We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not So Good for Non-Spanish Speakers”
Review of Monasterio de Yuso

Monasterio de Yuso
Certificate of Excellence
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
336 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Not So Good for Non-Spanish Speakers”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

The drive to San Millan was very beautiful. I was interested in seeing the Monasteries of Yuso and Suso since they are world heritage sights. The lower, larger monetary, Yuso, is 10 Euros per person to visit, and you can only go into the building with a Spanish speaking Guide, and all must go together at pre-determined times. We had to wait for 30 minutes before the tour started and since we are not Spanish speakers, had to stand around while the Guide gave rather long explanations that we could not understand. There was a tri-lingual sign in each room that gave a very brief explanation that we could read, which gave a hint of the significance. So there was a good deal of standing around a little bored. The rooms were nice and the church beautiful, but too much time was wasted as we had to stay with the group. Next, to get to Suso, the small church up the hill, you needed to buy a bus ticked for 3 Euro that went up the hill every 30 minutes. Again, only Spanish, and about 5 minutes of interest. The bus took us all down the hill 30 minutes later. I probably would not recommend this to non-Spanish speakers.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ono O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    173
    42
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
1,023 reviews
461 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 395 helpful votes
“Beautiful area of Spain”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We visited both monasteries, Suso and Yuso. Suso is an old ruin which you can walk around yourself. At Yuso (down in the valley) you have to go with a guided tour. English tours are available but you may have to wait. This is the area fabled with the origin of the Spanish language. A great side trip from the Camino or if you are passing through Rioja.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Edwin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilbao
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wasted trip”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

You can't go around on your own, you have to join a tour group - available in Spanish only. We thought this very poor for a "world heritage site".

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsRoot32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

You have to take the tour with a guide as it contains many valuable items of historical. I had to go with a Spanish speaking tour. I had to read the short descriptions at each stopping off point while the tour guide gave lengthy talks.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Knockroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“the stop before heaven”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

After our visit to this wonderful monastery we then drove on over the mountains on deserted roads with some of the most breath taking country side

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monasterio de Yuso also viewed

San Millan de la Cogolla, La Rioja
 

Been to Monasterio de Yuso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing