We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stop over”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Emperatriz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Emperatriz
Ranked #4 of 6 Ocana B&B and Inns
St Valerien
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good stop over”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

Comfortable if basic room with free wifi - good location near the motorway - secure car park. Food in the adjacent café was again basic but of a reasonable price. Breakfast had little choice for 4 euros.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    19
    23
    7
    6
See reviews for
14
24
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eys, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

The hotel is close to the beautiful plaza, which is really worthwhile experiencing on a Friday night. All locals come. Did not see a single tourist.
It is quite. But only had one towel and one glass in the room which was for two.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Tom-tom has a lot to answer for. We drove down to southern Spain and at 6.00pm scanned the sat-nav for nearby hotels. This one popped up as being only 1.7m away. What a bad choice. Outwardly the hotel looks fine, but our stay ranks as the worst stay that we have even had.

Having checked in, the room seemed chilly. So we turned up the heating and went down to the cafeteria that is glued on to the side of the hotel. We thought that it was part of the hotel but found out later that it isn't.

The food was awful, raw chicken and little choice. Our fault for not being fluent in French, but pointing to the chicken on our plates that was still bleeding just got us a shrug of the shoulders. We refused to pay for the food and went back to the hotel desk to register a complaint. Again nobody understood us so we agreed to meet the manager in the morning.

The room was still cold at just 13 deg C so we ended up at reception again. Another shrug. Luckily a passing guest translated for us and we found the heating had gone wrong before we had even checked in. We watched his face drop while he translated.

Madrid was -5 deg C that night but luckily we had a hot-water bottle packed, together with a kettle. With one blanket and a bed throw-over it was going to be a cold night.

Then the loo stopped working, the flush didn't work and the smell from the loo was not pleasant. Having driven for about 11 hours we decided to put a line under it all and just make do and try to get some sleep.

An hour after climbing into a cold bed in a freezing room there was a knock on the door. The manager had arrived (presumably after several complaints) and had found a fan heater. He asked if we would like to use it?

The loo still didn't work but at least it gave us an opportunity to talk about the raw chicken and the rubbish food. He said it would be better to discuss this in the morning and would be on duty at 8.00am.

At 8.30am the following morning we presented ourselves at reception to be told that the manager would not be available until 10.00am. We said that the food the previous evening had been raw and didn't want to pay for something that we didn't eat. we were then advised that the canteen next door was nothing to do with the hotel, they just rented the space. Any problems should be taken up with them. The strange thing was the previous evening food bill was on the hotel bill??

The long and the short of it was our car was in the hotel underground car park and we would not be allowed to leave until we had paid everything in full. So we did. Avoid, avoid, avoid, avoid etc

Room Tip: Don't rely on a sat-nav to provide a good stop-over.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KIF0000001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ocana hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Concord, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed in this hotel one night as a stop over while driving through. Ocaña has a nice Plaza Mayor and we were tired and hungry. Hotel offered family room for 4. It is an old and very run-down hotel ( and we are not usually staying in 5 stars, if one wonders...). Noise isolation is practically non-existent and one can hear every single person or vehicle on the main street it sits on (we were on the top floor). Worst is the noise from the corridor: the room doors were not oiled in years and each time another guest opened and closed his door along the corridor, you would wake-up from the loud squeaking noises. Being a weekend in Spain, guests came in and out until 4 AM in the morning.
The highlight of our room was the fact that in the shower-bath they had a glass shelf positioned at mid-body height of an adult or head height of a child; our was broken time ago and the half that was left has some extremely sharp broken glass edges (including a 3cm knife like edge) facing us when taking a shower. I have seen stupidity and negligence in my life but this sure competed for first place. I would recommend to avoid this hotel if you can help it.

Room Tip: "tip for choosing a good room": find another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ernani_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
398 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

You need to understand that Ocana doesn't have a lot going for it, and the Emperatriz lives up to those low standards.
Overall the rooms were clean but the towels were only changed occasionally. Our room was over the automatic door to the garage which appears not to have seen any oil for some time so ever time it opened, we could hear a wild screech of grinding metal. The breakfast was extremely basic. and the breakfast room was devoid of any soul. At least it didn't have florescent lighting.

Room Tip: Avoid any room near the garage door (115).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cairokid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Level Contributor
136 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

We choose this 3 star hotel because we wanted to visit Aranjuez and Booking.com offered a really nice deal. Ocana is located 15 minutes from Aranjuez and has got a nice Plaza Major in the old city center with tapas restaurants and evening shops.

The rooms were modern and not to small with laminate flooring. The noise insulation was good. The free wifi was quick. The Airconditioning worked OK, outside it was 35 degrees celcius. The hotel has got an indoor parking under the hotel for 3 euros a night. In our rooms there were no baths, only showers.

Through Booking.com we paid only 3 euros per person for a breakfast with toast, churros (fried breadsticks), orangejuice, coffee and Nesquick. We also had dinner in the modern cafetaria that belongs to the hotel. A three course dinner with mineral water and a drink included was only 7,50 euro with a choice of dishes like potato soup, chicken leg and flan. The specialty menu was 5 euros more expensive with fried asperagus and lamb.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank memberHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocana
0.0 mi away
Hotel Apartamento Los Hermanos
7.7 mi away
NH Collection Palacio de Aranjuez
18.3 mi away
Hotel A Posada
Hotel A Posada
#2 of 2 in Tembleque
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hotel All in Aranjuez
Hotel All in Aranjuez
#4 of 9 in Aranjuez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
16.9 mi away
Hotel Hidalgo
Hotel Hidalgo
#1 of 1 in Esquivias
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel Jardin de Aranjuez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Emperatriz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Emperatriz

Property: Hotel Emperatriz
Address: Calle Puerta de Huerta 2, 45300 Ocana, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile-La Mancha > Province of Toledo > Ocana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Ocana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Emperatriz 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Emperatriz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing