in Alicante
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
18.9 mi away
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
#35 of 191 in Benidorm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bonalba Alicante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bonalba Alicante

Property: Hotel Bonalba Alicante
Address: Calle Vespre 10 | Urbanizacion Bonalba, 03110 Mutxamel, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Mutxamel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mutxamel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bonalba Alicante 4*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El moderno Hotel Bonalba se encuentra en una zona tranquila de Mutxamel, a 2,9 km de las playas de Campello y a 10 minutos en coche del centro y el puerto de Alicante. Dispone de spa y piscina al aire libre amplia rodeada de jardines tropicales.Las habitaciones del Hotel Bonalba Alicante son amplias y tienen terraza privada y colchones de latex. Todas cuentan con TV de pantalla plana con canales via satelite y conexion a internet por cable gratuita y wifi en plantas 3 y 4. La recepcion ofrece conexion Wi-Fi gratuita.Por un suplemento se puede acceder al spa del hotel, equipado con piscina cubierta, gimnasio y hammam. Tambien se ofrecen tratamientos de belleza y masajes.El Bonalba dispone de restaurante especializado en platos de arroz y pub de estilo ingles. Tambien cuenta con un club de playa en la playa de San Juan.Durante los meses de verano, el hotel sirve un bufe con cocina a la vista por las noches y ofrece la posibilidad de tomar el desayuno, el almuerzo o la cena junto a la piscina, en los jardines. Ademas, se organiza un programa diario de animacion infantil, espectaculos para todas las edades a las 22:30 algunas noches de verano, clases de aquagym para toda la familia y cenas bufe tematicas.El hotel esta situado a 15 minutos en coche de la playa de San Juan y esta bien comunicado con la autopista AP7. El aeropuerto de Alicante se encuentra a unos 20 minutos en coche. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Bonalba Alicante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Alba Hotel
Del Alba Mutxamel
Hotel Bonalba Alicante Province Of Alicante, Spain - Mutxamel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing