We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,325)
Filter reviews
1,325 results
Traveler rating
496
427
227
116
59
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
496
427
227
116
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool bar relaxing holiday thomas cook evening entertainment plenty of sunbeds entertainment team shuttle bus bottle of cava lovely hotel lower pool enjoyable week different languages speaking spanish sea view sun loungers grilled meat free tickets
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1,325 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I stayed at Sentido for 2 weeks.

I am going to start with something very negative but it is not an overall view on the hotel. Our bedroom wardrobe door fell off whilst I was getting clothes out, the hinge cut through my hip and left a cut and massive bruising still until this day a week on. Due to the language barrier, I was unable to tell them this. This is something that caused me a lot of pain and discomfort for our last days in the hotel. So be careful!

At the start we were very concerned in regards to the reviews that had been left on trip advisor before.

I read one that stated water was €2.50 which is not true, water is €0.75. I was confused as to why they charged in an all inclusive hotel until it was explained which is completely understandable. They are an environmental friendly hotel. There are numerous places to fill your water bottles up throughout the day such as the machine at breakfast, the pool and the evening bar.

In my personal opinion, I found all the cocktails disgusting. They came out of a machine and are not freshly made. They did not taste nice at all. We found a beach bar open late a 5 min walk a way which did lovely cocktails.

The rooms were cleaned to perfection daily.

The pools are beautiful and there are always sun beds.

I would not recommend getting the free transfer into El Rompido. You go at 10 and get dropped off at 12- shops don’t open until 11 so you are waiting around and when they did, there was nothing we liked.

The entertainment team were amazing. Although they do work ridiculous days and hours as do the waitresses/barmen.

One night there was a female singer for the entertainment who was clearly miming all the songs she was singing, this ruined our evening.

Other than that the night time entertainment is good as they work the best that they can.

The bar shutting at 12 is something I was not made aware of, this is something I would have probably not gone for if I was aware of this. 12 was too early to close as the days go so fast. In the evenings the bar gets way too busy and there are queues all the way up to the door and you are waiting a long time to get served.

If you want a relaxing, remote holiday. This is the one. The food was good although very repetitive! On themed nights they have a chocolate fountain which is lovely! The every day deserts were not nice at all!!

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would stay here again. We were sad to be leaving after 2 weeks and could have done another.

Although i struggled without cocktails which are drinkable!! I recommend the sangria and cava (if you are a prosecco drinker)

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Lucymugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at SENTIDO Garden Playanatural, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Lucy,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your two week holiday in Huelva. It was our pleasure to host you and your boyfriend for your visit to this part of Spain and we are glad to see from your rating and comments that you have both enjoyed your stay immensely - 'We were sad to be leaving after 2 weeks'.

We really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts on your stay and we would like to thank you especially for mentioning how environmentally minded we are with regards to the use of plastic. We do our utmost to care for our beautiful, natural surroundings and, as you have said, we have provided many different areas where our guests can freely fill their water bottle throughout the day with fresh cold water.

Our spectacular setting combined with our friendly and relaxed environment lend themselves perfectly to escaping the stress and routine of every day life and it is good to learn our entertainment team's daily activities provided a few fun-filled memories for you to take home - 'entertainment team were amazing.'. We will make sure your kind words are shared with them all.

Last, but by no means least, we are dismayed to hear the hinges on the door of your wardrobe broke and for the discomfort this incidence caused you on your last days. This has not been mentioned by our reception team and we apologise if they have misunderstood what happened, although it is strange as all incidents are as a rule taken a note of and reported. We sincerely hope the bruise on your hip has healed.

In short, we are delighted to hear that you had a really enjoyable holiday and that you would stay with us again. Thank you for your recommendation to others on TripAdvisor and we look forward to being able to welcome you at your earliest convenience.

Kind regards,
All the team at SENTIDO Garden Playanatural

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our room and balcony was very spacious, cleaned daily to a high standard, can't really fault it.

I really enjoyed the environmental initiative that the hotel had in place and hopefully they will continue to progress with this.

The restaurant had a wide variety of food on offer, cooked fresh and continuously to keep up the quality. Staff in the restaurant were very helpful and lovely people.

Our true highlight of the holiday would have to be the entertainment team. Alba, Alejandro, Carlos and Susanna were amazing. Whether it was the activities they put on throughout the day (waterpolo, waterbasket, table tennis etc.) or the great entertainment in the evening (Sketch show, Guest sourced Cinderella production, Mr Sentido pageant), they continuously got us involved and really made our holiday!

Would recommend!

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank J_Fitzgerald1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at SENTIDO Garden Playanatural, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for leaving us such a lovely review on TripAdvisor!

We value our guests' feedback enormously and we appreciate the time you have taken to let us know your impressions on our hotel, facilities and services.

Our environmental initiative is a very important one for us. Our beautiful unspoiled natural surroundings are a continual reminder of the importance of looking after our planet. We are fortunate to have such a privileged setting and will do everything in our power to protect it. Thank you for your support on this matter, it means a lot to us.

We always love hearing the aspect that has won our guests' hearts over and our entertainment crew will be over the moon to know their daily activities, games and competitions, as well as their evening shows, really hit the mark and provided lots of fun-filled memories.

We trust you had a pleasant journey home, and look forward to hopefully welcoming you again at some stage in the future.

Best regards,
All the team at SENTIDO Garden Playanatural

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Overall holiday was nice, reception staff very friendly, hotel clean and tidy and rooms very well maintained and looked after. It is very Spanish, as is the whole area. I liked this because it made me try out some verbal Spanish and it was not full of English/Irish pubs and breakfast – more of an authentic experience.

The site was slightly more remote than anticipated, which wouldn't normally be a problem, except there not many places to eat for lunch within walking distance, so if you are on half board it may be a problem. Most restaurants 'locally' did not open til 1.30pm, if open at all for lunch. We are walkers so the distance was not a problem. However, although Thomas Cook advertise snacks available in bar (pool bar) this actually stops at 4:00pm. You can however purchase lunch in the dining room at a cost of €15. To this end, we thought we would ask what the cost would be to extend to all inclusive and we were advised we could have 10 days for the price of 7 which amounted to about another €750 Euros (not quite sure how €15 x 10 per person could amount to this much, but assume it included drinks!). There is a lovely local bar within walking distance on the main road to El Rompido, which looked liked it had just opened, you can get a very nice sandwich there and frappelatte which is yummy.

The Hotel food was nice, but a bit same-y, every meal. Whilst I agree with recycling food, it was a little strange how something from a previous meal then appeared on top of or as something else, but fair play – no wastage.

The hotel does provide a local bus which goes to El Rompido at 10am and 12noon. Basically you get on one and come back on the other. It would have been nice to have one in the afternoon so if you cannot walk far, you have some transport. Taxis are hugely expensive. Local buses also seem to drop you off for free if you are only doing a couple of stops, but that may not have been official.

We had a lovely view which came at a cost. We are early risers and non-drinkers so generally went to bed by 10. Entertainment started outside at 10.30pm and it was so loud it could have been in the room with you. Ear plugs barely quieted it. On our first day after being up 16 hours the music was still going at 12.30 am. If you do not like noise, this will be a problem for you.

There are plenty of sunbeds for everyone by the pool. The cups and things are not cleared away from the pool area and are often there until first thing the following morning. The pools are absolutely gorgeous, one of them has a waterfall.

We had one treatment in the Spa, my husband had a back massage and reflexology and I had a body scrub and moisturise/massage – both treatments were excellent.

It was difficult finding out what the activities advertised were actually about which meant missing out on something we may have enjoyed.

We travelled through Thomas Cook and didn't see a rep until we went looking for one a couple of days later, we are used to receiving a welcome pack telling you how the hotel works, what's available, tours/prices etc. There was a tour book in the reps area with no prices.

We did a Thomas Cook tour to Huelva and it was appalling. The tour guide, and I use the term loosely, explained nothing. On a extremely hot day we were dumped in a market for 1.20 hrs, it was basically a clothing and shoe car boot, not a market, there was no shelter and nowhere to get a drink except for a single caravan which was packed as it had the only bit of shelter. We all stood around waiting in the hot sun for the coach to come back. We were then dropped in Huelva for only 50 minutes. Huelva was lovely and had a proper market, so we told the tour guide that we would stay and get the local bus back (which only cost 2.75€) and he said he had to get permission from the coach driver...I don't think so! I understand that many people complained. If you want to go to Huelva, get the local bus, do not pay the tour price it’s a waste of money and a return bus trip was a fifth of the price and much more convenient.

We did book a tour to Seville, but we booked the ‘shopping’ tour directly through the hotel. The Thomas Cook tour took you round a lot of churches and things and cost twice the price. We did this twice as Seville is lovely, we did one side of the river the first time and the other side the second time. We did the boat trip, which you can book slightly cheaper than on the boat through one of the many tourist offices tucked away inside a number of shops. Tourist Information is excellent in Seville. There are many places to eat, drink and have ice cream.

We would not class this as a signature hotel (we had a signature honeymoon - hugely different).

The transfer to the hotel was good (flew into Faro). The transfer home was a nightmare, firstly no one could tell us about our transfer home, despite several calls as instructed, even the rep struggled to get details. The it took 2-2.5 hours to get back to the airport, that was only making 3 stops to pick up a total of 7 people, 2 in Spain and the rest in Portugal.

All in all, the hotel and its staff were nice, but I do not think I would come back, because of the lack of choice to eat and remoteness. Also having done the Thomson Sensimar holidays, I think they are much better organised and the location and food far better.

Room tip: If you don't like noise book room at front of hotel. Rooms at back have fab view but are extremely noisy from 22:30-midnight
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicolam1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at SENTIDO Garden Playanatural, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a detailed review of your stay at our hotel. Your feedback will serve very useful for those considering holidaying in this part of Spain and we also value your opinion on our services and facilities.

We are very glad to see your overall experience was a good one and we are glad our authentic Spanish setting was to your liking. Our unspoiled natural surroundings lend themselves entirely to a genuinely relaxing break and having great public transport connections makes it easy for our guests to explore a little further. It is wonderful to hear you practiced your Spanish while visiting Seville, Huelva and the nearby town, El Rompido.

Thank you also for mentioning how happy you were with the treatments you and your husband decided on having at our spa during your days with us - 'my husband had a back massage and reflexology and I had a body scrub and moisturise/massage – both treatments were excellent.'. Your positive feedback will be passed on to the team as they too will be delighted to hear you were more than satisfied with their professional approach and skill.

Given all the favourable comments on your stay, we are saddened to hear you found our location a little remote for your half-board holiday, and we only hope you will return to stay with us again at some stage in the future and maybe next time on an all-inclusive basis.

Yours truly,
All the team at SENTIDO Garden Playanatural Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This place is amazing from the staff to the food to the cleanliness of the hotel. if you want a relaxing kid free holiday to just sit back and relax it's perfect we will be back in the future. Just be warned if you smoke it's quite a walk to the shop if you run out but the hotel does put a bus on in the morning which is really handy

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 843jayb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at SENTIDO Garden Playanatural, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear guest,

We really appreciate you leaving us a few lines to let us know how much you enjoyed staying at our hotel. Thank you for choosing the SENTIDO Garden Playanatural for your days in El Rompido - it was a pleasure to host you.

It has been wonderful to read your first comment 'This place is amazing from the staff to the food to the cleanliness of the hotel'. Thank you for saying how well looked after and attended to you felt by our staff. They are a credit to our hotel and we will make sure your kind words are shared at our next meeting.

We do our utmost on a daily basis to ensure all our guests enjoy their stay to the fullest and your 5* rating on our services and facilites confirms we are working in the right direction. We are thrilled to have more than met your expectations on all aspects and glad to read you will definitely be back to visit us again in the future.

We hope to see you again soon,

Best regards from all the team at SENTIDO Garden Playanatural Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

This is just a snapshot of our experience...

We booked this hotel via Thomas Cook and arrived with another couple and were simultaneously checked in and there was a huge difference in the check in experience.
Although the receptionist checking us in was very pleasant the information we were given was very poor, in fact we were not even offered a welcome drink like the other couple were, the information we were given was poor and we started earwigging the other couples check in. So if we had to rate our check in experience it would be poor but the other couple’s check in was excellent, hence the title of this review.

Not only was the check in poor, our room was not ready so we went for lunch. Returning back to reception we were told our room was on the lower floor and to use the lift near reception....unfortunately that lift took us back to the restaurant, shop and cafe....so we asked another hotel member of staff who said we needed to be back on the same floor of reception, so we asked the receptionist again and she said down stairs on the right which took us back to the restaurant. So we decided to walk along the corridor at reception level and we asked one of the housekeepers who told us exactly how to get to the room...she was definitely our saviour!

The room was very large, clean and had a large balcony so we were very pleased. It was a shame they didn’t provide more shower gel etc when they ran out but we had taken some of our own just in case.

We found it quite strange that even though we were AI that we were not supplied with water each day. Yes you could get water in the restaurant and at the bar but if you went walking you had to fill up a bottle when you were in the restaurant from a water cooler. You could buy a bottle of water but I think it was in the region of €2.50.

This maybe sounds sad but we used to get soft drinks from the bar without ice and top up a couple of bottles we had. At least when visiting the beach we had drinks with us. The water bottle we filled up from the water machine at breakfast.

There are no supermarkets around the hotel so if you don’t want to pay hotel prices for a bottle of water it is a trip into town.

We asked a couple of times at reception how far town was and they told us 5 miles....going to the hotel our taxi driver told us 3km! We did walk into town and it took us about 40 minutes but I did have a knee injury so was definitely not very speedy. OH AND DON’T EXPECT TO FIND A TAXI RANK IN TOWN, if you don’t want to walk back, there isn’t one! Tourist information did give us a couple of telephone numbers but in the end decided to walk back.

We also went on the ferry to the beach....if we hadn’t asked for times at reception we would not have known we needed tickets and it was quite a walk through the woods, under the road and down a steepish hill to wait for the ferry. There was a nice beach bar down here that many frequented. SO MAKE SURE YOU PICK UP YOUR FREE FERRY TICKETS IF YOU ARE AI AT RECEPTION

The hotel in general was very clean. There was a great selection of food at meal times but the service of drinks was not always that good. One day they changed the whole process of ordering drinks so you had to wait for one lady with a PDA. One couple must have waited 15 minutes for theirs!! we sat outside in the terrace for all our meals. On your last day, if you have an early start, you can book an early breakfast in the restaurant.

WE MUST GIVE A BIG SHOUT OUT TO SAUL, who worked in the bar and also the restaurant. He was speedy, professional and friendly....brilliant!

It was obvious that if you were Spanish you were offered a much better service than the British clients, and this was mentioned to us by a couple of others too.

If you do have any niggles at the hotel please make them aware while you are there, we did share our check in experience with the hotel as we knew it was probably a training issue and they were grateful for that and we received a bottle of bubbly, posh water and fruit in our room.

Would we stay here again? YES, definitely

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank we_love_the_canaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at SENTIDO Garden Playanatural, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear guest,

We really appreciate the time you have taken in leaving such a detailed review of our hotel and services after your holiday with us. We value our guests' feedback greatly and it has been wonderful to read your comments and see that you would definitely stay at our hotel again.

It is great to read your impressions on our rooms "room was very large, clean and had a large balcony", and we only wish you had asked at reception for a top up on the toiletries, as we would have been more than happy to organise that for you.

We are also glad you found our chefs' choices in our Albufera restaurant at mealtimes more than adequate, "great selection of food at meal times", and we hope you also enjoyed their themed cuisine evenings too. Our A la Carte restaurants, Papaya and El Patio, are also well worth a visit and we hope you had the occasion to do so during your stay.

To sum up, we feel we must thank you once again for your understanding with the lack of information provided at the time of check -in. Our receptionists are always courteous and eager to help, and we assure you this matter has been raised so we can ensure each and every guest receives full information on all our services.

Thank you again for your visit and your lovely review. We hope to welcome you again very soon and until then send you warm greetings from Huelva.

All the team at SENTIDO Garden Playanatural

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews