We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,357)
Filter reviews
1,357 results
Traveler rating
511
438
230
118
60
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
511
438
230
118
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool bar relaxing holiday thomas cook evening entertainment plenty of sunbeds entertainment team shuttle bus bottle of cava lovely hotel lower pool enjoyable week different languages speaking spanish sea view grilled meat sun loungers free tickets
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,357 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2019 via mobile

This is just a snapshot of our experience...

We booked this hotel via Thomas Cook and arrived with another couple and were simultaneously checked in and there was a huge difference in the check in experience.
Although the receptionist checking us in was very pleasant the information we were given was very poor, in fact we were not even offered a welcome drink like the other couple were, the information we were given was poor and we started earwigging the other couples check in. So if we had to rate our check in experience it would be poor but the other couple’s check in was excellent, hence the title of this review.

Not only was the check in poor, our room was not ready so we went for lunch. Returning back to reception we were told our room was on the lower floor and to use the lift near reception....unfortunately that lift took us back to the restaurant, shop and cafe....so we asked another hotel member of staff who said we needed to be back on the same floor of reception, so we asked the receptionist again and she said down stairs on the right which took us back to the restaurant. So we decided to walk along the corridor at reception level and we asked one of the housekeepers who told us exactly how to get to the room...she was definitely our saviour!

The room was very large, clean and had a large balcony so we were very pleased. It was a shame they didn’t provide more shower gel etc when they ran out but we had taken some of our own just in case.

We found it quite strange that even though we were AI that we were not supplied with water each day. Yes you could get water in the restaurant and at the bar but if you went walking you had to fill up a bottle when you were in the restaurant from a water cooler. You could buy a bottle of water but I think it was in the region of €2.50.

This maybe sounds sad but we used to get soft drinks from the bar without ice and top up a couple of bottles we had. At least when visiting the beach we had drinks with us. The water bottle we filled up from the water machine at breakfast.

There are no supermarkets around the hotel so if you don’t want to pay hotel prices for a bottle of water it is a trip into town.

We asked a couple of times at reception how far town was and they told us 5 miles....going to the hotel our taxi driver told us 3km! We did walk into town and it took us about 40 minutes but I did have a knee injury so was definitely not very speedy. OH AND DON’T EXPECT TO FIND A TAXI RANK IN TOWN, if you don’t want to walk back, there isn’t one! Tourist information did give us a couple of telephone numbers but in the end decided to walk back.

We also went on the ferry to the beach....if we hadn’t asked for times at reception we would not have known we needed tickets and it was quite a walk through the woods, under the road and down a steepish hill to wait for the ferry. There was a nice beach bar down here that many frequented. SO MAKE SURE YOU PICK UP YOUR FREE FERRY TICKETS IF YOU ARE AI AT RECEPTION

The hotel in general was very clean. There was a great selection of food at meal times but the service of drinks was not always that good. One day they changed the whole process of ordering drinks so you had to wait for one lady with a PDA. One couple must have waited 15 minutes for theirs!! we sat outside in the terrace for all our meals. On your last day, if you have an early start, you can book an early breakfast in the restaurant.

WE MUST GIVE A BIG SHOUT OUT TO SAUL, who worked in the bar and also the restaurant. He was speedy, professional and friendly....brilliant!

It was obvious that if you were Spanish you were offered a much better service than the British clients, and this was mentioned to us by a couple of others too.

If you do have any niggles at the hotel please make them aware while you are there, we did share our check in experience with the hotel as we knew it was probably a training issue and they were grateful for that and we received a bottle of bubbly, posh water and fruit in our room.

Would we stay here again? YES, definitely

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank we_love_the_canaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at SENTIDO Garden Playanatural, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2019

Dear guest,

We really appreciate the time you have taken in leaving such a detailed review of our hotel and services after your holiday with us. We value our guests' feedback greatly and it has been wonderful to read your comments and see that you would definitely stay at our hotel again.

It is great to read your impressions on our rooms "room was very large, clean and had a large balcony", and we only wish you had asked at reception for a top up on the toiletries, as we would have been more than happy to organise that for you.

We are also glad you found our chefs' choices in our Albufera restaurant at mealtimes more than adequate, "great selection of food at meal times", and we hope you also enjoyed their themed cuisine evenings too. Our A la Carte restaurants, Papaya and El Patio, are also well worth a visit and we hope you had the occasion to do so during your stay.

To sum up, we feel we must thank you once again for your understanding with the lack of information provided at the time of check -in. Our receptionists are always courteous and eager to help, and we assure you this matter has been raised so we can ensure each and every guest receives full information on all our services.

Thank you again for your visit and your lovely review. We hope to welcome you again very soon and until then send you warm greetings from Huelva.

All the team at SENTIDO Garden Playanatural

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2019

The hotel is spotless, the staff are very welcoming. There is an excellent choice in the restaurant at all times, with excellent service from all the staff.
Entertainment was different most nights, and enjoyable.
The hotel is in a quiet area, which we enjoy.
There is a couple of beach bars nearby, which are very welcoming. Entertainment is on some nights, which we enjoyed.
This is our second visit to this hotel, and we are looking forward to visiting again in September for a weeks stay.

Room tip: We take what ever room given, as we only sleep in it. We like to be out and about through the day.
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kwilliams1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at SENTIDO Garden Playanatural, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2019

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a few lines on TripAdvisor regarding your most recent holiday with us. It was lovely to be able to welcome you back with us again and we are delighted to see this second visit has been as good as the first.

There can be no better reward for us than having guests return to stay with us as we know only a fully satisfied customer will revisit the same place twice and we are very proud to have become your home away from home in Huelva.

Your favourable feedback on all the different aspects, from our entertainment program and evenings of professional shows, to our excellent choice of delicious cuisine and efficient waiting service, has truly made our day and we are grateful to you for letting us know how much you enjoy these aspects when you stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again in September this year and until then, we send you warm greetings from Costa de la Luz.

Kind regards,
All the team at SENTIDO Garden Playanatural

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2019

Quiet hotel, 20 minute walk from the town, 10 minute walk to the ferry to the beach.

Rooms were large, well appointed. Staff very friendly.

Food was as you would expect, canteen buffet style. Quality was good, cooked in small batches so always hot and fresh. Excellent choice of fish or meat. Really good Asian might too.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank dunstone111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at SENTIDO Garden Playanatural, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2019

Dear guest,

How lovely to hear from you after your holiday with us. We appreciate all our guests' feedback and it is always great when we see the impression we have left you with, is a very positive one. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with others on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to read your comments on our spacious and comfortable accommodation "Rooms were large, well appointed" and thank you for saying our staff are courteous and eager to help where they can. Our teams in all departments work tirelessly to not only meet, but exceed our guests expectations.

Our buffet style restaurant, Albufera, boasts a wide array of international and local specialities and our chefs will be encouraged and proud to see you enjoyed their quality dishes and special themed cuisine evenings "Excellent choice of fish or meat. Really good Asian".

It was a pleasure to host you for your days in Huelva and we look forward to being able to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,
All the team at SENTIDO Garden Playanatural

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2019

Just got back from 4 nights stay. I enjoyed it but be aware, there isn't really anything to do as it's quite remote. Luckily, that's exactly what I wanted so no big deal.
Transfer from the airport was fine, 1hr 20 mins in a mini bus which was comfortable. When we arrived at the hotel we were seen quickly and offered a glass of fizz.
The hotel was very clean and the room was large with a bottle of water in the fridge. We kept filling it from the tap and had no problems with that.
The pool areas were spotless with plenty of free beds (although the water is freezing but some people like that )
The snack bar service was quite slow as only one person serving.
We watched the night entertainment on 3 of the nights. The first was a magician who was ok but I dont agree with using live animals in shows (doves and rabbits) so I didn't personally enjoy that. Also a chilled DJ set in the lower bar area which was lovely. There was a duo with a fantastic female entertainer who got loads of the crowd involved in dancing.
Food - as a vegan, the food wasn't great. I ate salad and chips with bread every day and was super grateful to see a plain tomato pasta. The hot food isn't very hot so I warmed the pasta and veg in the microwave. There are no vegan desserts apart from fruit. The fruit and salad often had little fruit flies on them.
Staff - no issues with the staff at all. I tried to speak Spanish when ordering as they don't often speak English (which is fair enough in my opinion)
Facilities - we played tennis 2 days which we really enjoyed, I'd recommend doing that to pass some time.
The beaches were very quiet and we got the free ferry (tickets at the hotel) which only took a couple of mins. We walked to the end of the other beach which took about 3 hours there and back.
We walked in to the centre which took about 45 mins and had a drink. Not much there but nice to go for a walk.

I would recommend the hotel if you want a quiet holiday. I suggest taking warm clothes as it gets very chilly and windy especially at night due to the location and being on a hill.
Giving 4 stars because of the poor food choices.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank jessevans2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at SENTIDO Garden Playanatural, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2019

Dear guest,

We really appreciate the time you have taken to review our hotel after your holiday with us. It is always lovely to hear back from our guests and we are delighted to see our unspoiled, natural setting was exactly what you were looking for.

Our adults only hotel has been described by many guests as the perfect refuge to completely switch off from the stress of daily life and where you can recharge your batteries, and we are very glad to see that you would also recommend it.

We appreciate you confirming how spotlessly clean our hotel and rooms are and we are glad to learn our tennis court came in handy. We also have petanca and mini-golf which we hope you had a go at too.

We regret not knowing your dietary requirements at the time of your stay, as our chefs would have more than happily escorted you around the buffet and offered alternatives. We offer select menus to cater to allergies or food intolerance, as well as dietary preferences, and we would always kindly ask our guests to make our kitchen team aware on arrival so they can assist. Our chefs would love the chance to make sure you are enjoying your dining experience to the fullest.

We really hope this will not be your last visit to us here in Huelva as we would love to host you again and ensure you have a 5* rated holiday with us.

Kind regards,
All the team at SENTIDO Garden Playanatural

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2019

I reviewed this hotel after our first day as staff had been so helpful. The remainder of the two weeks went like a dream. The area is fantastic. We walked for miles around the marshes in el Rompido and over at the lagoon in el Portil.
We can not fault the hotel, nor would we want to. We had a couple of days just being lazy by the pool too. No loud music, just background playing. Great to relax.
This is one of the best holidays, if not the best that we’ve ever had (and we’re in our 60s so we’ve had a fair few)

Room tip: 1326 is a great room. Very quiet.
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden H, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at SENTIDO Garden Playanatural, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2019

Dear Margaret,

Thank you for following up with part 2 of your holiday experience at our hotel. We appreciated your initial feedback highlighting how you had been well looked afer by our reception staff on your first day and it has been wonderful to see that the remaining two weeks have just got better "two weeks went like a dream". We are grateful to you for awarding our hotel 5* on TripAdvisor.

Our beautiful natural setting is stunning and, as you have said, boasts some amazing walking paths. In close proximity to La Flecha beach, the most beautiful unspoiled beach in Cartaya, our environment lends itself entirely to a truly relaxing holiday where you can disconnect, switch off and while away the days enjoying the warmth of the sun and the crystal clean waters of the sea.

There can be no better reward for us than to read remarks such as "We can not fault the hotel," and "one of the best holidays, if not the best that we’ve ever had" .

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Yours truly,
All the team at SENTIDO Garden Playanatural

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews