We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lunch stop”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Restaurant La Glycine
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Benouville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We were visiting pegasus Bridge, & I had looked up this restaurant before our trip, but didnt book. For some reason i had expected a much more basic restaurant, but was very pleasantly surprised. It was very busy with locals, but we got a table for 2. We shared a dozen oysters to start, and i followed this with a really delicious lamb cutlet with sweet breads in a mushroom sauce. It was excellent.This was followed by a selection of cheeses, all for €28.00. There was a menu for €18, €28, €38, & €55, but we were very happy with ours for €28.
Service was friendly & the waiter very helpful. It is literally 2 minutes from Pegasus bridge, and I would highly reccommend it to visitors, but would also recommend making a reservation, as I think we were lucky to get in.

Room Tip: We didnt overnight, but recommend restaurant reservation.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Rocky17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (301)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Restaurant La Glycine
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 301 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2014

We booked this hotel online through booking.com to stay for one night in Feb 2014.
We had been ski ing in Switzerland for two weeks and wanted to visit Pegasus bridge as my Grand father fought there in the second world war.
The lady who served us breakfast was absolutely lovely and spoke fantastic english which put our French speaking ability to shame!!
The room we had was fabulous and immaculately clean, wonderful comfy bed, fab shower and wi fi.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone as it is superb value for money and the decor in the rooms and hotel is wonderful.

Fab, fab, fab : )

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KEVSMRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This was our second visit and it turned out to be just as enjoyable after we changed rooms. At first we were shown into a smallish room which would have been alright if it hadn't been for the smell of fresh paint. Rooms were being updated and the workman and his machines were next door. We were then moved into a superior room but we were only charged the price of the smaller one. The village and hotel are very quiet and a short distance from the Pegasus Bridge, a strategic bridge in the second World War.
Dinner was again superb and one of the reasons we returned. The other one is that it is very close to the ferry from Ouistreham ( or Caen ) to Portsmouth. We have now had two good experiences at this hotel (except for the paint) and I'm certain that we will stay here again when using the ferry to Caen.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerjealin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Quiet and nice hotel at a good location for visiting historical places (Pegasus Bridge, etc.). Rooms are a bit better than basic but efficient and value for money.
Excellent restaurant and a good breakfast buffet.Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frans K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is a very nice place to stay close to Ouistreham Ferry. The rooms are modern and slightly over the top decoration-wise for my taste, but the beds and the shower are terrific. The patron and his staff are very friendly and extremely helpful. We ate in the restaurant and although it was quite pricey, the food was overall very good. I had some reservations about whether the smoked duck worked with the delicately smoked salmon and halibut and the Camembert was a trifle over sauced...... like the rooms, an example that on occasions..less is more. However, the main course was lovely and a triumph for locally sourced ingredients.....beautiful fish and, delicately prepared vegetables with an unctuous langoustine sauce. As with other reviewers, the lack of air conditioning was a bit problematic as we were a few meters from the kitchen extraction fan which meant that we were subjected to savoury smells throughout! That said if we had secured a room at the front, this would probably not be a problem! I would definitely visit again....overall it offers so much more than comparably priced UK hotels.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room on the street side away from the kitchen
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaj0409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed here in August 2013 after coming off the Portsmorth Caen ferry at 9.30pm as a stop before heading off to Lyon the next day. It's great value - the rooms are a little crowded with two double beds for a family and a bit hot without air con but at such a good price it's not a problem. It's really clean and there's a terrace where you can sit and eat and drink. The breakfast was about 7.50 euros each but worth it. The owner was very friendly and one of the reasons I wanted to give a good review was how he reacted when we lost our room key. How stupid of us. We looked for about an hour for it and rather than being rude he was understanding and gave us his number and said to phone if we found it. We eventually did find it, stuffed in one of our trainers (??? not sure how it got there) and we posted it back to him. Would definitely stop here again overnight and we will I am sure next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

If you are looking for a hotel with easy access to the ferry port and one which is located in an attractive area then this could be an ideal location. However, if you have a family then I would recommend an alternative plan.
The room was modern and appeared clean and was a great location to visit Pegasus Bridge. However I feel that this hotel is incredibly over-priced for what is on over. We paid 95 Euro for a family room and it was a little disappointing after a 4 hour drive their are no facilities for tea or coffee in the room. Whilst I do not judge rooms on these facilities, I think for the price we paid, this is the least you would expect. There is a mini bar for soft drink cans but all priced at 3 euros each, I recommend that you provide your own refreshments.
We did consider the restaurant for the evening meal with our two young children but after looking at the menu prior to going to eat, I was suprised by the price - 13 Euros for 2 courses and 19 Euros for 3 for the children's menu. Whilst I appreciate that this price may be acceptable to some, it isn't ideal if your children are unlikely to eat the 2 dishes on offer - savoury mince and vegetables or a fish dish - not a wide and necessarily appropriate choice for a child's menu!
The noise can be quite loud from locals smoking outside the hotel and upon leaving - as a previous reviewer stated - the sound insulation is fairly poor. This is an issue when the hotel rooms do not include air con and therefore with the window open, this is a real issue.
Overall, this is an ideal place for couples or families with teenage children but would certainly not recommend for families with younger children at all.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 112Anon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benouville
2.8 mi away
Ibis Styles Ouistreham
Ibis Styles Ouistreham
#1 of 8 in Ouistreham
770 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western La Mare O Poissons
3.1 mi away
Riva Bella Hotel
Riva Bella Hotel
#2 of 8 in Ouistreham
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hotel les bains de Cabourg
3.0 mi away
La Villa Andry
La Villa Andry
#4 of 8 in Ouistreham
306 reviews
8.1 mi away
ibis budget Cabourg Dives sur mer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant La Glycine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant La Glycine

Address: 11 Place du Commando 4, 14970 Benouville, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Benouville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Benouville
Price Range: $98 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Restaurant La Glycine 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Restaurant La Glycine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing