We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hacienda de San Rafael
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2011

This is very beautiful little hotel with typical Andalucian patio and wonderful rooms. The service is excellent. Unfortunately, I stayed only two nights but wished I could have stayed longer. If you're looking for something special then this is the place, loved it and hope to go back!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Piotr M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 242 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2011

We spent 3 nights at the Hacienda, the last of which was our fifth wedding anniversary. The property is truly beautiful and so relaxing. The hostesses were very helpful and friendly (thanks particularly to Geri) the room was lovely and they kindly put a bottle of Cava on ice for us when we arrived to celebrate our wedding anniversary - which we promptly took out to one of the two communal pools to drink in the afternoon sunshine. We mostly had the pools to ourselves during our stay - there were very few other couples there so this really added to the feeling of being spoilt! We had dinner there every night as it is quite a way from anywhere and we didnt really want to drive. The food was lovely and although you get no choice, they do accommodate any dietary requirements. I have taken one star off, however, for value for money for the food. The breakfast although beautifully served was very basic - bread,croissants and jam, not even any fresh fruit or cheese/ham. The dinner was expensive at £55 at head as the portions weren't huge, although you did get some wine and the lunches although again very tasty were also really highly priced per dish. Perhaps one should expect this as it is such a beautiful place but it was just a slight niggle given how much it already costs to stay. Overall though would highly recommend it, especially for a special occasion.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ACat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

This place is nothing but an utter delight. Which ever way you look at it its beautiful: whilst sipping a glass of fino at the bar at sunset; waking up to a perfectly delivered breakfast in the romantic courtyard; driving up the winding pathway and being met by the quintessentially spanish manor house; having an afternoon snooze by one of the three private pools. The list goes on......

In short its amazing. Dont think about it, just book it!

Room Tip: The Casitas are well worth stumping up for- more space and privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank natalie876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Just completed a 6 night stay - 4 of which were with 9 other couples - total party of 20. I have tons of experience at staying in top-class hotels and dining in great restaurants and can honestly say that the service from Anthony and his fantastic team was absolutely top-notch. We had some pretty demanding requests for activities, excursions and "props" for a celebration dinner - all taken in Anthony's stride with a great smile, laughter and flawless delivery. The rooms are very characterful and totally in keeping with the beautiful rural setting of the Hacienda, amidst, olive groves, cotton and sunflower seeds. the Hacienda is about 45 mins from Seville and just a little less than that from the airport. It's about 45 mins - an hour to the cost at Jerez. The food was delicious - we ate at the Hacienda every night except one and had lunches there on 3 of the days - great variety incredibly well prepared and beautifully served. The gardens, swimming pools and bar are terrific. We will return and would recommend without hesitation.

Room Tip: we stayed in the courtyard rooms - room 6 in fact and it was good. They have Casitas which we didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stuart F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

The property is gorgeous. The common areas are lovely - very elegant and homey. We loved our room. For the most part the service was great and the food was good. Only three issues:
1. We were awoken early one morning (before 9am) by a workman engaged in his trade (loudly) at our window. It would be nice to sleep late on vacation. I assume that this was our bad luck and not business as usual.
2. The guest book of suggested excursions isn't very helpful. I wish it included scenic drives, parking information in Seville, as well as information regarding Tangiers. We spent a day in Seville and then wanted to range further afield. We ended up finding our own way to the beach one day , to Tangiers another, and to Portugal another.
3. One manager during our stay was very helpful but the other was less so.

That said, it felt like we were staying in someone's home - in fact I wish it were mine!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GatsbyUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Stayed at this upscale Hacienda for three nights. 11 roooms and three casitas, all roomy and nicely furnished. Threee pools. Exrtremely welcoming staff and unobtusive but attentive service. Great evening meals - no choice but all superbly cooked. The buildings and setting are gracious and peaceful but miles from the nearest town or tourist sites, so a car is essential Just watch out for the extras - drinks etc turned out verry pricey

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Turkophile_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We spent a delightful 2 days in this beautiful hacienda, surrounded by fields of sun flowers. Upon arrival we were greeted by the owners who brought us homemade lemonade, before showing us to our room. The rooms were all furnished to a high standard. There are 3 swimming pools located in the beautiful gardens...staff regularly bring you glasses of water whilst sunbathing. The food is tasty , well presented and where possible served outside in the delightful gardens. We were there to celbrate my 50th birthday and were given acomplimentary bottle of cava which of course went down very well!! We highly recommend this hacienda...not cheap but as they say, you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulaWirralUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Cabezas de San-Juan
18.3 mi away
Hacienda la Morena
Hacienda la Morena
#1 of 2 in Montellano
138 reviews
16.5 mi away
La Casa Grande
La Casa Grande
#3 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
268 reviews
15.8 mi away
Hacienda El Santiscal
Hacienda El Santiscal
#2 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Cortijo Barranco
Cortijo Barranco
#6 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
58 reviews
16.4 mi away
Parador Arcos de la Frontera
Parador Arcos de la Frontera
#1 of 12 in Arcos de la Frontera
603 reviews
3.6 mi away
Los Naranjos de San Juan
Los Naranjos de San Juan
#2 of 2 in Las Cabezas de San-Juan
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda de San Rafael? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda de San Rafael

Address: Carretera Nacional IV, 41730 Las Cabezas de San-Juan, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Las Cabezas de San-Juan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Las Cabezas de San-Juan
Price Range: $246 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda de San Rafael 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lying half between Seville & Jerez in the heart of Andalucia, the 300 year old Hacienda de San Rafael is a lovingly restored hotel of great charm. Formally a thriving olive farm, the hacienda now comprises 11 deluxe luxurious en suite bedrooms & 3 new thatched cottages or "casitas" set in an exclusive garden area and sharing their own infinity pool, perfect for those seeking privacy and space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hacienda de San Rafael reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda De San Rafael Hotel Seville
Hacienda De San Rafael Seville
Hacienda De San Rafael Las Cabezas De San-Juan, Spain - Province Of Seville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing