We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An iconic location, and although a little expensive, had to be done.”
Review of Cafe Gondree

Cafe Gondree
Ranked #5 of 5 Restaurants in Benouville
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: French, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
528 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“An iconic location, and although a little expensive, had to be done.”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We had a three generations of men visit to Normandy recently and visited Pegasus Bridge and had coffee at the iconic location, we were served quickly and politely. It wasn't the cheapest cup of coffee ever but given it was the first place in mainland Europe to be liberated and is still in the same family, it was just something that had to be done.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    58
    47
    31
    73
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Champagne experience”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Somehow got stuck with the VIPs listening to speeches. The only real vips being the soldiers on both sides who fought and died during the D Day landings. Madame Gondrée, one of the daughters of the couple who welcomed the allied troops that day, gave the most emotional speech in french and perfect english. She told the legendary story of how her father brought out the champagene from its hiding place in the garden to celebrate with the troops and how, in commemoration, the tradition had continued year on year on 6th June to welcome back veterans.
All I know is that the own labelled champagne is a wonderful "assemblage" worthy of the Café and Madame Gondrée is a stylish lady who is worth meeting and talking to if you get a chance

  • Visited June 2013
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
1 Thank Actreps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
323 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Quite a surprise”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Unlike most patrons who had intended visiting this cafe, we had lucked on it through a trip adviser query while driving along the motor way and wanting somewhere close for lunch. As we drove into Benouville we saw the memorials to Operation Overlord and realised we were close to the beaches of Normandy. Cafe Gondree turned out to be a shrine to the arrival of the British 6th Airborne Regiment and was full of retired British soldiers and their spouses with some directly involved in the liberation of this area in 1944. The food was simple and delicious, although the service was erratic, but friendly. We tried a couple of quiches with salad and bread. The beer was good too. Well worth the deviation and with lots of photos taken.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StephenR285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
111 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Historic, but expensive!”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Given that I spent €17 on a three course meal the night before in Bayuex, the €13 for a standard cheese omelette and salad was somewhat of a surprise, but given its D-Day connections we just had to eat here, but if I'm passing in the future I think I will move on. Lots of comments on service can't say it was that bad, but not a good as last night. Soup and sandwich ( a baguette and two slices of cheese) was €10, did not dare ask my father in law the cost of the drinks!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheAdmiralLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Annual Normandy Visit”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We visit Normandy every year to commemorate the D.Day Landings, both the the fallen and the veterens. We lay wreaths at many British Cemeteries. On our visit to Ranville War Cemetery, we always stop at the Cafe Gondree. Mdm Gondree always gives a warm welcome, and spends time with the veterens. No matter how busy the Cafe is (and that is pretty much all of the time it's open), the service is good and swift. The cafe is full of memorabilia, and has a wide range of souvenires on sale. It seems every time we visit, we meet some old friends or comrades of my father. Nearby is the Airbourne museum, which is well worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Gondree also viewed

Benouville, Calvados
Benouville, Calvados
 
Benouville, Calvados
 

Been to Cafe Gondree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing