We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb for a romantic getaway!”
Review of Alahuar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alahuar Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Benimaurell
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Me and my wife stayed for two nights in a suite (villas) and i have to say that it was a perfect surrounding to spend the first two nights of our honeymoon especially the jaccuzi ;)
The restaurant was nce and the food was good,best way to finnish off your meal was to have a drink on the patio looking out over the dark valley.

Room Tip: Room 108 has a nice balcony(no one can see you when you are up there ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimJungsund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 285 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013

We spent 6 nights here and really had a nice time.
Staff were very friendly & efficient, the room was very nice (apart from not knowing there was a fridge upstairs in the room, and the window around the jacuzzi not having blinds and therefore letting in quite a lot of light)
The spread for breakfast was quite impressive, and very good, and we mostly enjoyed the food in the restaurant where we ate most nights. Good quality price for food & wine. The portions were very generous, à la carte or the WE menu were very good, and the weekly menu at 12€ was slightly less so, but what to expect for this price
We enjoyed the pool and the surroundings and the general peace & quiet
And it is a fantastic place for trekking, with well marked walking paths
I've given "average" for Value as the junior suites are quite expensive, but it was high season when we went, so again to be expected.

Room Tip: For the junior suites 112 seems the best, as it is on the end of the row For the others in the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AILSA L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed only one night in the hotel and although we know the area well, were still bowled over by the views - quite incredible. Of course that does mean that the drive up there is challenging - both the steepness and the navigation through the villages on the way.
The staff were great, so friendly and helpful, and we found the food to be both good and reasonably priced.

The junior suite we booked was nice but in need of some renovation - just touching up and a things like regrouting in the bathroom - but it was certainly enough to make the room feel very tired. The pool was empty for repairs, which contributed to the lacklustre feeling.

For the price we paid, and given the location, I felt this was a reasonable deal.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeteMUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesPoseidon, Manager at Alahuar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear PeteMUk,

Many thanks for you positive appraisal of our Hotel.

We are very sorry you found the pool closed, but it was under refurbishment for the summer season.

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed here for 3 days. . If commuting for sight seeing car is a must and driving skills would be challenging. Excellent location charming hotel lovely room with many ?Buts... Staffs were wonderful. Breakfast was not the best but ok. But the food in the restaurant was mediocre and not worth the money. Presentation was great but not cooked well. Fish items were rubbery and paella was not cooked and stuck to the bottom. The most incredible things was the walls between the rooms were so thin you could hear the snoring noise and even brushing noise in the bathroom from the other room. No privacy at all. Mind the beds are twin basic beds (hard) joined together. This hotel is designed for someone who likes to put up the feet and relax and enjoy the ambience. but this is completely defeated due to the bad food and noise from other room. Mind there is not much place to eat in this area. My opinion is this hotel is not worth the pain unless the food quality is improvised and the rooms are sound proofed. Not sure about the junior suite.

Room Tip: Junior suite may be better than standard room. Not sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kalpu40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We booked this hotel based on the splendid reviews here on Tripadvisor but had a nightmare experience!

We had booked a junior suite with a jacuzzi but was told by a rather unfriendly receptionist that the jacuzzi was not included in our room rate although this was clearly stated on the hotel website. As we pointed this out to the gentleman he responded by saying that none were available, even though the hotel was basically empty.

The same receptionist was completely unapologetic when he pointed out that the outdoor pool had no water in it and the internet wasn't working!

The room was sub-standard, smelled mouldy, and to top it off the heating wasn't working either. It gets very cold at night at these altitudes and we had to sleep with all our clothes on!!

The restaurant was perhaps the worst dining experience I've ever tried in my life and admittedly I've eaten in some pretty bad restaurants over the years. It started with lunch as we ordered the pork sirloin on the menu. Out came the nastiest, greasiest pork chop I've ever encountered, the cheapest possible cut of meat but advertised as the best! Talk about false advertising!!!

We were on the half board option and come dinner time we were presented with a soup, which was basically water without any seasoning and a so-called "entrecôte", which we couldn't even cut into because it was so tough! On top of that we had to pay extra to even order that item on the menu! Dessert was equally inedible. The people on the table next to us were presented with an apple and unpeeled banana for their "seasonal" fruit dessert. We went to bed hungry only having had some stale bread.

We're on Tripadvisor regularly and often laugh at other people's over-zealous and overly negative reviews but this experience prompted us to leave our very first review on here.

This hotel is absolutely appalling with regards to the quality of the food and customer care and we were so disappointed that we checked out early the very next morning. We were duly presented with a bill that was 30 euros higher than what we booked. My partner is a native Spanish speaker but even she was unable to reason with the unfriendly receptionist!

All in all this hotel reeks of false advertising and the prices are ridiculous. It is a 2 star hotel, tops, but charges rates of a 5-star. We came straight from the 5-star Westin in Valencia to this sewer and were charged significantly more!!!! Do yourself a favour and listen to this review, there are many other casitas around in this beautiful countryside at 1/3 of the price and infinitely better quality.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jakob0504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesPoseidon, Javier Ballester, Director Hotel Alahuar at Alahuar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

According to our data, you booked through the website a Junior Suite WITHOUT Jacuzzi. Our receptionist informed you that the Junior Suites with Jacuzzi have another price, and that there was no one available for that night. We understand that the tranquility of the place led you to think that the hotel was empty, but the truth is that was complete.

We take dates with lower temperatures to make repairs in the pool as no one use it, especially when, as you say, you need to use the heating at night. In relation to this point, we re-check that the heater works perfectly, it only requires opening the radiator.

We sincerely apologize for your opinion about our food as it usually is highly appreciated by our customers.

The amount of 30 Euros billed corresponds to food supplements not included in the half board and drinks consumed during lunch and dinner. Nothing more.

Sincerely
Javier Ballester
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed for one night in mid April. The setting is truly spectacular with wonderful views all around. We had an end room in the main building which had two windows in the bedroom and one in the bathroom. It was spacious and exceptionally clean. A complimentary half bottle of local dessert wine was on top of the mini bar. We stayed half board and the served 3 course evening meal was fine, had plenty choice and of 'menu del dia' standard. Breakfast was a lavish buffet and very good considering that only about 10 people were staying overnight. The pool area looked good but it was a little to cold for a dip. The free wi fi in the lounge is an added bonus. If you are looking for a peaceful, rural retreat then this is an excellent place to stay. We shall certainly stay again and would recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D&DWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

It was perfect holiday home. Located in the hills of Benimaurell , lot of wind and fresh air around perfect place to relax with perfect hotel environment. Breakfast served had lot of varieties.

Only thing is the hotel is at little far from any city but advantage you are in between alicante and Valencia so u can easily see two places from hers , but will be a travel. Only possible to reach this place with car. We came midnight we really found little difficult to locate place so better reach this place before it gets dark. What I enjoyed was to get to this place with curvy roads o was an experience as I did never before. Me and my wife both enjoyed this hotel would love to go If we are near to this place.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Balavijetha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benimaurell
7.8 mi away
VIVOOD Landscape Hotels
VIVOOD Landscape Hotels
#1 of 1 in Benimantell
625 reviews
4.0 mi away
Casa Julia Hotel Restaurant
12.1 mi away
Hotel SH Villa Gadea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Gran Hotel Sol y Mar
23.9 mi away
Pueblo Acantilado Suites
9.4 mi away
Oliva Nova Beach & Golf Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alahuar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alahuar Hotel

Address: Partida Del Tossal S/N, 03791 Benimaurell, Spain
Location: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Benimaurell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Benimaurell
Price Range: $61 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alahuar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alahuar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alahuar Hotel Benimaurell, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing